Connecticut Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are found guilty of DUI in Connecticut, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of how much you'll end up paying. Connecticut auto insurance premiums tend to be affected markedly by your history of serious driving violations, relative to all American states.


How does a DUI influence car insurance rates in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, a DUI will raise your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $1,251. That’s 19% more than the national average premium hike following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN CONNECTICUT — AVERAGE YEARLY PREMIUMS
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Connecticut$1,544.29$2,794.9881%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Getting car insurance in Connecticut with a DUI conviction

Finding affordable car insurance after a DUI offense is far from straightforward. In fact, a DUI often brings about a greater cost increase than any single driving violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident. Connecticut is an especially bad state in which to be convicted of a DUI: its insurance penalties are among the US' stiffest.


Cheap car insurance with a DUI in Connecticut

If you've been convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Connecticut, it’s important to consider all your insurance choices with care. Car insurance rates in the wake of a DUI can fluctuate widely depending on the insurer. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Connecticut, State Farm, offers yearly premiums 30% better than the statewide average insurance premium after a DUI. The second-cheapest company for car insurance after a DUI in Connecticut is Progressive, and the most expensive insurer is Amica, with rates 61% above average.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS WITH DUI IN CONNECTICUT — BY PROVIDER
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
State Farm$1,952
Progressive$2,390
GEICO$3,130
Allstate$3,341
Amica$4,503

There is no car insurance company in particular offering affordable DUI car insurance. The most effective course of action to save after a DUI conviction is to shop around.

Get quotes online or contact your insurance expert to weigh the choices and discover an affordable option.

Read more about car insurance options after a DUI violation.


Compare rates and find car insurance today!


Connecticut DUI laws

Driving under the influence is also called “operating under the influence,” or OUI, in the state of Connecticut.

In Connecticut, you're considered to be DUI/OUI when your blood alcohol concentration reads 0.08% or higher. The BAC limit for commercial drivers is 0.04%. Those under 21 years old are considered DUI if their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Connecticut

First-time DUI convictions are usually considered misdemeanors in Connecticut. Connecticut's lookback period is 10 years, so multiple DUI offenses within this period will result in stricter penalties. Second and subsequent DUI convictions within the lookback period are often treated as felonies.

First-time DUI offenses in Connecticut are:

  • Two days to six months in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • 45-day license suspension
  • Requirement to install and use an interlock ignition device for six months

Those with first-time DUI offenses may be able to have their charge dismissed by attending an alcohol education program, if allowed by the court. Successfully completing this program will be in lieu of a first-time DUI offense, though DMV records will instead show attendance in the program.

A second-time DUI/OUI offense in Connecticut leads to:

  • 120 days to two years in jail
  • $1,000 to $4,000 in fines
  • 45-day license suspension
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year

A third DUI offense in Connecticut will result in:

  • One to three years in jail
  • $2,000 to $8,000 in fines
  • Permanent license revocation

In all cases, a BAC over 0.16% amplifies the severity of penalties, fines, and jail time you will face.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Connecticut

Drivers under 21 years old and with a BAC reading of 0.02% or higher are considered OUI in Connecticut.

First-time underage OUI offenders are subject to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • 45-day license suspension
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year

A second underage OUI offense leads to:

  • 120 days to two years in jail
  • $1,000 to $4,000 in fines
  • 45-day license suspension
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for three years

A third underage OUI offense results in:

  • One to three years in jail
  • $2,000 to $8,000 in fines
  • Permanent license revocation

First-time underage OUI offenders may be able to attend an alcohol education program in lieu of an OUI charge. Dismissal of the charge requires successful completion of 10 to 15 sessions, fees between $550 and $750, and participation in a victim impact panel.

In addition, 16- and 17-year-old OUI offenders in Connecticut will have their license seized by the police when charged with an OUI. The license will be kept by the police for 48 hours and then automatically suspended. The minor's vehicle will also be towed at the minor's or parent's expense.

Sources and references:

https://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=813&q=249562

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/conn.php

https://www.ruaneattorneys.com/connecticut-dui-defense/faq-dui-questions/

https://www.dmv.com/ct/connecticut/dui-dwi

https://www.dmv.org/ct-connecticut/automotive-law/dui.php

http://www.dui-usa.drinkdriving.org/Connecticut_dui_drunkdriving_laws.php

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/resources/dui-and-dwi/dui-laws-state/connecticut-underage-dui.htm

https://www.koffskyfelsen.com/Articles/DUI-Penalties-for-Underage-Drivers-in-Connecticut.shtml

Don't forget to share!