Kentucky Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Kentucky, your car insurance is going to become more expensive — it's only a question of how much you'll end up paying. Kentucky auto insurance rates are impacted an average amount by one's DUI history, when measured against other American states.


How will a DUI affect car insurance in Kentucky?

In Kentucky, a DUI will boost your annual car insurance premium by an average of $1,064. That’s 4% more than the national average rate jump following a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN KENTUCKY — MEAN ANNUAL COST
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Kentucky$2,050.40$3,114.5151%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

How to find auto insurance in Kentucky after a DUI conviction

Finding affordable auto insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI generally brings about a larger cost increase than any single driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Kentucky

If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in Kentucky, it’s critical to consider each of your insurance options thoroughly. Car insurance costs after a DUI can vary widely by company. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Kentucky, Safe Auto, offers yearly rates 16% more affordable than the statewide mean insurance premium with a DUI violation. The next-most affordable option for auto insurance with a DUI in Kentucky is Progressive, and the most expensive firm is Shelter, with rates 123% above average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN KENTUCKY — BY PROVIDER
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
Safe Auto$2,604
Kentucky Farm Bureau$2,641
Progressive$3,340
GEICO$3,524
Allstate$3,756
Liberty Mutual$3,792
State Farm$4,209
Shelter$6,945

There’s no auto insurance company specifically offering cheap DUI car insurance. The most effective way to limit your losses after a DUI violation is to compare policies.

Get quotes on the Internet or reach out to an insurance expert to gauge the choices and find a sensible option.

Read more about auto insurance after a DUI violation.


Save on DUI car insurance today!


Kentucky DUI rules

Kentucky considers a driver to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration reads 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI if their BAC measures 0.04% or higher. As a zero-tolerance state, those under 21 years old are DUI if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Kentucky

Kentucky's lookback period was recently increased to ten years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe lead to stricter penalties.

Additionally, a DUI is considered “aggravated” and penalties are enhanced when:

  • Children under 12 years old are passengers driven by someone who is DUI
  • A car is driving more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
  • A car is driven in the wrong direction
  • The driver's BAC reads 0.15% or higher
  • Serious injury or death results from DUI

First-time DUI offenses in Kentucky lead to:

  • Two to 30 days in jail
  • $200 to $500 in fines
  • A license suspension for 30 to 120 days
  • 90 days of attendance in an alcohol or substance abuse program

A second DUI offense in Kentucky results in:

  • Seven days to six months in jail
  • $350 to $500 in fines
  • 12 to 18 months license suspension
  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License plates are forfeited to the court
  • Possible requirement of an ignition interlock device after completion of the suspension period

Third-time DUI offenders in Kentucky are subject to:

  • 30 days to one year in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 to in fines
  • License suspension for two to three years
  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License plates are forfeited to the court
  • Possible requirement of an ignition interlock device after completion of the suspension period

For four or more DUI offenses in Kentucky, penalties are:

  • One to five years in prison
  • $1,000 to $10,000 in fines
  • License revocation for five years
  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License plates are forfeited to the court
  • Possible requirement of an ignition interlock device after completion of the suspension period

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Kentucky

In Kentucky, underage DUI offenders with BACs of 0.02% to less than 0.08% are subject to:

  • Fines of $100 to $500
  • License revocation of 30 days to six months
  • Possible requirement to perform 20 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to attend an alcohol education or treatment program for up to 90 days

Drivers under 18 years old and charged with a DUI offense will have their license revoked until they turn 18 or for as long as an adult DUI offender would, whichever period is longest.

Violators of underage DUI laws whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same penalties and fines as adults.

Sources and references:

https://drive.ky.gov/driver-licensing/Pages/DUI-Laws.aspx

https://www.dmv.org/ky-kentucky/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/kentucky.html

https://www.kentucky.com/news/politics-government/article175893996.html

https://www.danvillekylaw.com/blog/2017/10/what-parents-need-to-know-about-kentucky-underage-dui-laws.shtml

Don't forget to share!