Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

or
Location pin icon
glyph-shield-checkmark No junk mail. No spam calls. Free quotes.

Coverage & Claims

If a large item falls from a truck and causes an accident, whose insurance will cover it?

This is a legal matter and I suggest talking further with your own attorney. Your insurance will not cover the claim since you only have liability insurance.
Jun 24, 2019 Brownsville, TX

Eligibility

Do I need to get a non-owners policy if I'm borrowing my mom's vehicle?

Hello, If you live with your parents and drive their vehicle more than once a month, they will need to add you to their policy. If you do not live with them and/or you do not drive the vehicle more than once a month, you would be covered under what's known as permissive use (provided you have your parent's permission to drive their car).
Jun 21, 2019 Mission, TX

Coverage & Claims

How long do I legally have to get the car fixed after making a claim?

You are correct about how long you have to file a claim. However, each company is different, so you need to contact your insurance company for specific information relating to your repairs.
Jun 20, 2019 Austin, TX

Coverage & Claims

What happens when the other driver doesn't have insurance and I only have liablity?

Thank you for your question. I would contact your insurance company.
Jun 19, 2019 Addison, TX

Coverage & Claims

Will my rate go up if I file a claim for a damaged side mirror?

Put simply, any time you file a claim, there is usually a rate increase. Since you don't know who it is that hit you, you would have to go through your own coverage.
Jun 18, 2019 Houston, TX

Coverage & Claims

Is a police report required when a parked car is hit?

Texas law states you must file a police report if the accident resulted in physical injury (or death) or property damage exceeding least $1,000. If your daughter is filing an uninsured motorist claim (i.e., a hit and run), I recommend filing a police report.
Jun 17, 2019 Terrell, TX

Coverage & Claims

What options does my daughter have if she had an accident without being listed on her wife's car insurance?

Since your daughter was driving her wife's car, a claim that is filed will likely be denied because you must list your spouse on the insurance policy. You have to list your spouse because they have regular access to the vehicle and you share financial responsibility.
Jun 13, 2019 El Paso, TX

Coverage & Claims

Should I claim repairs to my vehicle under my own auto insurance or under the property owners umbrella insurance?

In this case, I would pursue the damages through the LID first. If they deny fault, you can submit it to your insurance company.
May 27, 2019 Missouri City, TX

General Insurance

My friend is giving me a car as a gift. What do I need to do to get it transferred in my name?

You need to have the title transferred to you and register it in your name. Here is some information related to that — it will all be done via the TX DMV.
May 23, 2019 Fort Worth, TX

Coverage & Claims

If I borrowed my mom's car and was hit by an uninsured driver does she pay a deductible?

If your uninsured motorist coverage pays for the damage, you may have a deductible. Every policy is different so you will have to look at the specifics of your coverage.
May 7, 2019 San Antonio, TX
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question