RV Insurance

Where can I get short term insurance for an RV?

Whether you're insuring your car or RV, temporary insurance is not really an option — most policies are for 6-12 months. You can typically cancel at any time but be aware of any fees for canceling early.

Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

Location pin icon
Most Recent

General Insurance

Do I have to add my adult son to my insurance if he'll be driving my car while visiting?

Since your son lives in his own home at college, you will not have to add them to your policy if they drive your car less than ten times per year, with most companies. Some insurance companies offer a discount if you add a college student who lives away from home and has limited access to the insured car and seldom drives it. Every company is different so I would check with your company for their specific rules.

Eligibility

Can my sister insure a car I own?

Yes, she can insure your car. She will need to make sure you are listed as a driver as well as an additional interest.

Coverage & Claims
General Insurance

Laws regarding storing a car in Nevada?

There's a couple of things to think about here.
  1. Liability laws: In Nevada, just like most states, if the vehicle is registered, you need to have insurance on the vehicle.

Coverage & Claims

Coverage for non-employee in commercial vehicle after accident

There's a couple of things to think about here. First, if the other driver was found at-fault for the accident, their insurance (if they have it) would cover the property damage of the van and the bodily injury payments suffered by both of you (this is called their liability coverage).

General Insurance

How long do I have in Nevada to add a car to my policy

To my knowledge, there isn't a law in the books regarding a grace period for adding a new vehicle to an existing policy in Nevada. However, most insurance do have a certain grace period in their policy documentation that allows for extended coverage to newly purchased vehicles.

General Insurance

My insurance went up because the state changed it's legislation?

It looks like the state's website has not been updated because GEICO is correct, the state of Nevada did raise their state minimum from 15/30/10 to 25/50/20. Because insurance companies are at the mercy of state regulation, it would be illegal for them not to comply.

Eligibility
General Insurance

Where can I find state minimum insurance for a classic car?

If you're just looking for liability coverage then you should have multiple options. Unfortunately some carriers don't offer coverage for vehicles older than 1982, but there are some that will insure your vehicle.

Coverage & Claims

What should I do if I was hit by another driver and they gave me false documents?

Your best bet is to contact the police and file a report. If you were able to write down or remember their license plate number then that should aide the police in finding the responsible party. In the meantime, you should be able to file a claim with your insurance provider if your policy includes collision coverage.

Coverage & Claims

What do I do if an uninsured driver opens their door into mine and leaves a dent?

If you want the dent repaired and the other driver doesn't have insurance then you can ask him to pay you out of pocket for the damage. If not, you'll need to file a claim with your insurance provider.

General Insurance

How long do I have to file a claim in Nevada?

You should keep in mind that you will have to pay your deductible if you decide to file a claim. Since you hit a curb, it will be considered an at fault accident and your rate will likely be increased.
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question