General Insurance

What is your best advice to buy auto insurance for my 18-year-old who is buying a used car which will be paid off?

The bad news is that car insurance for an 18-year-old on their own separate policy is incredibly expensive — over $3,400 more than the national average. The good news? Typically, we see that combining insurance by adding your kid to your policy is the best route.

Compare auto insurance rates and save up to $670 per year!

Location pin icon
Most Recent

General Insurance

Can I drive a truck I'm buying across state lines, without plates, to get it home?

I would call up your local DMV or appropriate state department and ask them what to do. Most states allow you to pay a small fee and show an out of state status and they will issue you a temporary paper plate for the vehicle to be relocated.

General Insurance

Is there a temporary insurance policy while I'm test driving a used car to protect me before I actually buy it?

There really isn't a global policy that can be used for what you are needing, nor does "temporary insurance" exist. The good news is most insurance plans are paid month-to-month and have very minimal penalties for canceling — if any penalty at all.

General Insurance

What is the minimum coverage I should keep on an old car that I am selling that isn’t worth much?

In Ohio, the state minimum liability requirements are 25/50/25 — comprehensive and collision are optional. If you're looking for the lowest coverage and the cheapest rate, that's the best option though this decision is completely up to you and what you're comfortable paying.

Eligibility

Do I have a grace period to drive a used vehicle I just purchased without insurance coverage?

Hello, Thanks for your question. Most companies will give you up to 14 days to add the vehicle. Every company is different so make sure to contact your insurance company as soon as possible.

General Insurance

When do I get insurance after setting up financing for a used car?

I recommend setting up your insurance policy before you pick it up because you will need to have insurance as soon as you drive off the lot. The seller shouldn't have to be involved when you're choosing a policy. Every state has minimum liability insurance coverage requirements which are included on every policy.

General Insurance

How long do I have in Illinois to add a new vehicle to my current plan?

Typically, you have up to 14 days to add the vehicle to your new policy. Every company is different so always check with your specific company for their guidelines.

Eligibility

Can I drive off the lot with just an SR22 in California?

No, you need to have comprehensive and collision coverage to drive off the lot if you are financing the car. Comprehensive and collision coverage protects physical damage to the car.

General Insurance

What documents do I need to buy a used car?

Yes, you will need to have insurance on this new vehicle to legally drive it in Washington. As for the documents to actually purchase the car, you will need: Ideally, a vehicle history report, owner’s manual and anything else that came with the vehicle. Smog test (if required by your state). Title (which requires the seller to go to the DMV or AAA office with you for registration). A bill of sale stating VIN (vehicle identification number), mileage, plate number, both the seller and buyer’s names and addresses, and the sale amount. Original title with seller’s current information on it.
Icon-Agent
Ask an Agent

Get free insurance advice you can trust.

Ask a Question