Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers in Kansas

The Zebra
April 26, 2019

If you caused a crash, filed an insurance claim, or received a citation for a major violation, you could be a good candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance for high-risk drivers is usually expensive, but the degree of price increase you face depends on your company, your driving record, and the location in which you reside.

What goes into auto insurance rates for high-risk drivers in Kansas:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. View Kansas driving laws

 

Car insurance after an at-fault collision in Kansas

If you're found responsible for an auto collision, you can expect your car insurance rates to go up. In Kansas, the mean insurance rate following an at-fault crash is $1,873, compared to the nationwide mean of $2,012. A major incident such as an at-fault collision will remain on your insurance record for as long as three years!

 

KANSAS AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER AN AT-FAULT COLLISION
LocationWith At-Fault Accident — Annual RateNo At-Fault Accident — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
Kansas$1,873$1,427$446
National Average$2,012$1,397$615

 

The best insurance company following an at-fault crash in Kansas is American Family. American Family’s typical premium increase after a crash is $665, leading to a premium 36 percent less expensive than the average among all car insurance companies. If you've been at-fault in a collision in Kansas, avoid Farmers and Allstate, which are on the pricier end of the spectrum.

 
AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER AN AT-FAULT COLLISION IN KANSAS — CHEAP PROVIDERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With an At-Fault Collision
American Family$1,208
Farm Bureau$1,512
Nationwide$1,954
Farmers$2,093
Allstate$2,105

 

Does a speeding ticket increase car insurance rates in Kansas?

One of the ways in which drivers earn the "high-risk" tag is speeding. In Kansas, you can expect to see your rates rise by $274 per year after a speeding ticket, to an average per-year price of $1,701.

 
KANSAS AUTO INSURANCE PRICES AFTER A SPEEDING TICKET
StateWith a Speeding Ticket — Annual RateNo Speeding Ticket — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
Kansas$1,701$1,427$274
National Average$1,727$1,397$330

The foolproof way to find cheap insurance after a speeding ticket is to shop thoroughly and weigh the options. The cheapest auto insurance with a speeding ticket in Kansas is available via USAA. USAA’s average rate after a citation is $830 less than the state typical. If you have been ticketed for speeding in Kansas, State Farm might not be the most affordable option.

CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A SPEEDING TICKET IN KANSAS — AFFORDABLE COMPANIES
Insurance CompanyAnnual Premium After a Speeding Violation
USAA$871
American Family$1,048
Farm Bureau$1,132
Nationwide$1,322
State Farm$1,635

 

 

How does a distracted driving ticket impact car insurance prices in Kansas?

If you are found guilty of distracted driving, expect your car insurance to get more expensive. In Kansas, auto insurance rates typically increase by $80 per year. That's a 6% increase from the average annual premium in Kansas, and 54% less than the national average cost of car insurance with a distracted driving offense.

 
KANSAS CAR INSURANCE PRICES AFTER A DISTRACTED DRIVING TICKET
LocationWith Distracted Driving — Annual RateNo Distracted Driving — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Kansas$1,507$1,427$80
National Average$1,570$1,397$173

The best way to get affordable car insurance in the wake of a distracted driving ticket is to compare policies from different carriers. The least expensive insurer after being ticketed for distracted driving in Kansas is USAA, with an average rate of only $871 per year, 42% less than the average distracted driving insurance premium among top insurers.

 
AUTO INSURANCE COSTS AFTER DISTRACTED DRIVING IN KANSAS — CHEAP PROVIDERS
InsurerAnnual Rate After Distracted Driving
USAA$871
Nationwide$1,039
American Family$1,048
Farm Bureau$1,248
State Farm$1,416

 

How does a ticket for racing impact Kansas car insurance prices?

Racing is considered an extremely serious offense. Car insurance companies usually penalize racing convictions severely — in fact, Kansas auto insurance premiums go up by $476 annually after a ticket for racing. That is a 33% increase from the usual yearly auto insurance premium in Kansas!

 

LocationWith a Racing Citation — Annual RateNo Racing Citation — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Kansas$1,903$1,427$476
National Average$2,397$1,397$1,000

 

If you have been cited for racing, do your due diligence and find the most affordable rates. In Kansas, grab a quote from American Family, with premiums 45 percent less than the state average after a racing citation.

 
AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER A RACING CITATION IN KANSAS — CHEAPEST COMPANIES
InsurerAnnual Rate After Racing
American Family$1,048
USAA$1,075
State Farm$1,635
Farm Bureau$1,714
Nationwide$2,016

 

How reckless driving affects car insurance rates in Kansas

Among the most serious moving violations, reckless driving is a surefire way to pay more for car insurance. Auto insurance companies increase rates by $466 each year after reckless driving. That amounts to 33% higher than the typical car insurance rate in Kansas, and 54% less than the national average price increase for a reckless driving violation.

 
KANSAS AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER RECKLESS DRIVING
LocationWith Reckless Driving — Annual RateNo Reckless Driving — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
Kansas$1,893$1,427$466
National Average$2,395$1,397$998

 

If you're ticketed for reckless driving, you should shop around to find the cheapest price. In Kansas, the most affordable insurance company with a reckless driving ticket is American Family.

 
AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER A RECKLESS DRIVING CITATION IN KANSAS — AFFORDABLE PROVIDERS
InsurerAnnual Rate After Reckless Driving
American Family$1,048
USAA$1,075
State Farm$1,635
Farm Bureau$1,714
Nationwide$2,016

 

If you are seeking auto insurance as a high-risk driver, the best option is to do your research and find the policy that fits.

 

Find an insurance policy today!

 

Kansas Driving Laws

If you’re a driver in Kansas, there are certain things that you need to know, like how fast you can go on interstate highways or the consequences of driving without the proper insurance coverage. By equipping yourself with this knowledge, you can help keep yourself and others safe and potentially avoid nasty penalties that come from finding yourself on the wrong side of the law.

 

Speeding in Kansas

When Are You Speeding in Kansas?

Because of its vast, expansive plains, it’s easy for drivers in Kansas to occasionally find their speedometers creeping past the legal limit. Speeding laws in Kansas are put in place in order to keep road conditions safe for drivers and pedestrians alike. The state of Kansas asks that drivers not exceed a speed that is “reasonable and prudent” for the conditions present.

In general, you are speeding in Kansas if you are going over these basic limits:

  • 75 mph on multi-lane highways as designated by the State Secretary of Transportation
  • 65 mph on all other highways except a county or township highway
  • 55 mph on county or township highway
  • 30 mph in urban districts

It’s important to remember that local authorities can adopt these laws as they see fit, so make sure that you are aware of the speed limits in the area in which you’re driving.

Penalties for Speeding in Kansas

The basic fine for a speed violation is $60. However, that is just a starting point. Fines are added to that basic fee depending on how far over the limit the driver goes. On top of the initial $60 fine, you can expect the following penalties:

  • 1-10 mph over the speed limit: $30
  • 11-20 mph over the limit: $30 plus $6 for every mile over 10 mph
  • 21-30 mph over the limit: $90 plus $9 for every mile over 20 mph
  • 31 mph or more: $180 plus $15 for every mile above 30 mph

Also, the fines for speeding in a school or construction zone are doubled. Furthermore, if caught speeding in Kansas, you can also have your driver’s license revoked if you meet the following criteria:

  • You commit numerous serious traffic law violations that show blatant disrespect for the traffic laws
  • You have been convicted of three or more moving traffic law violations within a 12 month period

 

Reckless Driving in Kansas

What is Reckless Driving in Kansas?

Reckless driving in Kansas is defined as driving with “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” It can encompass many different types of behavior and is considered a misdemeanor.

It is also important to note that, unlike some states, if you are convicted of a DUI in Kansas you are not allowed to plead down to the lower charge of reckless driving. Kansas DUI laws make it mandatory for you to face the full charge of driving under the influence.

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Kansas

The consequences of Kansas reckless driving can be pretty harsh, and grow in severity with subsequent offenses. With any reckless driving conviction, there’s a chance that your license could be suspended. Other penalties are listed below.

1st offense:
  • Not less than five days or more than 90 days imprisonment
  • A fine between $25 and $500
2nd and subsequent offenses:
  • Not less than ten days or more than six months imprisonment
  • A fine between $50 and $500

 

Distracted Driving in Kansas

What is Distracted Driving in Kansas?

Distracted driving in Kansas can take many forms. For those behind the wheel, it can be something as simple as changing the radio station or, in many cases, texting from a mobile device. Generally, distracted driving is considered to be any activity that takes your mind away from the act of driving.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration defines three types of distraction that many drivers face. They include:

  • Visual: Taking your eyes off the road
  • Manual: Removing your hands from the wheel
  • Cognitive: Your mind floating to things other than driving

Kansas distracted driving laws are not so robust that speaking to fellow passengers is illegal, but they do forbid certain activities while driving. All drivers, for instance, are prohibited from texting while driving. Furthermore, drivers between the ages of 14 and 17 are prohibited from even speaking on a mobile device while behind the wheel.

Penalties for Distracted Driving in Kansas

The penalty for texting and driving in Kansas carries is a $60 fine. However, depending on the circumstances, your distracted driving charge could be elevated to reckless driving if the situation warrants it. In the event that distracted driving causes another person’s death, drivers could even face a charge of vehicular homicide.

 

Racing in Kansas

What Constitutes Racing in Kansas?

The law is pretty clear when it comes to racing in Kansas. The state says that drivers are not to participate in a race, which can also be defined as the following:

  • Speed competition or contest
  • Drag race or acceleration contest
  • Test of physical endurance
  • Exhibition of speed or acceleration
  • Attempts of making a speed record

Penalties for Racing in Kansas

Even with all those flat, open spaces, Kansas racing laws are quite strict. These laws are put in place to protect both motorists and pedestrians, and the consequences for breaking them can be harsh. The penalties for racing in Kansas increase with subsequent violations and can be broken down as follows:

1st offense:
  • Considered a class C misdemeanor
  • Up to one month in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
2nd offense (within one year)
  • Considered a class B misdemeanor
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
3rd or subsequent offenses (within one year of the first offense)
  • Considered a class A misdemeanor
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,500 in fines

 

At-fault Accidents in Kansas

What is an At-fault Accident in Kansas?

If you are wondering how at-fault accidents in Kansas are handled, you should know that the state’s laws are slightly different than most. Kansas is one of about a dozen states that uses what is known as “no-fault” car insurance. This means that your own personal injury protection (PIP) coverage pays your medical bills and specific out-of-pocket expenses regardless of who is at fault.

Kansas requires that all drivers carry mandatory no-fault personal injury protection with these minimums:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage or loss

Benefits available to anyone making a no-fault/PIP claim include:

  • $4,500 per person for medical expenses
  • $900 per month for up to one year for disability or loss of income
  • $25 per day for in-home services you’re unable to perform due to injury
  • $2,000 for funeral, burial, or cremation expenses
  • $4,500 for rehabilitation

This coverage does cover many expenses, but it does not compensate you for “pain and suffering” or for other non-monetary damages that occur due to the accident. This coverage pertains specifically to economic losses and medical expenses. Vehicle damages can still be the responsibility of the at-fault driver.

Penalties for At-fault Accidents in Kansas

While PIP coverage takes care of injuries no matter who is at fault, it doesn’t mean that you are free and clear if you are responsible for the accident. If you caused the accident and the injured driver (or their passengers) suffers losses that exceed the limits of your policy, you can be held personally responsible for making up the difference. Essentially, you can still be sued for damages.

If you were responsible for the accident, the injured party can step outside of the no-fault system if they exceed their PIP coverage for medical expenses or if their injuries qualify as serious. The state of Kansas defines “serious injuries” as one of the following:

  • Permanent disfigurement
  • The fracture of a weight-bearing bone
  • Compound, compressed, or displaced fracture of any bone
  • Permanent injury
  • Permanent loss of a body function

Having the right coverage can help you avoid out-of-pocket expenses, but what happens if you drive without any insurance coverage at all? Any driver in Kansas must maintain proof of insurance. Should you be caught driving without insurance in Kansas, you can expect a harsh penalty. The consequences of not adhering to this rule include:

  • Maintaining an SR-22 filing for twelve months
  • Fines between $300 and $1,000 (or between $800 and $2,500 for subsequent convictions)
  • Higher insurance rates in the future

Three such convictions within a five-year period will lead to the revocation of your license for a period of three years.  

 

Sources and references:

 

Compare car insurance today!