Auto Insurance for High-Risk Drivers in Arkansas

The Zebra
Dec. 4, 2018

If you have caused a crash, filed an insurance claim, or received a ticket for a major violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk car insurance. Auto insurance for risky drivers is usually expensive, but the level of rate increase you receive depends on your insurer, your driving history, and the location in which you reside.


What goes into car insurance rates for bad drivers in Arkansas:

  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. View Arkansas driving laws

Find affordable car insurance today!


Auto insurance after an at-fault accident in Arkansas


If you're found at-fault for an auto collision, you can expect your car insurance costs to skyrocket. In Arkansas, the average insurance rate after an at-fault accident is $2,099, compared to the national average of $2,012. A serious incident such as an at-fault collision can stay on your insurance record for as long as three years!


ARKANSAS AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER AN AT-FAULT COLLISION
LocationWith At-Fault Accident — Annual RateNo At-Fault Accident — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
Arkansas$2,099$1,458$641
National Average$2,012$1,397$615

The best auto insurance company after an at-fault crash in Arkansas is USAA. USAA’s typical rate increase after a crash is $1,044, resulting in a total price 50 percent less expensive than the average among all companies. If you've been at-fault in an accident in Arkansas, avoid Allstate and Farmers, which sit at the pricier end of the spectrum.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER AN AT-FAULT COLLISION IN ARKANSAS — AFFORDABLE COMPANIES
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With an At-Fault Collision
USAA$1,055
Southern Farm Bureau$1,452
State Farm$1,527
Allstate$2,346
Farmers$3,351


By how much does a speeding ticket raise car insurance rates in Arkansas?


One of the violations that most commonly earns drivers the "high-risk" tag is speeding. In Arkansas, average car insurance rates rise by $353 per year after a speeding citation, to an average per-year rate of $1,811.


ARKANSAS CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A SPEEDING TICKET
StateWith a Speeding Ticket — Annual RateNo Speeding Ticket — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Arkansas$1,811$1,458$353
National Average$1,727$1,397$330

The foolproof way to get cheap auto insurance after getting a ticket for speeding is to shop around and weigh your options. The most affordable auto insurance after a speeding citation in Arkansas is available through USAA. USAA’s average premium after a violation is $890 less than the state average. If you have been caught speeding in Arkansas, Shelter might not be the most affordable option.


AUTO INSURANCE PRICES AFTER A SPEEDING TICKET IN ARKANSAS — CHEAP COMPANIES
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With a Speeding Citation
USAA$921
GEICO$1,030
Southern Farm Bureau$1,297
State Farm$1,398
Shelter$1,692


How does a ticket for distracted driving impact car insurance rates in Arkansas?


If you're ticketed for distracted driving, expect your car insurance to get more expensive. In Arkansas, car insurance rates typically increase by $249 annually. That's a 17% increase from the average annual premium in Arkansas, and 44% more than the nationwide mean cost of auto insurance after a ticket for distracted driving.


ARKANSAS AUTO INSURANCE PRICES AFTER A DISTRACTED DRIVING TICKET
LocationWith Distracted Driving — Annual RateNo Distracted Driving — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Arkansas$1,707$1,458$249
National Average$1,570$1,397$173

The best way to find cheap car insurance after a distracted driving ticket is to compare different carriers. The cheapest auto insurance company following a citation for distracted driving in Arkansas is USAA, with an average rate of only $921 per year, 46% less than the average distracted driving insurance rate among top insurers.


AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER DISTRACTED DRIVING IN ARKANSAS — CHEAP CARRIERS
CompanyAnnual Rate After Distracted Driving
USAA$921
GEICO$979
State Farm$1,130
Southern Farm Bureau$1,248
Shelter Insurance$1,414


How does a ticket for racing impact Arkansas car insurance prices?


Racing is considered a very serious offense. Car insurance carriers commonly penalize racing tickets with major rate hikes — in fact, Arkansas car insurance rates increase by an average of $789 annually following a ticket for racing. That's a 54% increase on the typical yearly auto insurance premium in Arkansas!


LocationWith a Racing Citation — Annual RateNo Racing Citation — Annual RatePer-Year Rate Increase
Arkansas$2,247$1,458$789
National Average$2,397$1,397$1,000

If you've been pulled over for a racing violation, do your homework and seek out the cheapest rates. In Arkansas, start with Progressive, offering rates 6 percent cheaper than the state average after a citation for racing.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A TICKET FOR RACING IN ARKANSAS — CHEAP COMPANIES
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate After Racing
Progressive$2,103
State Farm$2,103
American Family$2,319
Farmers$2,361
USAA$2,488


Reckless driving and car insurance rates in Arkansas


Among the most serious moving infractions, reckless driving is a surefire way to end up paying more for auto insurance. Auto insurance companies raise prices by an average of $555 per year after a reckless driving citation. That comes out to 38% higher than the typical car insurance rate in Arkansas, and 47% less than the U.S. average price increase for reckless driving.


ARKANSAS CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER RECKLESS DRIVING
LocationWith Reckless Driving — Annual RateNo Reckless Driving — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Arkansas$2,012$1,458$555
National Average$2,395$1,397$998

If you're ticketed for reckless driving, shop around to find the cheapest rate. In Arkansas, the best carrier with a reckless driving ticket is USAA.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS AFTER RECKLESS DRIVING IN ARKANSAS — CHEAP PROVIDERS
CompanyAnnual Rate After Reckless Driving
USAA$1,305
Southern Farm Bureau$1,439
State Farm$1,737
Shelter$1,941
GEICO$2,096

If you are seeking auto insurance as a high-risk driver, your best option is to do plenty of research and compare policies from trusted insurers.


Compare rates and find car insurance now!


Arkansas Driving Laws

Traffic laws in Arkansas are intended to prevent dangerous driving situations and hazards. While the penalties for ignoring or violating traffic laws in Arkansas are steep, staying aware of the rules of the road can save you from costly fines and jail time—and even prevent your death or that of another.

Speeding in Arkansas

When Are You Speeding In Arkansas?

Drivers are speeding in Arkansas when speeds are greater than what is considered “reasonable and prudent” for any existing conditions or hazards (such as inclement weather).

Speed limits in Arkansas are:

  • Up to 75 miles per hour on a controlled-access highway
  • 30 miles per hour in urban districts
  • 50 miles per hour for trucks with a 1.5 ton capacity or higher in other locations
  • 65 miles per hour for other vehicles in other locations
  • 40 miles per hour on county roads
  • 55 miles per hour while towing a manufactured or mobile home
  • 25 miles per hour in school zones

Vehicles must also slow their speed when approaching intersections, railway grade crossings, curves, the crest of hills, and on narrow or winding roadways.

Local authorities may alter or change the speed limits within their jurisdictions, so it’s important for drivers in Arkansas to pay attention to and follow posted limits.

Penalties for Speeding In Arkansas

Speeding in Arkansas is a misdemeanor. Penalties for a first-time offense are:

  • Up to 10 days in jail
  • Up to $100 in fines

A second offense for speeding in Arkansas within a year of a prior conviction leads to:

  • Up to 20 days in jail
  • Up to $200 in fines

A third offense within a year of a prior conviction results in:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines

You are guilty of excessive speeding in Arkansas if your speed exceeds the posted limit by 15 miles an hour or more. Excessive speeding is a class C misdemeanor, leading to penalties of up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines.

Speeding in excess of 20 miles per hour of a posted speed limit while transporting a minor results in an additional $5 fine paid to the Arkansas Children’s Advocacy Center Fund.

Drivers will receive at least three points against their driver’s license for speeding in Arkansas, eventually leading to license suspension.

 

Reckless Driving in Arkansas

What Is Reckless Driving in Arkansas?

Driving with a “wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property” is considered reckless driving in Arkansas. In other words, willfully driving in an unsafe and dangerous way means you are driving recklessly and will be subject to strict fines and penalties.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Arkansas

Reckless driving in Arkansas is a class B misdemeanor.

A driver’s first offense may lead to:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines

If a driver’s first reckless driving offense leads to injury, penalties may include:

  • 30 to 90 days in jail
  • $100 to $1, 000 in fines

Repeated reckless driving offenses in Arkansas within three years lead to:

  • 30 days to six months in jail
  • $500 to $1, 000 in fines

A third conviction for reckless driving in Arkansas within a one-year period may have their license revoked for a year.

If a second or repeated reckless driving offense results in injury to another party, the offender will face:

  • 60 days to one year in jail
  • $500 to $1, 000 in fines

In all cases, being found guilty of reckless driving in Arkansas results in the accumulation of eight points against a driver’s license and eventual license suspension.

It is also possible for a speeding offense to be treated as reckless driving, leading to stricter penalties for the violator.

 

Distracted Driving in Arkansas

What is Distracted Driving in Arkansas?

Arkansas expects drivers to keep their attention and focus on the road. To that end, drivers are guilty of distracted driving in Arkansas if they are using a wireless device to write, send, or read text-based communications or to access, read, or post to social media.

Drivers under 18 years old are prohibited from using a cell phone in any mode, including hands-free, for any reason except an emergency.

Arkansas drivers between 18 and 21 years old may use the hands-free mode of a cell phone, but are prohibited from using any handheld functions except in the case of an emergency.

Drivers 21 years old or older talk on a handheld or hands-free device except when driving through a school zone or highway work zone. In these locations, they may only use hands-free functionality.

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Arkansas

The penalty for a driver’s first distracted driving offense in Arkansas is a fine of up to $250. A second or subsequent offense results in a fine of up to $500.

Fines are doubled for a distracted driving violation that leads to a collision or that takes place in a highway work zone.

Distracted driving in Arkansas does not result in the accumulation of any points against a driver’s license, but can lead to a charge of reckless driving or worse.

 

Racing in Arkansas

What is Racing in Arkansas?

Racing in Arkansas is when one or more vehicles travel at “excessive or dangerous speeds” to:

  • Outgain or outdistance one another
  • Arrive at a destination ahead of other vehicles
  • Test the physical stamina or endurance of drivers over a long-distance course

Drag racing in Arkansas is defined as two or more vehicles accelerating from a side-by-side starting point in a competitive attempt to outdistance one another.

Drag racing is also defined as any instance in which one or more vehicles traverse over a common course, from point-to-point, for the purpose of comparing relative speeds or acceleration within a given distance or time limit.

Penalties for Racing in Arkansas

The penalty for racing on a public roadway is a class A misdemeanor. Violators are penalized for racing in Arkansas the same way they are for speeding.

Penalties for a first-time offense are:

  • Up to 10 days in jail
  • Up to $100 in fines

A second offense for speeding in Arkansas within a year of a prior conviction leads to:

  • Up to 20 days in jail
  • Up to $200 in fines

A third offense within a year of a prior conviction results in:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines

In addition, simply observing or organizing a drag race is a class B misdemeanor and will result in fines and penalties.

 

At-fault Accidents in Arkansas

What is An At-fault Accident in Arkansas?

Arkansas is a fault-based state when it comes to car accidents. As such, fault may be assigned to a specific driver or driver after an accident.

A driver who is convicted of a traffic violation which leads to an accident is considered at fault for the accident.

Drivers in Arkansas must maintain minimum car insurance coverage of at least:

  • $25, 000 for bodily injury to one person
  • $50, 000 for total bodily injury
  • $25, 000 for property damage

Following an accident in Arkansas, you may be required to report it to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration within 30 days of the accident if:

  • The accident resulted in death or injury
  • More than $1, 000 worth of damage was done to property

Failure to report an accident will result in a license suspension.

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Arkansas

Driving without insurance in Arkansas for the first time results in:

  • $50 to $250 in fines
  • Possible license plate removal

In such an event, you will have 10 days to provide proof that you are covered by insurance. If so, your plates will be returned to you and the fine will be waived.

A second violation of driving without insurance coverage leads to:

  • $250 to $500 in fines
  • License plate removal

Again, you will have 10 days to prove you are covered by a valid insurance policy, but the fine will not be waived. If you are not covered, you will lose your driving privileges.

A third or subsequent offense of driving without insurance in Arkansas is a class C misdemeanor and results in:

  • $500 to $1, 000 in fines
  • Up to one year in jail

Presenting valid proof of insurance will not result in a waiver of your fines. You will also be deemed a habitual offender.

Being found at-fault for an accident in Arkansas in which a driver does not have car insurance will result in a class A misdemeanor and subject the driver to harsher fines and penalties.

 

Sources and references:

Don't forget to share!