Coverage & Claims

Is fault shared when backing out of a parking spot?

Typically, the car that was backing out would be considered at fault. Every situation can be different and you may be both considered at fault.

Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

Location pin icon
Most Recent

Coverage & Claims

Will I lose my accident free discount if I file a hit and run claim?

You will lose this discount and most likely your rates will be impacted if you file a claim. How much your rates will be impacted depends on the types of coverage you have and what coverage pays out to fix your car.

Car Insurance Costs
Coverage & Claims

If I backed into a pole in a parking lot, do I need a police report to file a claim?

Firstly, a police report is not always necessary to file a claim, especially for incidents that only involve one vehicle. As for your second question, should you file a claim, the choice will ultimately be up to you.

Coverage & Claims

Whose insurance pays for an accident after running a stop sign?

Unfortunately stop signs in parking lots are not the same as stop signs on the street when it comes to determining fault. Parking lot accidents are often difficult to assign fault for insurance companies so they may ultimately decide to cover only their own customer's damage by saying the that fault was 50/50 between the drivers.

Coverage & Claims
General Insurance

What do I do if I am hit by another driver and they refuse to provide me their insurance information?

Regardless of the amount of damage caused in an accident, drivers should still exchange insurance information. Normally in the event that the police are called and a report is written the information of both drivers is documented, including insurance information.

Coverage & Claims

If I damaged my car 6 months ago, is it too late to report it to my insurance company?

Your delay in reporting the damage should not keep your company from fixing your vehicle. Technically in California, you have 2 years to file a claim for damage to your property.

Coverage & Claims
General Insurance

In the state of California, is an uninsured motorist automatically at fault even if they were hit by another driver?

In California, your insurance status does not have anything to do with fault after an accident. While it is technically illegal to operate an uninsured vehicle on public roads, fault is still determined for insurance purposes.

Car Insurance Costs
Coverage & Claims

What should my mother-in-law do if her car was hit in a parking lot

She really has the option to go either direction and her rate probably wouldn't be impacted since the other driver was at fault. If the other driver wants to pay for the repairs out of their own pocket then should wouldn't need to file a claim.

Coverage & Claims

Who is considered at fault in a parking lot crash?

Since it was a parking lot incident, fault can be difficult to determine. If you two aren't able to come to an agreement on the repairs, your best bet would be to just contact your insurance company and let them know about the what happened.

Coverage & Claims
General Insurance

If I backed into a car in the parking lot and didn't leave my information, am I able to provide my information at a later date?

in the state of Arizona, you technically have up to 2 years from the date of the incident to file a claim. While I would not recommend waiting that long, the point is that you are still well within the window to have your insurance cover the other vehicle's damage.

Coverage & Claims
General Insurance

What can I do if an insurance company is refusing to pay for my damage?

If you are having trouble getting the other driver's insurance company to pay out then I would definitely recommend contacting your insurance provider. If that doesn't lead anywhere then your only other option would be to contact an attorney.
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question