Colorado Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Colorado, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's only a question of by how much. Fortunately, Colorado auto insurance rates are not impacted greatly by your history of serious driving violations, when measured against all US states.


Need a new policy? Shop rates today!


In what way will a DUI impact auto insurance rates in Colorado?

In Colorado, a DUI violation can lift your annual car insurance premium by an average of $727. That’s 40% less than the U.S. average premium increase following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN COLORADO — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Colorado $1,435.35 $2,162.32 50%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Finding car insurance coverage in Colorado after a DUI violation

Finding cheap auto insurance with a DUI conviction isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI usually brings about a larger rate hike than does any other driving transgression — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Best car insurance after a DUI in Colorado

If you’re convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in Colorado, it’s critical to consider your insurance possibilities thoughtfully. Auto insurance rates following a DUI can vary substantially depending on the company. For example, the best cheap auto insurance company with a DUI in Colorado, Progressive, offers yearly prices 15% less than the statewide average insurance price with a DUI violation. The next-most affordable choice for auto insurance after a DUI in Colorado is GEICO, while the most expensive company is Allstate, with rates 33% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN COLORADO — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Progressive $1,837
GEICO $1,892
American Family $2,170
Farmers $2,511.60
USAA $2,527
State Farm $2,535
Allstate $2,884.98

There’s no auto insurance company in particular offering cheap DUI auto insurance. The easiest course of action to save money post-DUI violation is to shop policies.

Find quotes online or reach out to an insurance professional to weigh the choices and find the cheapest option.

Read more about car insurance with a DUI violation.


Compare DUI auto insurance rates today!


Colorado DUI regulations

Colorado is harsh against driving under the influence, maintaining two levels of offenses based on a driver's blood alcohol concentration:

  • You are Driving While Ability is Impaired (DWAI) in Colorado if your BAC is 0.05% or higher.
  • You are Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Colorado if your BAC is 0.08% or higher.

In addition, commercial drivers are considered to be DUI in Colorado if their BAC is above 0.04%.

Those under the legal drinking age of 21 will be charged with Underage Drinking and Driving if their BAC reads between 0.02% and 0.05%. Those below 21 years old and over 0.05% BAC will be subject to the same penalties as an adult driver in Colorado.


DWAI penalties in Colorado

DWAI offenses are commonly considered misdemeanors in Colorado.

First-time offenses will result in:

  • Two to 180 days in jail
  • Fines between $200 and $500
  • Up to 96 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device
  • Possible requirement to attend alcohol courses
  • Eight points toward a license suspension

Second-time DWAI offenses in Colorado will result in:

  • 45 days to one year in jail
  • Fines between $300 and $1,000
  • A one year license revocation
  • Up to 96 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to use an IID
  • Possible requirement to attend alcohol courses

If you're found guilty of a DWAI with a past DUI on your record, you will be subject to:

  • 60 days to one year in jail
  • $400 to $1,200 in fines
  • One-year license revocation
  • Up to 104 hours of community service

DUI penalties in Colorado

A DUI is considered a misdemeanor in Colorado.

A first-time DUI offense in Colorado leads to:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines
  • A suspended license for nine months
  • Up to 96 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to install an IID
  • Possible requirement to attend alcohol courses

A second-time DUI charge in Colorado results in:

  • 10 days to one year in jail
  • $600 to $1,500 in fines
  • A one-year license revocation
  • Up to 120 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to install an IID
  • Possible requirement to attend alcohol courses

If you're found guilty of a DUI with a past DWAI on your record, you will be subject to:

  • 70 days to one year in jail
  • $450 to $1,500 in fines
  • Up to 112 hours of community service
  • A one-year revocation of your driver's license

Colorado does not have a specific lookback period, so past drunk driving convictions may have an impact on any penalties you receive for a DUI. In general, two or more DUIs within five years will subject you to harsher penalties.

A third DWAI/DUI charge will be considered a class four felony in Colorado. A DUI leading to injury or death may also be considered a felony, even if it's a first-time offense.


Persistent drunk driver penalties in Colorado

Colorado considers you a “persistent drunk driver” if:

  • You've been convicted of two or more DWAI/DUI charges
  • Have had your license revoked for two or more DWAI/DUI charges
  • You've driven with a license that has been suspended or revoked for DWAI/DUI charges
  • You've refused a DUI chemical test after a DWAI or DUI charge

You're also considered a persistent drunk driver if your BAC is 0.15% or higher at the time of arrest, even if it's your first DWAI or DUI charge.

In addition to higher fines and jail time, persistent drunk drivers must complete a level II alcohol and drug education and treatment program. An IID must also be installed and maintained for at least two years.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Colorado

The first charge for underage DUI in Colorado is deemed a class A traffic infraction. Subsequent violations are considered misdemeanors.

First-time offenders of underage DUI in Colorado are subject to:

  • Fines up $150
  • A mandatory driver's license of three months
  • Up to 24 hours of community service
  • Four points on your driving record
  • An alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Attendance in an alcohol/drug education and treatment program

Second-time offenses result in:

  • Fines up to $300
  • 10 to 90 days in jail
  • A mandatory driver's license of three months
  • Up to 24 hours of community service
  • Four points on your driving record
  • An alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Attendance in an alcohol/drug education and treatment program

Sources and references:

https://www.shouselaw.com/colorado/dui/dui_penalties.html

https://www.shouselaw.com/colorado/dui/CO_UDD.html

https://www.duiprocess.com/state/CO/duilaws.php

https://www.dmv.com/co/colorado/dui-dwi

https://www.dmv.org/co-colorado/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.codot.gov/library/Brochures/COSTDUI09.pdf

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/colorado.php

https://statelaws.findlaw.com/colorado-law/what-are-the-colorado-dui-laws.html

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/alcohol-dui

http://www.noduicolorado.org/what-if-im-under-21/

Don't forget to share!