Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Coverage & Claims

Lying about the primary driver on a car insurance policy wrong

It is considered illegal to lie about who the listed primary driver is and who actually drives the car most frequently. Depending on the situation, it can either be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony.

Car Insurance Costs
Coverage & Claims

Someone on my policy hit my vehicle

This can be a tricky scenario. If your daughter was not on your policy, you would not have to worry about a rate increase because you were the not-at-fault individual.

Coverage & Claims
Eligibility

Who insures a vehicle that is shared?

It is tough to answer the question without more information. If your daughter is away from school and living there full time, she will need a policy for that address.

Car Insurance Costs

Rate hike after fender-bender and cell-phone use ticket

There are a few things to consider here. First, getting a ticket for "use of cell phone" will be reported on her motor vehicle report (MVR).

Car Insurance Costs
Eligibility

It is illegal to pay for someone else's car insurance

While it is not illegal to pay for someone else's policy, you might run into issues if she's on your policy as well. Car insurance is regulated at the state level and priced at the zip code level.

General Insurance

In Alabama, does the car insurance follow the driver or the car?

In my experience, it's always the rule that car insurance follows the vehicle not the driver. So, although the person who your daughter wasn't the owner of the vehicle, their car insurance would still apply in this situation.

Eligibility
General Insurance

Car insurance for a car I own but don't drive

Here's what I recommend: because you don't have a drivers license, don't have a driving record, and won't be using the vehicle, I would have your son get car insurance for the vehicle but I would use your bank/credit card information to pay for it. Most insurance companies will allow you to add another consenting individual's payment information to the insurance policy - as they want to be paid for the policy regardless.

Coverage & Claims

Looking to drop full coverage

Only you can make the decision whether or not to drop full coverage or not. But your best bet is to determine the value of the vehicle through Kelley Blue Book or NADA.

Car Insurance Costs

How can my daughter, age 19, get affordable car insurance?

Her best bet, because of her age and high cost of insurance in Florida, would be to get added on to a family member's policy of the household where she lives. Once she has been insured for at least 6 months she should qualify for lower rates because of the discount for being continuously insured.

General Insurance

Which state would I need to get insurance in if my daughter will be attending graduate school out-of-state and the car is in my name?

The vehicle will need to be insured in the state where it is driven, so you have 1 of 2 options. You can have your daughter added as a co-owner of the vehicle and she will be able to register and insure the vehicle in her name, in the new state.
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question