Iowa Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you happen to are convicted of DUI in Iowa, your auto insurance will get pricier — it's just a question of how large the penalty will be. Luckily, Iowa car insurance rates are not altered too substantially by your rap sheet of serious driving violations, compared to all other American states.


How does getting a DUI alter car insurance in Iowa?

In Iowa, a DUI conviction will increase your annual auto insurance rate by a mean of $671. That’s 52% less than the national average rate increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN IOWA — MEAN YEARLY PREMIUM
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Iowa$1,014.64$1,685.1666%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

How to find auto insurance coverage in Iowa with a DUI

Finding cheap auto insurance in the wake of a DUI violation isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI generally leads to a larger premium increase than any other driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Iowa

If you are convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Iowa, it’s critical to consider all possible insurance choices judiciously. Car insurance rates following a DUI can vary substantially depending on the insurer. For example, the cheapest auto insurance company with a DUI in Iowa, State Farm, provides yearly prices 43% better than the state average insurance price after a DUI violation. The next-most affordable insurer for car insurance after a DUI in Iowa is GEICO, while the most expensive firm is Nationwide, with rates 52% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A DUI IN IOWA — BY INSURER
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
State Farm$963
GEICO$1,448
Progressive$1,659
Iowa Farm Bureau$1,791
American Family$1,894
Allstate$1,930
Grinnell Mutual$2,001
Nationwide$2,568

There’s no car insurance company in particular that offers inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The most effective way to save money after a DUI conviction is to shop around.

Get rate info on the Internet or reach out to an insurance agent to assess the choices and find a reasonable DUI insurance policy.

Find out more about car insurance after a DUI.


Find affordable DUI car insurance today!


Iowa DUI rules

Iowa considers drivers to be DUI — or OWI (operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or drugged) — when their blood alcohol concentration is measured at 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are OWI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Iowa is a zero-tolerance state. Those under the legal drinking age of 21 are considered OWI when their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.


OWI penalties in Iowa

In Iowa, a driver's first OWI offense is considered a serious misdemeanor. A second offense is declared an aggravated misdemeanor. Third and subsequent OWI offenses are class D felonies.

The OWI lookback period in Iowa is 12 years. Repeated OWI offenses will result in harsher sentences and penalties.

In all cases, drivers convicted of an OWI in Iowa must:

  • Complete a course for driving under the influence
  • Complete a substance abuse evaluation and treatment or undergo rehabilitation

First-time OWI offenses in Iowa lead to:

  • 48 hours to one year in jail
  • $1,250 in fines (possibility of a waiver of up to $625 if the DUI did not cause injury or damage)
  • 180-day license revocation
  • Possibility of being assigned to complete community service
  • Vehicle may be impounded for 180 days
  • Interlock ignition device required if BAC reads 0.10% or higher

A second OWI offense in Iowa results in:

  • Seven days to two years in prison
  • $1,875 to $6,250 in fines
  • License revoked for one year
  • Vehicle may be impounded for 180 days or duration of license revocation, whichever is longer
  • Vehicle seized and forfeited to the state if driving on a revoked license
  • IID required for a minimum of one year

For the third and subsequent OWI offenses in Iowa, violators are subject to:

  • 30 days to five years in prison
  • $3,125 to $9,375 in fines
  • License revoked for up to six years
  • Vehicle may be impounded for 180 days or duration of license revocation, whichever is longer
  • Vehicle seized and forfeited to the state if driving on a revoked license
  • IID required for a minimum of one year

OWI leading to injury or death enhances the penalties and jail time that must be served by the offender.


OWI penalties for underage drinkers in Iowa

Iowa is a zero-tolerance state for OWI. Drivers under 18 years old will have their licenses revoked until the revocation expires or until they turn 18, whichever period is longer.

Those charged with underage OWI are prohibited from applying for a temporary restricted license during the period their license is revoked.

An underage OWI offender whose BAC reads lower than 0.08% will have their license revoked for 60 days for a first offense and 90 days for any subsequent offenses. They will also be responsible for paying a $200 fine.

First-time underage OWI offenders may be required to attend a substance abuse awareness program.

Sources and references:

http://www.dps.state.ia.us/commis/gtsb/pdfs/IowasOWI.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/ia-iowa/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/iowa.html

Don't forget to share!