I live in Michigan which is a no-fault state. I hit the back of another car with minor damages of $600. If I file a claim, will my insurance cover any of the $600 the other party is asking for?
Michigan is a unique state when it comes to the way property damage is handled after an accident. No fault states require injured parties to be covered by their own auto insurance policy, regardless of fault. Michigan is the only state that also requires vehicle damage to be covered the same way. This basically means that the person you hit will have to file a claim with their own insurance company for repairs to their vehicle. The only exception would be if you hit a parked car, which is covered by your $1 mil Property Protection Insurance required by the state.