Maryland Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Maryland, your car insurance will become more expensive — it's just a matter of how large the penalty will be. Fortunately, Maryland car insurance costs are comparatively unchanged by your rap sheet of serious driving violations, versus all other American states.


How does a DUI affect car insurance in Maryland?

In Maryland, a DUI conviction will raise your annual car insurance premium by an average of $392. That’s 160% less than the U.S. mean rate jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN MARYLAND — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Maryland $1,240.09 $1,631.70 46%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Getting car insurance coverage in Maryland with a DUI conviction

Purchasing inexpensive auto insurance soon after a DUI violation is far from easy. In fact, a DUI typically leads to a more substantial cost increase than any single driving transgression — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Maryland is a relatively benign place in which to be convicted of a DUI: its auto insurance rate hikes are among the US' lowest.


Cheapest auto insurance after a DUI in Maryland

If you have been found guilty of a DWI or DUI violation in Maryland, it’s crucial to mull over your insurance options carefully. Car insurance premiums with a DUI can deviate greatly by company. For instance, the least expensive auto insurance company with a DUI in Maryland, State Farm, offers yearly premiums 12% less than the statewide mean insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The second-most affordable company for car insurance after a DUI in Maryland is Nationwide, while the priciest firm is Nationwide, at -2% above average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN MARYLAND — BY PROVIDER
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
State Farm $1,444
Nationwide $1,593
Allstate $2,105
Progressive $2,124
USAA $2,133
Erie $2,174
GEICO $2,768

There’s no car insurance company in particular offering low-cost DUI auto insurance. The recommended way to limit your losses in the wake of a DUI conviction is to shop around.

Find quotes via The Zebra or contact your insurance agent to weigh the choices and find an affordable DUI insurance policy.

Read more about car insurance after a DUI conviction.


Compare rates and find insurance today!


DUI laws in Maryland

Maryland has two designations for those suspected of drinking and driving: driving under the influence, or DUI, and driving while impaired, or DWI.

Both offenses are serious and relate more to the blood alcohol concentration of a driver than the danger they pose to themselves and others.

In Maryland, you are considered DUI if your BAC is 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher. Those under the legal drinking age of 21 are DUI if their BAC measures 0.02% or higher.

You are DWI in Maryland if your BAC is 0.07% or higher. Those most often charged with a DWI are charged based on their performance on a field sobriety test. Additionally, officer observations of impairment play a role in charging a driver with a DWI.


Maryland DUI penalties

The lookback period in Maryland is five years. Multiple DUI offenses lead to enhanced penalties. Penalties are also increased for transporting a minor at the time of DUI or for a BAC of 0.15% or higher.

First-time DUI offenses in Maryland lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for up to six months
  • 12 points added to driving record
  • May be required to use an ignition interlock device

A second DUI offense in Maryland results in:

  • Five days to two years in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • License revoked for up to one year
  • 12 points added to driving record
  • Must participate in the Ignition Interlock Program
  • May be required to attend an alcohol abuse assessment and program

DWI penalties in Maryland

As with DUI penalties, multiple DWI offenses in Maryland within five years lead to additional penalties. Penalties are also increased for transporting a minor when charged with a DWI.

First-time DUI offenses in Maryland lead to:

  • Up to two months in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Six-month license suspension
  • Eight points added to driving record

A second DUI offense in Maryland results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • License suspended for nine to 12 months
  • Eight points added to driving record

DUI rules for underage drinkers in Maryland

Drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 and charged with a DUI in Maryland may pay a fine of $500 for the first offense or $1,000 for any subsequent DUI offenses.

In addition, underage DUI violators must participate in the Ignition Interlock Program or their license will be suspended.

Sources and references:

http://www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/impaired/maryland-impaired-driving-laws.htm

https://www.dmv.org/md-maryland/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/maryland.html

https://wtop.com/maryland/2016/09/new-drunk-driving-law-goes-into-effect-in-maryland-oct-1/slide/1/

https://www.responsibility.org/uncategorized/dui-reform-remains-an-elusive-goal-in-maryland/

Don't forget to share!