General Insurance

Can you make your child a permissive user in order to get a discount?

You are not required to make your son a permissive user, so that seems off. You may want to get in touch with Allstate's customer service or your agent.

Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmarkNo junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.
Most Recent

Coverage & Claims

Is my son covered if he got into an accident before being added to our policy?

Sorry to hear about your situation. It's hard to say if your insurance company is wrong to deny the claim without knowing your specific policy details.

Eligibility

Can my license be suspended if my son wrecked my car without insurance?

Sorry to hear about the situation. I cannot give you a definitive answer as it sounds like this situation will be determined in the courts.

Coverage & Claims

My car was keyed 4 months ago. Is it too late to file a claim with my insurance company?

The statute of limitations on property damage and injury claims in Ohio is two years — so you are well within the time frame to file a claim. The car being keyed would count as an act of vandalism, so your comprehensive coverage should cover the damage.

Eligibility

How old does a child have to be to gift a vehicle to them?

Texas requires a vehicle owner to be at least 18 years old. If under that, they will need a legal adult to be on the papers. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask.

General Insurance

My son has moved out on bad terms. Should I still keep him on my insurance?

If your son's vehicle is registered in your name, I would keep it insured. Florida will suspend the license of the registered person if a vehicle isn't insured.

Coverage & Claims

My son got a DUI, I will be selling the vehicle & removing him from my Geico policy. Do I need to report it to Geico?

If you choose to repair the damage to your son's car using your insurance, you will need to file a claim and tell your insurer what happened. The claim will impact your rates, but removing your son will not impact your rates as much as leaving him on there — because he has a DUI on his record, that would increase rates in addition to the accident. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask.

Coverage & Claims

If I'm uninsured and the person at-fault for the accident is insured, how do I get my car fixed?

Nothing would change in the way the claim should be handled, as far as damages are concerned. Any trouble he is in for not having insurance would be a separate issue.

General Insurance

Should I still keep my 18-year-old son on my insurance if he moved out?

If the vehicle is registered in your name I would keep it insured. Florida will suspend a license of the registered person if a vehicle isn't insured.

General Insurance

My son is 19 and is in the service and will be overseas the next month. Is this covered by the definition of exclusion?

As long as you can provide proof of a separate address, you should be able to remove your son from your policy completely. Every company is different so you will need to check with your specific company.

General Insurance

Do I have to add my adult son to my insurance if he'll be driving my car while visiting?

Since your son lives in his own home at college, you will not have to add them to your policy if they drive your car less than ten times per year, with most companies. Some insurance companies offer a discount if you add a college student who lives away from home and has limited access to the insured car and seldom drives it.
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question