Michigan Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in the state of Michigan, your auto insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of how large the penalty will be. Unfortunately for your wallet, Michigan car insurance costs are swayed substantially by your DUI history, versus all other US states.


Find cheap same-day car insurance!


How will being convicted of DUI alter car insurance premiums in Michigan?

In Michigan, a DUI will raise your yearly car insurance rate by an average of $4,628. That’s 78% more than the U.S. average premium hike after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN MICHIGAN — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Michigan $2,611.75 $7,239.28 177%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Shopping for auto insurance in Michigan with a DUI conviction

Finding affordable car insurance after a DUI conviction is far from an easy task. In fact, a DUI usually brings about a larger premium increase than any single driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving. Michigan is an exceedingly bad state in which to be convicted of a DUI: its insurance rate hikes are among America's stiffest.


Affordable auto insurance with a DUI in Michigan

If you have been convicted of a DUI or DWI violation in Michigan, it’s important to weigh all of your insurance choices with care. Car insurance premiums with a DUI can vary substantially by insurer. For example, the most affordable car insurance company after a DUI in Michigan, Progressive, advertises yearly prices 76% below the state average insurance premium after a DUI. The second-cheapest company for car insurance after a DUI in Michigan is Auto-Owners, while the most expensive company is Allstate, with premiums 204% above average.


CAR INSURANCE PRICES AFTER A DUI IN MICHIGAN — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Progressive $1,760
Auto-Owners $3,996
AAA $5,519
GEICO $6,076
State Farm $7,275
Frankenmuth $8,682
Allstate $22,011

There is no car insurance company in particular that provides cheap DUI car insurance. The most effective course of action to save money after a DUI citation is to assess multiple insurers.

Find quotes online or contact an insurance professional to weigh your choices and discover a suitable policy.

Read more about auto insurance after a DUI violation.


Got a DUI and need cheaper insurance? Compare rates today!


Michigan DUI laws

Michigan considers a driver to be operating while intoxicated — or OWI — when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are OWI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

As a zero-tolerance state, it's not allowed for those under the legal drinking age of 21 to drink and drive. Those whose BAC reads 0.02% or higher will be arrested.

Michigan also applies penalties to those who appear to be intoxicated, or operating while visibly impaired (OWVI). OWVI charges are based upon officers' observations of an alleged offender's inability to drive.


OWI laws and penalties in Michigan

First-time OWI offenses in Michigan lead to:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • $100 to $500 in fines
  • $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • License suspension for 30 days
  • Possible requirement to perform 360 hours of community service
  • Possible vehicle immobilization
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • Six points added to driving record

A second OWI conviction within seven years leads to harsher penalties, such as:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • $200 to $1,000 in fines
  • $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • License revocation for one year (or a five year minimum if license was revoked in the prior seven years)
  • Possible requirement to perform 30 to 90 days of community service
  • License plate confiscation
  • Vehicle immobilization for 90 to 180 days, unless forfeited
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Six points added to driving record

The third OWI conviction in Michigan within a lifetime is a felony and results in:

  • 30 days to one year in jail (with probation) or one to five years in prison
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • License revocation and denial for a minimum of one year
  • 60 to 180 days of community service
  • Vehicle immobilization for one to three years, unless forfeited
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Denial of vehicle registration
  • Six points added to driving record

In addition, there are harsher penalties for an OWI offense in Michigan where the offender's BAC reads 0.17% or higher. Penalties for an OWI with a high blood alcohol content are:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • $200 to $700 in fines
  • $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • License suspension for one year
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to install an interlock ignition device
  • Possible license plate confiscation if IID is not used
  • Mandatory vehicle immobilization if IID is not used but vehicle is still operated
  • Six points added to driving record

OWVI penalties in Michigan

First-time OWVI offenses in Michigan lead to:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to $300 in fines
  • $500 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • License suspension for 90 days
  • Possible requirement to perform 360 hours of community service
  • Possible vehicle immobilization
  • Four points added to driving record

A second OWVI conviction within seven years leads to harsher penalties, such as:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • $200 to $1,000 in fines
  • $500 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • License revocation and denial for a minimum of one year (or a minimum of five if offender has a prior conviction within the last seven years)
  • License plate confiscation
  • Vehicle immobilization for 90 to 180 days, unless forfeited
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Four points added to driving record

The third OWI conviction in Michigan within a lifetime is a felony and results in:

  • 30 days to one year in jail (with probation) or one to five years in prison
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • $500 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • License revocation and denial for a minimum of one year
  • 60 to 180 days of community service
  • Vehicle immobilization for one to three years, unless forfeited
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Denial of vehicle registration
  • Four points added to driving record

In Michigan, OWI or OWVI offenses that lead to injury or death or driving on a suspended or revoked license significantly increase penalties.


OWI penalties for underage drinkers in Michigan

Drivers under 21 years old charged with OWI in Michigan are subject to harsh penalties.

For a first-time underage OWI, offenders will:

  • Owe up to $250 in fines
  • Owe a Driver Responsibility Fee of $500
  • May be required to perform 360 hours of community service
  • Receive a restricted license for 30 days
  • Receive four points on their driving record

A second underage OWI offense leads to:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • $500 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • Up to 60 days of community service
  • License suspension for 90 days, or up to a minimum one-year revocation and denial if a previous OWI conviction exists
  • Four points added to driving record

Sources and references:

Don't forget to share!