Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers in Georgia

The Zebra
Dec. 4, 2018

If you’ve been involved in an at-fault accident, filed an insurance claim, or been given a ticket for a serious violation, you might be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance coverage for drivers with poor records is typically expensive, but the extra cost you face depends on your insurer, your driving record, and the state in which you live.


What comprises car insurance rates for bad drivers in Georgia:

  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. View Georgia driving laws

Get car insurance today!


Auto insurance after an at-fault accident in Georgia


If you're found responsible for an auto collision, you can expect your auto insurance costs to skyrocket. In Georgia, the average insurance premium after an at-fault crash is $1,924, versus the national average of $2,012. A serious incident like an at-fault collision can remain on your driving record for up to three years!


GEORGIA AUTO INSURANCE RATES FOLLOWING AN AT-FAULT COLLISION
LocationWith At-Fault Accident — Annual RateNo At-Fault Accident — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Georgia$1,924$1,388$536
U.S. Average$2,012$1,397$615

The most affordable car insurance company after an at-fault accident in Georgia is Georgia Farm Bureau. Georgia Farm Bureau’s usual rate increase after an accident is $874, resulting in a total rate 45 percent less expensive than the average from all car insurance companies. If you've been found at fault in a crash in Georgia, avoid State Farm and Allstate, which sit at the pricier end of the spectrum.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER AN AT-FAULT COLLISION IN GEORGIA — CHEAPEST CARRIERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With an At-Fault Accident
Georgia Farm Bureau$1,050
USAA$1,336
GEICO$1,705
State Farm$2,112
Allstate$2,720


By how much does a speeding citation raise car insurance rates in Georgia?


Among the common violations that earns drivers the "high-risk" tag is speeding. In Georgia, you can expect to see your rates rise by $293 per year after a speeding citation, to an average annual price of $1,681.


GEORGIA CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A SPEEDING TICKET
LocationWith a Speeding Ticket — Annual RateNo Speeding Ticket — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
Georgia$1,681$1,388$293
National Average$1,727$1,397$330

The foolproof way to get cheap auto insurance after getting a ticket for speeding is to shop around and weigh all possible options. The most affordable auto insurance after a speeding citation in Georgia is available through Georgia Farm Bureau. Georgia Farm Bureau’s average premium after a violation is $631 less than the state average. If you're caught speeding in Georgia, GEICO is worth avoiding.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER A SPEEDING VIOLATION IN GEORGIA — AFFORDABLE CARRIERS
CompanyAnnual Premium After a Speeding Violation
Georgia Farm Bureau$1,050
USAA$1,202
Allstate$1,723
State Farm$1,920
GEICO$2,141


How does a ticket for distracted driving impact car insurance premiums in Georgia?


If you receive a citation for distracted driving, your car insurance bill is going to get more expensive. In Georgia, car insurance rates typically increase by -$16 per year. That amounts to a -1% increase from the average annual premium in Georgia, and 109% less than the nationwide average cost of auto insurance after a distracted driving citation.


GEORGIA CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH A DISTRACTED DRIVING CITATION
LocationWith Distracted Driving — Annual RateNo Distracted Driving — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Georgia$1,372$1,388-$16
National Average$1,570$1,397$173

The best way to find affordable car insurance after a distracted driving citation is to compare policies from different carriers. The most affordable company after being ticketed for distracted driving in Georgia is Georgia Farm Bureau, with a typical rate of just $1,050 per year, 23% lower than the average distracted driving insurance rate among top insurers.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER DISTRACTED DRIVING IN GEORGIA — CHEAPEST COMPANIES
CompanyAnnual Rate After Distracted Driving
Georgia Farm Bureau$1,050
USAA$1,052
State Farm$1,251
Progressive$1,563
Allstate$1,723


Racing infractions and car insurance in Georgia


Racing is treated as a very serious offense. Insurers frequently penalize racing tickets severely — in fact, Georgia auto insurance premiums rise by an average of $646 per year after a ticket for racing. That's a 47% increase on the average yearly auto insurance premium in Georgia!


LocationWith a Racing Citation — Annual RateNo Racing Citation — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
Georgia$2,034$1,388$646
National Average$2,397$1,397$1,000

If you've been cited for a racing violation, do your due diligence and seek out the most affordable rates. In Georgia, start your search by checking out Georgia Farm Bureau, which offers prices 48 percent less than the state average for drivers found guilty of racing.


CAR INSURANCE RATES FOLLOWING A RACING CITATION IN GEORGIA — CHEAP CARRIERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate After Racing
Georgia Farm Bureau$1,050
Allstate$2,053
USAA$2,094
GEICO$2,141
State Farm$2,665


How does a citation for reckless driving impact Georgia car insurance rates?


One of the most serious driving violations, reckless driving is a certain way to pay more for auto insurance. Auto insurance companies raise rates by an average of $748 annually following a reckless driving citation. That comes out to 54% higher than the typical auto insurance rate in Georgia, and 25% less than the U.S. average penalty for a reckless driving violation.


GEORGIA AUTO INSURANCE PRICES WITH A RECKLESS DRIVING CITATION
LocationWith Reckless Driving — Annual RateNo Reckless Driving — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
Georgia$2,136$1,388$748
National Average$2,395$1,397$998

If you're ticketed for reckless driving, compare insurance companies to get the cheapest rate. In Georgia, the cheapest auto insurance company with a reckless driving ticket is Georgia Farm Bureau.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A RECKLESS DRIVING TICKET IN GEORGIA — AFFORDABLE PROVIDERS
CompanyAnnual Rate With Reckless Driving
Georgia Farm Bureau$1,050
USAA$1,598
GEICO$1,955
Allstate$2,053
State Farm$2,665

If you're looking for auto insurance as a high-risk driver, the best thing to do is to do plenty of research and find a policy that fits you.


Compare rates now!


Georgia Driving Laws

Traffic laws in Georgia are intended to prevent destruction, injury, and death via speeding, reckless and distracted driving, and racing. Georgia's driving laws define responsibility and penalties for causing and being involved in accidents, particularly those in which a driver is uninsured.

 

Speeding in Georgia

When Are You Speeding In Georgia?

Drivers are speeding in Georgia when their speeds exceed:

  • 30 miles per hour in urban or residential districts
  • 35 miles per hour on unpaved county roads unless posted signs specify otherwise
  • 70 miles per hour on a rural interstate
  • 65 miles per hour on an urban interstate or on a multi-lane divided highway
  • 55 miles per hour in other locations

Drivers must also reduce and alter speeds in Georgia in accordance with road conditions and any special hazards, such as inclement weather.

Speed limits may be altered in certain locations and jurisdictions, so drivers are advised to pay attention to and follow posted speed limits.

Local authorities may also decrease the speed limit:

  • At intersections
  • To no less than 30 miles per hour outside of an urban or residential district
  • To no less than 25 miles per hour inside of an urban or residential district
  • In any situation where a special hazard or condition exists

Drivers in Georgia are not permitted to drive at so slow a speed as to impede the normal and reasonable flow of traffic, except in situations in which a special hazard exists.

Penalties for Speeding In Georgia

The penalties for speeding in Georgia are based on the amount by which a violator exceeded the speed limit.

Speeding in Georgia is a misdemeanor and may possibly result in jail time. In general, most motorists are simply fined instead. Base penalties for a first offense often start at:

  • $25 in fines for speeding five to 10 miles per hour over the limit
  • $100 in fines for speeding 11 to 14 miles per hour over the limit
  • $125 in fines and two points against a driver’s license for speeding 15 to 18 miles per hour over the limit
  • $150 in fines and three points against a driver’s license for speeding 19 to 23 miles per hour over the limit
  • $500 in fines and four points against a driver’s license for speeding 24 to 33 miles per hour over the limit

Penalties may be increased depending on additional fines and fees, and may also include mandatory attendance in a defensive driving course.

Speeding in highway work zones results in enhanced penalties, ranging from $100 to $2, 000 in fines and up to one year in jail.

Driving in excess of 85 miles per hour on a road or highway or 75 miles per hour on a two-lane road or highway will result in a violator being classified as a “super speeder” in Georgia. Super speeders are subject to an additional $200 state fee. Failure to pay this fine in a timely manner will result in a license suspension and $50 reinstatement fee.

 

Reckless Driving in Georgia

What Is Reckless Driving in Georgia?

Drivers are guilty of reckless driving in Georgia when driving a vehicle in “reckless disregard for the safety of persons and property.”

Multiple factors may contribute toward a driver being charged with reckless driving in Georgia, including:

  • Speeding
  • DUI
  • Tailgating
  • Racing
  • Disobeying traffic laws
  • Driving a vehicle that is dangerous or not roadworthy

A driver is guilty of aggressive driving in Georgia when driving a vehicle with the intent to annoy, harass, molest, intimidate, injure, or obstruct another person — not just another driver.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Georgia

Reckless driving in Georgia is a misdemeanor and results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $1, 000 in fines
  • Four points on driver’s license

Reckless driving that leads to serious injury or death may result in felony charges in Georgia.

Aggressive driving in Georgia is a misdemeanor of an aggravated nature, leading to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $5, 000 in fines
  • Six points on driver’s license

 

Distracted Driving in Georgia

What is Distracted Driving in Georgia?

Distracted driving in Georgia constitutes any activities which impact a driver’s visual, manual, or cognitive focus, including:

  • Eating
  • Talking
  • Grooming
  • Using a wireless device
  • Petting an animal

Distracted driving in Georgia can result in a driver being found at-fault for an accident, too.

The newHands-Free Georgia Actprohibits drivers from even holding wireless devices while driving. Drivers in Georgia cannot have their phone or wireless device touching any part of their body, but are allowed to use hands-free technology, such as a mounting device, headset, or voice activation.

Drivers are, however, permitted to use a single touch to dial a number or receive a call. Drivers are not allowed to film or watch videos, text, email, or otherwise enter any information into their device while driving.

Drivers under 18 years old in Georgia are not allowed to use any sort of wireless device while driving.

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Georgia

Penalties for a first-time distracted driving conviction in Georgia are:

  • $50 in fines
  • One point against driver’s license

First-time offenders are eligible to have their charges dropped if they present the court proof of purchase of a device or technology that allows hands-free usage of a wireless device (such as a car mount).

A second distracted driving conviction within two years in Georgia results in:

  • $100 in fines
  • Two points against driver’s license

A third or subsequent conviction for distracted driving within two years in Georgia leads to:

  • $150 in fines
  • Three points against driver’s license

Drivers younger than 18 years old are subject to a $150 fine. Drivers who are found guilty of distracted driving leading to an accident are subject to a fine of $300, in addition to other fines and penalties.

 

Racing in Georgia

What is Racing in Georgia?

Racing in Georgia is defined as the use of one or more vehicles “in an attempt to outgain, outdistance, or prevent another vehicle from passing, to arrive at a given destination ahead of another vehicle or vehicles, or to test the physical stamina or endurance of drivers over long-distance driving routes.”

Drag racing in Georgia involves the use of two or more vehicles “from a point side by side at accelerated speeds in a competitive attempt to outdistance each other or the operation of one or more vehicles over a common selected course from the same point to the same point for the purpose of comparing the relative speeds or power of acceleration of such vehicle or vehicles within a certain distance or time limit.”

Driving or participating in any form of race, speeding contest, speed exhibition, or other competition of speed is illegal in Georgia.

Penalties for Racing in Georgia

Racing in Georgia is considered a misdemeanor and results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $1, 000 in fines
  • Points against driver’s license
  • Possible license suspension
  • Possible impound of vehicle

Drivers under 21 years old are subject to harsher penalties for racing in Georgia, including:

  • License suspension for six months for a first offense
  • License suspension for one year for a second or subsequent offense

Those who commit a third offense within five years for racing in Georgia are deemed “habitual violators” and will have their license revoked.

 

At-fault Accidents in Georgia

What is An At-fault Accident in Georgia?

Georgia is a fault-based state and uses a system of comparative fault to assign blame and liability for an accident. One or more drivers may be assigned a percentage of fault for an accident, and any compensation they are entitled to is reduced by the amount they are at-fault for an accident.

Drivers who are found at least 50 percent at-fault for an accident in Georgia are not able to recover any damages or compensation.

Following an accident in Georgia, drivers must pull over to render aid, if able and necessary. Law enforcement must also be contacted immediately if the accident resulted in injury, death, or property damage exceeding $500.

The required minimum car insurance coverage limits in Georgia are:

  • $25, 000 per person
  • $50, 000 per occurrence
  • $25, 000 for property damage

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Georgia

Driving without insurance in Georgia is a misdemeanor and results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $200 to $1, 000 in fines
  • License suspension for 60 to 90 days
  • Possible vehicle impoundment

Being found guilty of a first-time hit-and-run accident in Georgia is a misdemeanor and leads to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $300 to $1, 000 in fines

A second conviction for a hit-and-run in Georgia within a five-year period is a misdemeanor and results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $600 to $1, 000 in fines

A third or subsequent conviction for committing a hit-and-run in Georgia within a five-year period of a previous conviction is a misdemeanor and leads to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $1, 000 in fines

An accident resulting in serious injury or death may result in felony charges and an expanded jail sentence and fines.

 

Sources and references:

Don't forget to share!