If you are found guilty of DUI in the state of Alaska, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's only a question of by how much. Fortunately, Alaska auto insurance premiums aren't influenced much by a history of serious driving violations, compared to other US states.
How does a DUI influence auto insurance rates in Alaska?
In Alaska, a DUI will lift your annual car insurance cost by an average of $610. That’s 67% less than the U.S. average rate increase after a DUI.
AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN ALASKA — AVERAGE YEARLY COST
|Area||Avg. rate - no DUI||Avg. rate - with DUI||Avg. increase after DUI|
Purchasing car insurance in Alaska with a DUI
Finding cheap car coverage with a DUI conviction is not easy. In fact, a DUI typically leads to a greater premium increase than any other driving transgression — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.
Best car insurance after a DUI in Alaska
If you've been found guilty of a DWI or DUI violation in Alaska, it is essential to weigh your insurance possibilities thoughtfully. Auto insurance prices with a DUI can fluctuate widely by insurer. For example, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Alaska, USAA, offers annual rates 17% below the statewide average insurance premium after a DUI. The second-most affordable company for auto insurance with a DUI in Alaska is State Farm, while the most expensive insurer is GEICO, with rates 23% pricer than average.
CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN ALASKA — BY PROVIDER
|Insurance company||Avg. rate after DUI|
There’s no auto insurer specifically that offers low-cost DUI car insurance. The best way to save money post-DUI violation is to shop around.
Find quotes online or contact an insurance professional to weigh your choices and discover a suitable policy.
Read more about auto insurance with a DUI violation.
Looking for affordable DUI car insurance? Compare rates today!
Alaska DUI laws
In Alaska, you're considered to be driving under the influence if you're 21 or older and driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher.
Commercial drivers with a BAC of 0.04% are considered to be DUI.
Alaska is considered a zero-tolerance state when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Drivers under 21 years old who are found to have any readable BAC level are considered DUI.
DUI penalties in Alaska
Driving under the influence in Alaska is considered a criminal offense. Penalties are handed out not just from the court (including jail), but from the DMV as well (such as license suspensions and revocations).
An expansive history of DUI will lead to harsher penalties and fines. Alaska maintains a 10-year “lookback period” in which DUIs stay on your record. Receiving multiple DUIs during this timeframe increases the amount and severity of penalties you're subject to.
For the first DUI offense in Alaska, you will:
- Be jailed for a minimum of 72 hours
- Be fined $1,500
- Have your license suspended for a minimum of 90 days
- Require an ignition interlock device (IID) to operate a vehicle (six-month minimum)
A second DUI offense during the lookback period leads to:
- A minimum of 20 days in jail
- $3,000 in fines
- A one-year license suspension
- A requirement to use an IID
Committing a third DUI offense in Alaska results in:
- 60 to 120 days in jail
- Fines of $4,000 to $10,000
- A suspended license for a minimum of three years
- A requirement for an IID to be installed
If you are caught DUI for the fourth time in 10 years, you will:
- Be jailed for 90 to 120 days
- Be fined between $5,000 and $10,000
- Have your license suspended for a minimum of five years
- Require an IID
Fifth-time DUIs in Alaska result in:
- 240 to 360 days in jail
- Fines of $6,000 to $10,000
- A license suspension for a minimum of five years
- A requirement to have an IID installed
Additional penalties for DUI in Alaska
Considering the severity and danger posed by driving under the influence, DUI offenders in Alaska may find themselves receiving additional penalties. These include:
- The requirement to take a medication designed to prevent consumption of alcohol while imprisoned or on probation
- Court-ordered screening, drug and alcohol evaluations, referral, and fulfilling the requirements of an alcohol safety action program in order to be paroled or put on probation
Receiving a DUI conviction in Alaska is a class A misdemeanor. However, in some cases, it may be considered a class C felony. Your third DUI conviction in Alaska is a class C felony.
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Alaska
Because Alaska is a zero-tolerance state for underage drinking, penalties for a DUI while underage are intended to discourage taking the risk.
Underage drivers convicted of a first-time DUI:
- Have their license suspended for 30 days
- Are fined $500
- Are sentenced to 20 to 40 hours of community service
Second-time underage DUI offenders:
- Receive a 60-day license suspension
- Are fined $1,000
- Must perform 40 to 60 hours of community service
Underage drivers found guilty of DUI in Alaska more than two times:
- Have their license suspended for 90 days
- Must pay a fine of $1,500
- Must perform 60 to 80 hours of community service
Successive DUI offenses result in one-year license suspensions.
It's also important to note that, due to the zero-tolerance law, driving under the influence while underage in Alaska always results in a license suspension, even if criminal charges are not filed.
Sources and references: