Eligibility

How old does a child have to be to gift a vehicle to them?

Texas requires a vehicle owner to be at least 18 years old. If under that, they will need a legal adult to be on the papers. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask.

Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

Location pin icon
Most Recent

Coverage & Claims

How many cars can I have on my progressive policy?

Hello, Most companies — including Progressive — will allow four cars per policy. Of course, it's always a good idea to check with your insurance company if you are unsure about whether or not your cars are covered.

Coverage & Claims
General Insurance

Do I have to keep making my insurance payments for a vehicle getting repaired?

You should definitely make your scheduled payments. I would continuously try and contact them.

Coverage & Claims

Is it worth filing a claim for a scratch on my car that happened when it was parked?

If the scratch was the result of vandalism and not caused by another vehicle then filing a comprehensive claim should have little to no impact on your future rates. This also means that you will have to pay your comprehensive coverage deductible for the repair.

Coverage & Claims

How long can you wait to file an auto insurance claim?

Each state has varying statutes on how long you have after damage occurs to file a claim. In Maryland, you actually have up to 3 years to file a property damage claim, although I would not recommend waiting that long as it can be difficult for your insurance company to properly assess the damage.

General Insurance

When filling out quotes, do I have to disclose an accident that my friend had while driving my car?

The questions pertains to you as a driver. The same would go for tickets.

Car Insurance Costs

How can my daughter, age 19, get affordable car insurance?

Her best bet, because of her age and high cost of insurance in Florida, would be to get added on to a family member's policy of the household where she lives. Once she has been insured for at least 6 months she should qualify for lower rates because of the discount for being continuously insured.

Coverage & Claims

If I file a claim where my friend wrecked my dad's car, will her insurance rate go up?

Technically speaking, filing a claim would not result in a "point" on your friend's license because insurance companies do not issue "points" to the DMV. Points are the result of tickets and accidents where a police officer was called to the crash scene or wrote a citation.

Eligibility
General Insurance

If I'm buying a car but don't have a license, can my dad insure it for me in his name?

Louisiana law requires that the owner of the vehicle also insure it in their name. If you are the titled owner of the vehicle then you will also need to register and insure it under your name.

Eligibility
General Insurance

Who do I get auto insurance from before a storm?

Unfortunately once a huge storm, like a hurricane, is imminent, most (if not all) insurers offering coverage in the storm's path will stop writing new policies to decrease their risk exposure. My recommendation would be to check with every possible company offering insurance in Florida to see if any will issue a policy.

Car Insurance Costs

Can I insure my son's car for him since he has a bad driving record?

You can put the policy in your name, but there are a few stipulations. First, your son's vehicle would have to be kept at your home.
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question