Compare the best rates from 15 car insurance companies in Minnesota.
Across the North Star State, there are 283,828 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
|3||Farm Bureau Mutual||$821|
|6||West Bend Mutual||$962|
|13||Auto Club Group||$1,366|
|21||National Farmers Union||$1,668|
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. Minnesota drivers without a recent at-fault accident usually save 34% on their car insurance premiums — a bit better than the 32% US average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$292||19.05%|
Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In Minnesota, the typical teen driver pays $4,505 per year, just a bit below the national average for all teen drivers.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. On the other hand, a poor driving record will raise your rates: car insurance premiums typically increase by 37% after a DUI, 34% after an at-fault accident, and 19% after a speeding ticket in Minnesota. The post-incident penalties assessed by car insurance companies in the Land of 10,000 Lakes roughly align with national averages. If your driving record is citation-free, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
Liability coverage is legally required in Minnesota and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In Minnesota, the minimum is listed as 30/60/10 and explained below:
$30,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
$60,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
$10,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage is legally required in Minnesota and pays for injury and lost wages that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are hit by an uninsured/underinsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories. In Minnesota, the minimum is listed as 25/50 and explained below:
$25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person injured in your vehicle by an uninsured/underinsured driver.
$50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries in your vehicle by an uninsured/underinsured driver if more than one person is hurt.
Personal Injury Protection provides coverage for medical costs that you and your passengers incur in an accident regardless of fault. PIP will cover medical expenses such as hospital bills, rehabilitation costs, and even work loss resulting from an accident. In Minnesota, minimum PIP coverage is explained below:
$20,000 Medical Expense per person. This is the total amount of medical coverage per person for you or any passengers in your vehicle and it pays regardless of fault.
$20,000 Economic Loss per person. This is the total amount of work loss coverage per person for you or any passengers in your vehicle and it pays regardless of fault.
These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in Maryland but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.
Put simply, a no-fault insurance laws system requires that drivers carry their own protection. When an accident happens, no matter who is at fault, your own insurance foots the bill. Each driver takes care of his or herself, and theoretically, the chances of someone suing or raising a hissy fit over culpability are lessened. And bonus? It guarantees every driver immediate medical treatment in the event of an accident.
If you happen to find yourself pulled over by a police officer in Minnesota you won't have to rifle through your glovebox wondering if you remembered to replace that expired insurance card last month. Instead, you can provide proof of coverage with your smartphone.
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Mankato, Minnesota, and the most expensive in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|
|11||Saint Louis Park||$1,737|
If my car was damaged in a car wash, who pays for the repair?
The mirror was knocked off my car and there are lots of scratches and a big dent from the car ...
Can my daughter stay on my car insurance policy after I transfer the title of the car to her?
My daughter is going to be a freshman in college next fall and will be taking her car with her. ...
Am I legally required to list my son on my car insurance policy?
Is legal for my insurance company to require I have my son listed on my insurance when he has his ...
Planning on selling old car do I still need insurance on it
If I am replacing a vehicle but holding onto the old one to sell it, do I have to insure ...
Driving with a blood alcohol content higher than the number above will put you at risk of being arrested for driving under the influence. If arrested you’ll face harsh consequences and may face varying degrees of jail time, fines, driver’s license suspensions, and reinstatement requirements.If convicted of a DUI, you can expect the financial obligations to extend beyond the DUI ticket to court costs, attorney fees, higher insurance rates, and potentially the installation of a Ignition Interlock Device to serve as a breathalyzer test each time you start your vehicle.
At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the Minnesota area, while also getting an insider view of the North Star State.
So, Minnesota students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that’s great! But there are no limits to what we’re looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.
Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.