Hawaii Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are convicted of DUI in Hawaii, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it is just a question of how large your penalty will be. Hawaii auto insurance premiums are affected significantly by your DUI history, when measured against all other US states.


How does a DUI alter auto insurance premiums in Hawaii?

In Hawaii, a DUI conviction will lift your yearly car insurance cost by an average of $2,645. That’s 61% more than the United States average rate increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN HAWAII — MEAN ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Hawaii$1,079.04$3,723.69245%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Purchasing car insurance in Hawaii with a DUI

Finding affordable auto coverage with a DUI offense isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI generally triggers a bigger premium increase than any other driving transgression — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident. Hawaii is an extremely unfortunate place in which to commit a DUI: its car insurance penalties are among America's stiffest.


Best car insurance after a DUI in Hawaii

If you have been found guilty of a DUI or DWI violation in Hawaii, it’s critical to consider available insurance possibilities carefully. Car insurance prices after a DUI can vary widely depending on the insurer. For instance, the cheapest auto insurance company with a DUI in Hawaii, State Farm, offers annual prices 73% more affordable than the statewide average insurance premium with a DUI. The next-cheapest option for car insurance after a DUI in Hawaii is USAA, while the most expensive insurer is Farmers, at 171% more than average.


AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS WITH DUI IN HAWAII — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
State Farm$1,012
USAA$1,774
Progressive$2,316
Allstate$3,466
GEICO$4,983
Farmers$10,105

There’s no car insurer specifically that provides cheap DUI car insurance. The most effective way to save after a DUI citation is to shop around.

Find quotes via The Zebra or contact your insurance expert to assess the choices and find a cost-effective policy.

Read more on car insurance options after a DUI conviction.


Compare rates and find cheap DUI car insurance today!


Hawaii DUI laws

Drivers are deemed to be DUI in Hawaii if their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI with a BAC of 0.04% and those under 21 years old are DUI if their BAC measures 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Hawaii

Hawaii's lookback period is five years. Multiple DUI offenses within this period enhance the penalties of driving under the influence.

First-time DUI offenses in Hawaii lead to:

  • Generally no jail time, but the possibility of two to five days in jail
  • $150 to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to one year license revocation
  • $25 fee toward a neurotrauma special fund
  • $25 fee toward a trauma system special fund
  • Possibility of 72 hours of community service
  • Possibility of participation in a substance abuse program
  • Vehicle is impounded

A second DUI offense in Hawaii results in:

  • Five to 30 days in jail
  • $500 to $1,500 in fines
  • License revocation for up to two years
  • $25 fee toward a neurotrauma special fund
  • $25 fee toward a trauma system special fund
  • Possibility of up to 240 hours of community service
  • Attendance in a substance abuse program
  • Vehicle is impounded

Third-time DUI offenders in Hawaii are subject to:

  • 10 to 30 days in jail
  • $500 to $2,500 in fines
  • License revocation for up to two years
  • $25 fee toward a neurotrauma special fund
  • $25 fee toward a trauma system special fund
  • Vehicle is impounded

Repeated DUI offenses in Hawaii will result in the violator being declared a habitual offender. Additional offenses are treated as class C felonies and can lead to a lifetime revocation of an offender's driver's license. A habitual offender's vehicle may also be forfeited to the state.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Hawaii

Anyone less than 21 years old suspected of driving under the influence or found to have a measurable BAC is considered DUI in Hawaii.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Pay a fine between $50 and $500
  • Need to attend an alcohol abuse education/counseling program for up to 10 hours (a parent/guardian must attend as well if offender is under 18 years old)
  • Have a 180-day license suspension (30 day absolute suspension if 18 or older, 150 days limited suspension for work/counseling)
  • May be required to perform up to 36 hours of community service

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • $300 to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspended for one year
  • Up to 50 hours of community service

A third underage DUI offense in Hawaii results in:

  • $300 to $1,000 in fines
  • Two-year license revocation
  • Up to 100 hours of community service

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/hi-hawaii/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.dmv.com/hi/hawaii/dui-dwi

https://dui.drivinglaws.org/hawaii.php

https://www.duiprocess.com/state/HI/duilaws.php

http://www.duiarresthelp.com/states/hawaii/dui-first-offense.php

https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/hawaii-dui-dwi-33646.html

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/hawaii.html

https://www.criminalandmilitarydefensehawaii.com/DUI/Underage-DUI.aspx

Don't forget to share!