Massachusetts Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are convicted of DUI in Massachusetts, your auto insurance is going to become pricier — it's only a question of by how much. In fact, Massachusetts car insurance rates are swayed greatly by your history of serious driving violations, versus all other US states.


How will a DUI affect auto insurance rates in Massachusetts?

In Massachusetts, a DUI can raise your annual auto insurance premium by a mean of $1,162. That is 12% more than the national average rate increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN MASSACHUSETTS — MEAN ANNUAL PREMIUM
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Massachusetts $1,201.26 $2,363.47 96%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

How to find auto insurance in Massachusetts after a DUI violation

Finding inexpensive car coverage in the wake of a DUI conviction is not easy. In fact, a DUI usually results in a bigger cost increase than does any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving. Massachusetts is an exceedingly poor state in which to commit a DUI: its auto insurance rate raises are some of the nation's most severe.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Massachusetts

If you are found guilty of a DWI or DUI violation in Massachusetts, it’s essential to consider your insurance possibilities thoughtfully. Car insurance rates with a DUI can vary substantially by insurer. For example, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Massachusetts, Plymouth Rock, provides annual prices 39% below the state mean insurance premium with a DUI conviction. The next-most affordable option for auto insurance after a DUI in Massachusetts is Hanover, and the most expensive insurer is Allstate, with prices 45% more than average.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN MASSACHUSETTS — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Plymouth Rock $1,443
GEICO $1,485
Hanover $2,007
Arbella $2,235
MAPFRE $2,298
Amica $2,540
Metropolitan $3,146
Allstate $3,433
Liberty Mutual $3,636

There is no auto insurer in particular offering low-cost DUI car insurance. The most effective strategy to save money after a DUI citation is to shop around.

Find prices on the Internet or contact an insurance agent to weigh your choices and find a reasonable DUI insurance policy.

Find out more on car insurance options after a DUI offense.


Shop car insurance and find an affordable policy today!


Massachusetts DUI/OUI laws

In Massachusetts, driving under the influence (DUI) is commonly referred to as operating under the influence, or OUI.

You are OUI in Massachusetts if your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter limit of 0.04%, and drivers under 21 years old are OUI if their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.


OUI penalties in Massachusetts

There is no maximum lookback period in Massachusetts. This means all past OUI convictions are taken into account when a court decides an offender's sentence and penalties.

Additionally, most penalties are applicable to OUI violators of all ages. Penalties may also vary slightly based on the specifics of an impaired driver's OUI offense.

In Massachusetts, third and subsequent OUI charges are felonies.

First-time DUI offenses in Massachusetts lead to:

  • Up to two-and-a-half years in jail
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program

A second DUI offense in Massachusetts results in:

  • 60 days to two-and-a-half years in jail
  • $600 to $10,000 in fines
  • License suspension for two years
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device

Third-time DUI offenders in Massachusetts are subject to:

  • 180 days to two-and-a-half years in jail or two-and-a-half to five years in prison
  • $1,000 to $15,000 in fines
  • License suspension for eight years
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked

A fourth OUI offense in Massachusetts leads to:

  • Two to two-and-a-half years in jail or two-and-a-half to five years in prison
  • $1,500 to $25,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked
  • Vehicle may be forfeited and seized

A fifth OUI offense in Massachusetts results in:

  • Two to two-and-a-half years in jail or two-and-a-half to five years in prison
  • $2,000 to $50,000 in fines
  • Potential lifetime license revocation
  • Possible attendance in an alcohol education program
  • Mandatory installation and use of an ignition interlock device
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked
  • Vehicle may be forfeited and seized

Penalties are substantially increased for OUI with a suspended license, with a child under 14 years old in the car, or when OUI is fatal.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Massachusetts

In addition to the penalties outlined above, underage OUI offenders in Massachusetts must complete a youth alcohol program.

OUI offenders between 18 and 21 years old receive an additional six-month license suspension. Those under 18 years old receive an additional one-year license suspension.

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/ma-massachusetts/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/massachusetts.html

Don't forget to share!