To answer your first question, I wouldn't file a claim. Being the deductible is only a few hundred dollars, you would pay more in a rate increase after filing a claim than you would receive. In California
in 2017, an at-fault accident (which this would be considered) raised rates an average of $660 per year. Now, most insurance companies would keep that on your insurance record and thus charge you for three years. So that $660 becomes $1980. Below you can see how much you would end up paying for car insurance over a 3 year period after filing a claim.
|Year After Accident||Average Annual Premium|
|0 - No Accident||$1,713|
|1 Year Later||$2,373|
|2 Years Later||$3,033|
|3 Years Later||$3,693|
As for your second question, you can get a point on your driving record in California for the following reasons: One point violations
Two point violations
- Moving violations: for example, a collision claim
- Running a red light
- Reckless driving
- Driving while license is suspended or revoked
The issue you want to avoid is having heard multiple point in a short amount of time. Considering, however, this is your first accident, you should be fine. Best of luck.