Question

I was driving my mom's car and was ticketed for not having insurance.

I wasn't aware my mom didn't have insurance and was ticketed for driving without it. What happens next? The ticket says I need to go to court.

Dec 9, 2017 Belleview, Florida

Answer
Ava Lynch

Dec 9, 2017

Because insurance is required in Florida (and most states in the US), you will most likely be fined and could have your license, registration, and vehicle tags suspended for driving without it. While the fine varies based on the number of violations, it can range from $150-$500. I recommend following the instructions on the ticket and getting insurance as soon as possible so you can get your license, registration, and tags reissued.

Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

Location pin icon