Kansas Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Kansas, your car insurance is going to be more expensive — it's just a matter of how large the penalty will be. Fortunately, Kansas auto insurance prices are relatively unaffected by one's history of serious driving violations, versus all US states.


How does getting a DUI impact auto insurance premiums in Kansas?

In Kansas, a DUI can raise your annual car insurance rate by a mean value of $643. That’s 59% less than the national mean rate jump after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN KANSAS — AVERAGE YEARLY PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Kansas $1,426.67 $2,069.27 45%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Finding car insurance in Kansas with a DUI violation

Finding cheap auto insurance soon after a DUI conviction isn’t straightforward. In fact, a DUI often triggers a larger cost increase than does any single driving infraction — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Kansas

If you've been found guilty of a DWI or DUI offense in Kansas, it’s critical to weigh your insurance possibilities carefully. Car insurance costs after a DUI can fluctuate substantially depending on the company. For example, the cheapest car insurance company after a DUI in Kansas, American Family, offers yearly premiums 47% less than the statewide average insurance price after a DUI violation. The next-most affordable choice for car insurance after a DUI in Kansas is Farmers, while the most expensive insurer is Shelter, with rates 47% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER A DUI IN KANSAS — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
State Farm $1,095
Farmers $1,975
Progressive $1,979
State Farm $2,357
Allstate $2,433
Iowa Farm Bureau $2,577
Nationwide $2,915
Shelter $3,044

There is no car insurance company specifically that sells inexpensive DUI car insurance. The best way to save after a DUI violation is to shop around.

Find rate info through The Zebra or contact an insurance professional to assess your choices and find the cheapest option.

Read more on car insurance with a DUI.


Looking for cheaper insurance after a DUI? Compare rates today!


Kansas DUI laws

Kansas considers drivers DUI if their blood alcohol concentration measures a 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Kansas if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

As a zero-tolerance state, Kansas considers those under the legal age of 21 to be DUI if their BAC measures a 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Kansas

Kansas applies enhanced penalties for DUIs involving:

  • Passengers who are younger than 14 in a car driven by someone who is DUI
  • BAC readings of 0.15% or higher
  • DUIs that cause accidents, injuries, or death

Kansas recently lowered its lookback period from considering a lifetime of past DUI offenses to a period of 10 years.

First-time DUI offenses in Kansas lead to:

  • 48 hours to six months in jail
  • $750 to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 30 days
  • Restricted license for 330 days following suspension
  • Possible requirement to perform 100 hours of community service
  • Required completion of an alcohol safety education or treatment program
  • Possible vehicle impoundment for up to one year

A second DUI offense in Kansas results in:

  • 90 days to one year in prison (five days must be consecutive)
  • $1,250 to $1,750 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Must use an ignition interlock device for one year after license suspension
  • Required completion of an alcohol safety education or treatment program
  • Possible vehicle impoundment for up to one year

A third DUI offense in Kansas is a felony. Penalties for a third offense are:

  • 90 days (minimum) to one year in prison
  • $1,750 to $2,500 to in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Must use an IID for one year after license suspension
  • Required completion of an alcohol safety education or treatment program
  • Possible vehicle impoundment for up to one year

Like the third DUI offense, a fourth DUI in Kansas is a felony and is punished by:

  • 90 days (minimum) to one year in prison
  • A $2,500 fine
  • License suspension for one year
  • Must use an IID for one year after license suspension
  • Transferred to custody of the Secretary of the Department of Corrections after release for one year of supervision and required to complete an alcohol safety education or treatment program
  • Possible vehicle impoundment for up to one year

Five or more DUI offenses result in the same penalties as a fourth, with the added penalty of a permanent lifetime driver's license revocation.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Kansas

Kansas is a zero-tolerance state. Those under the age of 21 and found to have a BAC of 0.02% or higher are considered DUI.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Receive a license suspension for 30 days
  • Be given restricted driving privileges for 330 days, requiring an IID

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • A one-year suspended license

Sources and references:

https://www.ksdot.org/burtrafficsaf/brochures/pdf/duibrochure05.pdf

https://www.ksdot.org/burTrafficSaf/brochures/pdf/ksduilaws.pdf

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/kansas.html

https://www.dmv.org/ks-kansas/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.crammlawfirm.com/kansas-law-has-recently-changed-the-look-back-period-for-dui-offenses-from-lifetime-to-ten-years/

Don't forget to share!