Car Insurance Costs
Eligibility

Can my insurance company make me carry insurance on my 20yr son living w/me?

Yes, everyone that lives in your household that is of legal driving age needs to be listed on the policy. The reason is they have access to the car.

Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

Location pin icon
Most Recent

Car Insurance Costs

Does my 20 year old need his own car insurance policy?

Since he lives in Florida, he will need to get his own policy. He is still considered a young driver and Florida requires Personal Injury Protection (PIP) which makes the rates more expensive than Tenessee.

Coverage & Claims

Get insurance involved for $1800 in damage?

The short answer is no but there's a lot to unpack here. First, most insurance companies require you to report any incident, even if a claim is not filed. If he were to file a claim, it would definitely impact his rates for the next 3 to 5 years.

Coverage & Claims

Can I drive my mom's car to Canada?

There's a lot of things to unpack here. There's the general concerns: Are you covered to drive your mom's car?

General Insurance

Son moved and sold his car

This is a very unique situation. The best thing to do is to send them your son's lease agreement, showing that he is no longer at your house.

Coverage & Claims

Should I pay out of pocket for damage I caused?

I would not file claim. Even if you have a $500 deductible, which is common, you would receive $66 in payout.

General Insurance

Can I add sister to my policy?

If your sister lives with you or uses your vehicle regularly, she can be added to your policy. Given her age and lack of driving experience, I would prepare for a big increase in your premium.

Coverage & Claims

How long do I have to file a claim if I am the passenger in a car accident?

In South Carolina, you have a statute of limitation of 3 years for all property damage and bodily injury claims.

Eligibility

How long can I stay on my mom's policy after she died?

I am sorry for your loss. In terms of handling the auto insurance, every company handles this transitioning period differently.

Coverage & Claims

I've had 3 accidents and am paying too much for auto insurance

Unfortunately, driving history is a big rating factor in determining premium and that's especially true in no-fault states like Florida. With two at-fault accidents within a year in addition to your years of driving experience, it's going to be challenging to find affordable insurance. Your best option is to compare as many different companies as possible in order to find an affordable company - which you can do here.

Coverage & Claims

Do I need a police report to file a claim?

Accidents that occur on private property do not require a police report in order to file a claim. Your familiarity with the other driver does not impact your ability to file a claim, however the fact that he is uninsured means that you will have to pay your deductible for the repairs.
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question