Indiana Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Indiana, your car insurance is going to become pricier — it's just a question of by how much. Fortunately, Indiana auto insurance rates are comparatively unaffected by your history of serious driving violations, compared against other American states.


In what way does being convicted of DUI impact car insurance costs in Indiana?

In Indiana, a DUI violation can boost your annual auto insurance cost by a mean value of $509. That’s substantially less than the nationwide average rate jump after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN INDIANA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Indiana$1,133.22$1,642.4544%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Shopping for car insurance in Indiana with a DUI violation

Purchasing inexpensive car insurance soon after a DUI violation is not easy. In fact, a DUI typically results in a bigger cost increase than any other driving violation — more than reckless driving, racing, or an at-fault accident.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Indiana

If you have been convicted of a driving under the influence offense in Indiana, it’s essential to consider your insurance options thoughtfully. Car insurance prices with a DUI can vary widely by company. For instance, the best cheap auto insurance company after a DUI in Indiana, Indiana Farmers Mutual Insurance, offers yearly premiums 46% below the statewide average insurance premium with a DUI conviction. The next-most affordable choice for car insurance after a DUI in Indiana is Erie, while the most expensive firm is GEICO, at 36% above average.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS WITH DUI IN INDIANA — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
Indiana Farmers$881
Erie$995
Farmers$1,113
Progressive$1,125
State Farm$1,165
American Family$1,836
Allstate$2,178
GEICO$2,236

There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers low-cost DUI car insurance. The best way to limit your losses in the wake of a DUI citation is to look at multiple options.


Indiana DUI laws

Indiana considers drivers to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Indiana with a BAC of just 0.04%. Additionally, those under the legal drinking age of 21 are DUI if their BAC reads a mere 0.02% or higher.

Drivers whose BAC reads 0.15% or higher are declared “habitual offenders,” even if it's their first DUI offense. This designation is also given to those who continue to receive DUI charges in lieu of the penalties.


DUI penalties in Indiana

Indiana does not have a typical lookback period. Courts consider a driver's five-year and ten-year conviction history when determining a sentence and penalties.

In Indiana, anyone found to have a BAC of 0.08% or higher will have their license suspended for a minimum of 30 days.

First-time DUI offenses in Indiana lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • A license suspension of up to two years
  • Possible attendance in a substance abuse education course
  • Possible requirement to attend a victim impact panel
  • Possible submission to urine testing
  • Towing and impound of the vehicle

A second DUI offense in Indiana results in:

  • Five days to three years in jail
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • A suspended license for for 180 days to two years
  • Possible requirement to perform community service
  • Possible attendance in a substance abuse education course
  • Possible requirement to attend a victim impact panel
  • Possible submission to urine testing
  • Towing and impound of the vehicle

Third-time DUI offenders in Indiana are subject to:

  • 10 days to three years in jail
  • Up to $10,000 to in fines
  • A suspended license for one to 10 years
  • Possibly declared a habitual offender (and an increased jail time of one to eight years)
  • Possible requirement to perform community service
  • Possible attendance in a substance abuse education course
  • Possible requirement to attend a victim impact panel
  • Possible submission to urine testing
  • Towing and impound of the vehicle

Habitual offenders in Indiana are subject to enhanced penalties and jail time. Multiple DUI offenses that lead to injury or death may result in a permanent lifetime revocation of a driver's license.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Indiana

Drivers under 21 years old whose BAC reads between 0.02% and 0.08% are considered DUI in Indiana.

Penalties for an underage DUI in Indiana are:

  • Fines up to $500
  • Suspended license for up to one year

If an underage driver's BAC is 0.08% or higher, they are subject to the same penalties as a driver of legal drinking age.

Sources and references:

https://www.in.gov/cji/2385.htm

https://www.dmv.org/in-indiana/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/indiana.html

Find pricing information via The Zebra or contact an insurance agent to gauge your choices and find a reasonable plan.

Read more on car insurance options with a DUI conviction.

Find cheap car insurance with a DUI today — compare rates!

Don't forget to share!