Delaware Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in Delaware, your auto insurance will get more expensive — it's just a question of by how much. In fact, Delaware car insurance prices are influenced significantly by a rap sheet of serious driving violations, versus all American states.


Find cheap DUI car insurance today!


In what way does a DUI impact car insurance rates in Delaware?

In Delaware, a DUI can increase your annual auto insurance cost by an average of $1,438. That’s 29% more than the national mean premium jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN DELAWARE — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Delaware $1,700.04 $3,137.57 84%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Purchasing car insurance in Delaware with a DUI

Getting cheap car insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t straightforward. In fact, a DUI often triggers a larger cost increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Delaware is an especially poor state in which to rack up a DUI: its insurance rate raises are among the nation's stiffest.


Cheapest car insurance after a DUI in Delaware

If you have been convicted of a driving under the influence offense in Delaware, it’s important to weigh available insurance options thoroughly. Car insurance prices following a DUI can vary substantially depending on the company. For instance, the most affordable car insurance company after a DUI in Delaware, USAA, offers yearly prices 60% better than the state average insurance premium after a DUI. The next-cheapest choice for car insurance with a DUI in Delaware is Progressive, while the priciest company is State Farm, at 30% above the mean.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN DELAWARE — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
USAA $1,257
Progressive $1,868
Allstate $3,473
GEICO $3,598
Nationwide $4,001
State Farm $4,087

There is no car insurance company in particular that offers low-cost DUI car insurance. The best way to limit your losses post-DUI conviction is to shop around.

Get pricing info online or contact your insurance agent to weigh your choices and find a suitable policy.

Find out more on car insurance options with a DUI violation.


Find an affordable car insurance policy today!


Delaware DUI regulations

The blood alcohol concentration limit in Delaware is set at 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Delaware if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Delaware is a zero-tolerance state, so underage drivers are not permitted to drive if they have consumed any alcohol.

Drivers may still face arrest if, after a chemical test, their BAC reads a 0.05% or higher.


Delaware DUI penalties

The Delaware lookback period is 10 years for a second offense. For third and subsequent offenses, the lookback period extends to consider all past DUI convictions.

All offenders are subject to longer license revocation periods based on their BAC reading at the time of arrest.

First-time DUI offenders in Delaware are subject to:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • $500 to $1,500 in fines (double for minors)
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • License revocation for one to two years

A second DUI offense in Delaware leads to:

  • 60 days to 18 months in jail
  • $750 to $2,500 in fines (double for minors)
  • Mandatory installation and use of an IID
  • License revocation for 18 to 30 months

A third DUI offense in Delaware results in:

  • One to two years in jail
  • $1,500 to $5,000 in fines
  • Mandatory installation and use of an IID
  • License revocation for two to three years

A fourth DUI offense in Delaware will lead to:

  • Two to five years in jail
  • $3,000 to $7,000 in fines
  • Mandatory installation and use of an IID
  • License revocation for five years

Fifth-time DUI offenders are subject to:

  • Three to five years in jail
  • $3,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • Mandatory installation and use of an IID
  • License revocation for five years

A sixth DUI offense in Delaware results in:

  • Five to eight years in jail
  • $5,000 to $7,000 in fines
  • Mandatory installation and use of an IID
  • License revocation for five years

Penalties for the seventh and subsequent DUI offenses in Delaware are:

  • 10 to 15 years in jail
  • $10,000 to $15,000 in fines
  • Mandatory installation and use of an IID
  • License revocation for five years

DUI penalties for underage drivers in Delaware

In addition to the penalties above, those 17 years old or younger guilty of a DUI with a BAC of 0.08% or higher will have their license revoked until they turn 21.

Those between 18 and 20 will have their license revoked for two months for the first offense. Second and subsequent offenses will lead to license revocations for six months to one year.

Additionally, first-time underage DUI offenders must serve 40 hours of community service. For second and subsequent offenses, underage DUI offenders must serve 80 hours of community service.

Underage DUI offenders must also attend and complete an alcohol education or treatment program.

Sources and references:

https://ohs.delaware.gov/pdfs/DUI_LawBooklet1214.pdf

https://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver_services/driver_improvement/dr_di_dui.shtml

https://www.responsibility.org/get-the-facts/state-map/state/delaware/issue/dui-look-back-periods/

Don't forget to share!