Maine Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Maine, your car insurance is going to grow more expensive — it's just a matter of by how much. Fortunately, Maine auto insurance costs are comparatively untouched by one's history of serious driving violations, compared against all other US states.


In what way will a DUI affect car insurance in Maine?

In Maine, a DUI will lift your annual car insurance rate by a mean value of $426. That’s 139% less than the United States mean premium increase following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN MAINE — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Maine$927.02$1,352.9946%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

How to find car insurance in Maine after a DUI violation

Getting cheap auto coverage soon after a DUI conviction is far from an easy task. In fact, a DUI generally results in a more substantial cost increase than does any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Cheapest car insurance with a DUI in Maine

If you’re convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in Maine, it’s critical to review your insurance possibilities judiciously. Car insurance prices after a DUI can deviate widely depending on the insurer. For instance, the most affordable car insurance company after a DUI in Maine, State Farm, advertises annual rates 29% better than the state average insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The second-most affordable insurer for car insurance after a DUI in Maine is Concord, while the most expensive firm is Hanover, with prices 131% more than average.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER A DUI IN MAINE — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
State Farm$966
Concord$1,084
United Financial$1,194
MMG$1,314
GEICO$1,538
Progressive$1,600
Metropolitan$1,704
Allstate$1,753
Hanover$3,131

There’s no auto insurance company in particular that offers inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The recommended way to limit your losses after a DUI citation is to shop around.

Find quotes online or contact your insurance agent to weigh your choices and find a cost-effective DUI insurance policy.

Find out more about auto insurance with a DUI conviction.


Compare top companies and find affordable coverage today!


Maine DUI rules

Driving under the influence is also commonly referred to as operating under the influence, or OUI, in Maine.

You are DUI in Maine if your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are OUI with a BAC of 0.04%. As a zero-tolerance state, those under 21 years old are considered OUI with any degree of measurable BAC.


OUI penalties in Maine

The lookback period in Maine is 10 years except in the case of offenders convicted of a felony OUI. Those with a felony OUI on their record are subject to a lifetime lookback period and can expect harsher penalties for any subsequent OUIs.

In Maine, a first and second OUI offense are each class D misdemeanors. Third and subsequent OUIs are deemed class C felonies.

First-time OUI offenses in Maine lead to:

  • $500 to $2,000 in fines, plus court costs
  • License suspension of 150 days
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • One-year conditional license

A second OUI offense in Maine results in:

  • Seven days to one year in jail
  • $700 to $2,000 in fines
  • License suspension of up to three years
  • Can no longer obtain a work-restricted license or register a vehicle
  • May be required to install an IID
  • Must take part in an alcohol program
  • Ten-year conditional license

Third-time OUI offenders in Maine are subject to:

  • 30 days to five years in prison
  • $1,100 to $5,100 in fines
  • License suspension for six years
  • Required attendance in an alcohol program
  • Ten-year conditional license

A fourth OUI results in:

  • Six months to five years in prison
  • Fines between $2,100 and $5,100
  • License suspension for eight years
  • Required attendance in an alcohol program
  • Ten-year conditional license

In some cases, OUI offenders may be able to reduce the time their license is suspended by petitioning to install and use an IID.

Maine increases penalties for those convicted of an “aggravated OUI.” An aggravated OUI occurs when:

  • A driver's BAC is 0.15% or higher
  • Is driving 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
  • Attempts to evade police
  • Is transporting a passenger under 21 years old

Drivers who are convicted of three or more OUIs within five years are declared “habitual offenders.” Habitual offenders may have their license revoked indefinitely.

In Maine, driving with a suspended license subjects a driver to enhanced fines and penalties, including forfeiture and seizure of their vehicle.

An OUI leading to a fatality may lead to permanent license revocation and up to 30 years in prison.


OUI laws for underage drinkers in Maine

An underage OUI in Maine where the offender's BAC is below 0.08% results in a one-year license suspension. If transporting another passenger under 21 years old, the suspension is increased by 180 days.

Underage drivers with a BAC higher than 0.08% are subject to the same criminal penalties as an adult offender, but their license must be suspended for one year.

Sources and references:

https://www.maine.gov/dps/bhs/impaired-driving/laws.html

https://www.dmv.org/me-maine/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/maine.html

https://www.nicholschurchill.com/maine-defender/change-maines-look-back-law-ouis/

https://www.webblawmaine.com/blog/oui-offense-felony/

Don't forget to share!