If you get a DUI in Alabama, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's only a question of how large the penalty will be. Luckily, Alabama auto insurance premiums aren’t swayed greatly by serious driving violations, compared to other American states.
How does a DUI change auto insurance premiums in Alabama?
In Alabama, a DUI can increase your annual car insurance cost by an average of $847. That’s 21% less than the United States average rate increase after a DUI.
CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN ALABAMA — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
|Area||Avg. rate - no DUI||Avg. rate - with DUI||Avg. increase after DUI|
How to find car insurance in Alabama after a DUI violation
Finding affordable auto coverage after a DUI offense is anything but easy. In fact, a DUI often brings about a bigger rate hike than does any other driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.
Best car insurance after a DUI in Alabama
If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Alabama, it’s crucial to assess the insurance possibilities carefully. Car insurance rates in the wake of a DUI can vary widely depending on the company. For instance, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Alabama, USAA, advertises yearly premiums 22% better than the state average insurance rate after a DUI. The next-cheapest choice for auto insurance after a DUI in Alabama is Allstate, while the most expensive company is State Farm, with prices 59% above average.
CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER A DUI IN ALABAMA
|Insurance company||Avg. rate after DUI|
There’s no auto insurer in particular that sells low-cost DUI car insurance. The easiest strategy to save money in the wake of a DUI violation is to compare policies.
Get quotes online or contact an insurance professional to weigh your choices and find a relatively cheap policy.
Read more about car insurance options with a DUI.
Find affordable car insurance after a DUI
Alabama DUI laws
In Alabama, you're considered to be driving under the influence, or driving while impaired, if:
- You have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more
- Or you are under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or other substances that render you incapable of safely operating a vehicle
Commercial drivers are held to an even stricter BAC. If you're driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher, you're considered to be DUI.
While 21 is the legal drinking age, 20% of youths aged 12 to 20 engage in underage drinking. If they get behind the wheel of a car, they're considered to be DUI with a BAC of just 0.02% or more.
Alabama is also a state that considers a motorist DUI even if they're not presently driving. If you are currently in actual physical control of the vehicle , you may be considered to be DUI in Alabama.
DUI penalties in Alabama
If you're caught under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving in Alabama, you're subject to a slew of penalties. Though repeat offenders are subject to the harshest penalties, even first-time offenders will find DUIs costly, both in the cost of fines and time spent in jail.
First-time DUI offenders in Alabama:
- May be imprisoned for up to one year in municipal or county jail (no minimum sentence)
- Must pay a fine between $500 and $2,000, plus $100 to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
- Are given a mandatory 90-day license suspension
- Must attend DUI school
In Alabama, second-time DUI offenses lead to:
- 48 consecutive hours of imprisonment, up to a maximum of one year, or no less than 20 days of community service
- A fine of $1,000 to $5,000, plus $100 to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
- A one-year driver's license revocation
A third DUI conviction in Alabama within five years results in:
- A mandatory 60-day imprisonment, which cannot be probated or suspended, and up to one year total in jail
- A $2,000 to $10,000 fine, plus $100 to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
- A three-year revocation of your driver's license
Four or more DUI convictions in Alabama within five years is considered a class-C felony. Penalties for such convictions are:
- One to 10 years imprisonment
- A $4,000 to $10,000 fine
- And a five-year revocation of your driver's license
All offenders may be subject to longer license suspensions than defined based on:
- Their BAC at the time of arrest
- The type of license they hold
- If the DUI lead to an accident
Double penalties for 0.15 BAC in Alabama
Drivers with a BAC of at least 0.15 receive at least double the minimum penalty for DUI.
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Alabama
Drivers under 21 years of age who are found to have a BAC over 0.02% receive a 30-day license suspension for first-time DUI offenses and must attend substance abuse treatment. They’re also responsible for paying the same fines as those over 21 years old.
Subsequent DUI offenses by a drinker under 21 years old may have their license revoked for a longer period of time.
Sources and references: