Georgia Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Georgia, your car insurance policy is going to become more expensive — it's just a matter of how large the penalty will be. Georgia auto insurance rates are not influenced substantially by a motorist's driving violation history, when measured against all other US states.


Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare rates now!


How will a DUI change auto insurance in Georgia?

In Georgia, a DUI will boost your annual auto insurance cost by an average of $862. That is 18% less than the national average rate increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN GEORGIA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Georgia $1,387.83 $2,250.20 62%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Shopping for auto insurance in Georgia with a DUI violation

Finding cheap car insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a larger premium increase than any single driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.


Cheap car insurance after a DUI in Georgia

If you are found guilty of a driving under the influence offense in Georgia, it’s key to examine all possible insurance choices thoughtfully. Car insurance prices after a DUI can fluctuate widely depending on the company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Georgia, GEICO, offers yearly rates 20% less than the state average insurance premium with a DUI. The second-most affordable insurer for auto insurance after a DUI in Georgia is USAA, while the most expensive firm is State Farm, at 76% above average.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS WITH DUI IN GEORGIA — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
GEICO $1,790
USAA $1,815
Georgia Farm Bureau $1,882
Allstate $2,085
Progressive $2,565
State Farm $3,954

There is no auto insurance company in particular that offers low-cost DUI car insurance. The most effective way to limit your losses in the wake of a DUI violation is to shop policies.

Find pricing information online or contact an insurance agent to gauge the choices and find a relatively cheap plan.

Learn more about car insurance options with a DUI.


Find cheap car insurance after a DUI — shop today!


Georgia DUI regulations

The legal drinking limit in Georgia is a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08%. Commercial drivers are held to an even stricter limit of 0.04%.

Georgia is also a zero-tolerance state when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Those under 21 years old must have a BAC less than 0.02%.

A BAC of the legal limit or higher means you are driving under the influence in Georgia.


DUI penalties in Georgia

Georgia imposes mandatory minimum jail time for DUI. In addition, the lookback period in Georgia is 10 years.

The penalties for a first-time DUI offense in Georgia are:

  • 24 hours to one year in jail
  • Fines of $300 to $1,000
  • Up to one year of a suspended license
  • A mandatory minimum of 40 hours of community service
  • A mandatory substance abuse evaluation

Second-time DUI offenders are subject to:

  • Two days to one year in jail
  • Fines of $600 to $1,000
  • Up to three years of a suspended license
  • At least 30 days of mandatory community service
  • A mandatory substance abuse evaluation
  • Possible mandatory attendance in a DUI reduction program
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device

Those charged with a third DUI offense are declared “habitual offenders” and subject to a multitude of penalties, including:

  • 15 days to one year in jail
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for five years
  • A minimum of 30 days of community service
  • A mandatory substance abuse evaluation
  • Possible mandatory attendance in a DUI reduction program
  • License plate confiscation
  • Name, address, and photo published in a local newspaper at offender's expense

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Georgia

Penalties for a first-time DUI offense when underage in Georgia are:

  • 24 hours to one year in jail
  • $300 to $1,000 in fines
  • Suspension of a driver's license for six months to one year (or until 17 years old if younger than 15)
  • A minimum of 20 hours of community service
  • A mandatory substance abuse evaluation
  • Participation in a DUI reduction program

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • Three days to one year in jail
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines
  • A suspended license for 18 months (or until 18 years old if 15 or younger)
  • A minimum of 30 hours of community service
  • A mandatory substance abuse evaluation
  • Participation in a DUI reduction program

A third DUI offense while under the legal drinking age results in:

  • 15 days to one year in jail
  • Fines between $1,000 and $5,000
  • A suspended license for five years (or until 18 years old if 15 years old or younger)
  • A minimum of 30 hours of community service
  • A mandatory substance abuse evaluation
  • Participation in a DUI reduction program

Sources and references:

https://www.gahighwaysafety.org/highway-safety/impaired-driving-laws/

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/georgia.php

https://www.berniesez.com/everything-you-ever-wanted-to-know-about-dui-in-georgia/

https://www.dmv.org/ga-georgia/automotive-law/dui.php

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/resources/dui-and-dwi/dui-laws-state/georgia-underage-dui.htm

Don't forget to share!