Arkansas Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Arkansas, your car insurance is going to grow pricier — it is just a matter of how much you'll end up paying. Fortunately, Arkansas auto insurance costs are comparatively unchanged by a DUI history, compared to other US states.


How does a DUI affect car insurance in Arkansas?

In Arkansas, a DUI conviction will raise your annual auto insurance cost by an average of $623. That’s 64% less than the national average rate jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN ARKANSAS — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Arkansas$1,457.58$2,080.6142%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

How to find car insurance in Arkansas with a DUI

Finding reasonable auto insurance soon after a DUI conviction isn’t an easy task. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a more substantial cost increase than any other road transgression — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


Best car insurance after a DUI in Arkansas

If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Arkansas, it’s key to weigh your insurance choices with care. Car insurance premiums following a DUI may fluctuate widely depending on the company. For example, the cheapest car insurer after a DUI in Arkansas, USAA, offers yearly rates 44% less than the state mean insurance rate with a DUI violation. The second-cheapest choice for car insurance after a DUI in Arkansas is Southern Farm Bureau, while the most expensive firm is Progressive, with premiums 19% above the mean.


AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS WITH DUI IN ARKANSAS — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
USAA$1,175.14
Southern Farm Bureau$1,362.30
AAA$1,469.97
Farmers$1,679.11
State Farm$1,980.25
GEICO$1,996.02
Shelter$2,175.22
Allstate$2,303.77
Progressive$2,474.99

There’s no auto insurance company in particular that provides inexpensive DUI car insurance. The most effective way to limit your losses after a DUI violation is to shop policies.

Get quotes online or contact an insurance agent to weigh your choices and discover a cost-effective policy.

Read more about car insurance options after a DUI.


Compare rates from top insurance companies today!


Arkansas DUI laws

Arkansas considers drivers to be driving under the influence if their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are considered DUI in Arkansas if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Those under 21 years old are considered DUI in Arkansas if their BAC is at or above 0.02%.


DUI penalties in Arkansas

Arkansas's lookback period is five years. Repeated DUIs within these five years are cumulative, so multiple offenses will lead to harsher penalties and fines.

First-time offenders over the age of 21 found to be DUI in Arkansas:

  • Must pay fines ranging from $150 to $1,000
  • Will be jailed for 24 hours to one year
  • Will have their license suspended for six months
  • May be required to install an IID for a period equal to the total length their license has been suspended
  • May be required to undergo a drug/alcohol treatment and education program

Those found guilty of a second-time DUI offense in Arkansas:

  • Must pay a fine costing between $400 and $3,000
  • Will be jailed for seven days to one year
  • Will have their license suspended for two years
  • May be required to install an IID for a period equal to the total length their license has been suspended
  • May be required to undergo a drug/alcohol treatment and education program

Those who commit a third DUI offense in Arkansas:

  • Must pay a fine of $900 to $5,000
  • Will be jailed for 90 days to one year
  • Will have a suspended license for 30 months
  • May be required to install an IID for a period equal to the total length their license has been suspended
  • May be required to undergo a drug/alcohol treatment and education program

The first, second, and third DUI offenses are treated as misdemeanors in Arkansas. Being found guilty of a fourth DUI within five years is considered a felony and results in:

  • A $900 to $5,000 fine
  • One to six years in jail
  • A driver's license suspension of four years
  • May be required to install an IID for a period equal to the total length their license has been suspended
  • May be required to undergo a drug/alcohol treatment and education program

A fifth DUI offense in Arkansas is a felony, leading to:

  • A $900 to $5,000 fine
  • Imprisonment for two to 10 years
  • A driver's license revocation for one year
  • May be required to install an IID for a period equal to the total length their license has been suspended
  • May be required to undergo a drug/alcohol treatment and education program

If a DUI leads to an accident or death, additional or stricter penalties may be imposed.

The length of time that an interlock ignition device must be installed and maintained for varies upon the specifics of a DUI and the actual BAC of an impaired driver.

Judges may also order community service in lieu of jail time, but must offer logical reasoning for doing so. There are also minimum jail sentences imposed on DUI drivers if minors under 16 years old are in the car while it's being driven by an impaired driver.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Arkansas

Drivers under the age of 21 and found to have a BAC of 0.02% or higher will be penalized in the following ways for a first-time DUI offense in Arkansas:

  • A fine between $100 and $500
  • Possibility of being ordered to perform community service
  • A 90-day license suspension
  • Must complete an alcohol and driving education program

Underage drivers guilty of a second DUI offense:

  • Must pay a fine between $200 and $1,000
  • Must perform community service for at least 30 days
  • Have their license suspended for one year
  • Must complete an alcohol and driving education program

Underage drivers who commit a three or more DUI offenses in Arkansas:

  • Must pay a fine between $500 and $2,000
  • Must perform at least 60 days of community service
  • Have their license suspended for three years or until they turn 21, whichever is longer
  • Must complete an alcohol and driving education program

Sources and references:

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/arkansas.php

http://www.dui-usa.drinkdriving.org/Arkansas_dui_drunkdriving_laws.php

https://www.dmv.org/ar-arkansas/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.dmv.com/ar/arkansas/dui-dwi

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/arkansas.html

https://statelaws.findlaw.com/arkansas-law/what-are-the-arkansas-dwi-laws.html

Don't forget to share!