General Insurance

We will be purchasing our first car shortly before moving from WI to CA. How should we navigate car insurance?

Every state has separate laws, insurance plans, and registrations, but you shouldn't have an issue buying a vehicle in one state and moving to another state. If at all possible, I would wait and buy the vehicle in California — this way, you would only pay all the fees once.

Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

Location pin icon
Most Recent

General Insurance

Can my insured relative drive my new, uninsured car off the lot?

Even if your relative is insured, they cannot drive the car home without insurance. Their coverage does not extend to your new vehicle unless they choose to add it to their policy.

Coverage & Claims

Do I need to tell my insurance company if I added modifications to it?

It's always a good rule of thumb to keep your insurance company in the loop to any changes in your vehicle. For instance, if you want the custom parts covered, you will need to contact the insurance company to add the additional coverages for custom parts and equipment.

General Insurance

How long do I have in Illinois to add a new vehicle to my current insurance policy?

Typically, you have up to 14 days to add a new vehicle to your policy. Every company is different so always check with your specific insurance company for their guidelines.

General Insurance

How long do I have in Illinois to add a new vehicle to my current plan?

Typically, you have up to 14 days to add the vehicle to your new policy. Every company is different so always check with your specific company for their guidelines.

General Insurance

Does it count against you if you don't have insurance now?

Not having insurance continuously does impact your rate negatively. Once you have had insurance for six months the rates should get better.

Car Insurance Costs

Can I puy a policy today and pay the down payment next week?

I do not know any insurance companies that will issue a policy without a down payment. From the perspective of an insurance company, a driver who does not put down a down payment is too much of a liability.

Car Insurance Costs

Can I get my premium for car insurance when I never got the car?

Since the policy was active from August 31 through September 22, your son will be responsible to pay the premium on the policy. Every company has different rules and guidelines so there may be a fee for canceling the policy before the term is over.

Car Insurance Costs

Can I pro rate a car if I add it to existing policy?

You are correct. They will prorate the change to the plan and add it to the existing term.

Coverage & Claims

Grace period for adding new vehicle with Progressive

For most major car insurance companies, you are correct. The state does not give any grace period to have the vehicle covered, but insurance companies will transfer coverage for a time frame - usually between 2-4 weeks.

Coverage & Claims

Planning on selling old car do I still need insurance on it

There's a couple of things to look at here. Any grace period would depend on the exact policy details of your current policy.
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question