Minnesota Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in Minnesota, your car insurance is going to get more expensive — it is just a question of how large your penalty will be. Fortunately, Minnesota auto insurance premiums are comparatively unchanged by your history of serious driving violations, versus all other American states.


How will a DUI change car insurance in Minnesota?

In Minnesota, a DUI will lift your annual auto insurance premium by a mean of $582. That is 75% less than the national average premium hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN MINNESOTA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Minnesota $1,257.64 $1,839.28 46%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Finding auto insurance in Minnesota after a DUI conviction

Getting cheap auto insurance after a DUI conviction isn’t easy. In fact, a DUI generally results in a bigger rate hike than does any other driving transgression — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Best car insurance after a DUI in Minnesota

If you're convicted of a driving under the influence offense in Minnesota, it is important to weigh your insurance possibilities carefully. Auto insurance premiums with a DUI often deviate substantially by insurer. For example, the most affordable car insurance company with a DUI in Minnesota, Western National, offers annual prices 55% better than the state average insurance rate after a DUI. The next-cheapest company for car insurance with a DUI in Minnesota is State Farm, while the priciest company is North Star Mutual, with rates 81% above average.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS WITH DUI IN MINNESOTA — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Western National $826
State Farm $1,185
Auto-Owners $1,669
American Family $1,787
Progressive $1,827
Farmers $2,164
Allstate $2,281
North Star Mutual $3,323

There’s no car insurance company specifically offering low-cost DUI car insurance. The easiest way to save in the wake of a DUI violation is to assess multiple insurers.

Get pricing information through The Zebra or reach out to an insurance agent to weigh the choices and find a relatively cheap option.

Find out more about car insurance with a DUI.


Considering new insurance after a DUI? Compare rates now!


Minnesota DUI regulations

Minnesota commonly refers to the act of driving under the influence as driving while impaired, or DWI. You are DWI in Minnesota when your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Those below the legal drinking age of 21 are DWI in Minnesota if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DWI penalties in Minnesota

There is a lifetime DWI lookback period in Minnesota. This means that recurring DWI offenses will lead to enhanced penalties.

In Minnesota, the first three DWI offenses are considered misdemeanors. A fourth DWI is a felony, as are any DWI offenses leading to substantial bodily harm or death.

In addition, penalties are enhanced for anyone found to have any measurable BAC while transporting a child.

First-time DWI offenses in Minnesota lead to:

  • Up to 90 days in jail (or up to one year if BAC reads 0.16% or higher)
  • Up to $1,000 in fines (or $3,000 if BAC reads 0.16% or higher)
  • Up to a 90-day license suspension (or one year if BAC reads 0.16% or higher)
  • Possibility to install and use an ignition interlock device to maintain driving privileges (or for one year if BAC reads 0.16% or higher)

A second DWI offense in Minnesota results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $3,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year (or two years if BAC is 0.16% or higher)
  • License plates are impounded
  • Vehicle forfeited if BAC is 0.16% or higher

Third-time DWI offenders in Minnesota are subject to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $3,000 in fines
  • License cancellation
  • IID required for limited driving privileges
  • License plates impounded
  • Vehicle forfeiture

A fourth DWI offense in Minnesota within 10 years of a previous conviction results in:

  • Up to seven years in jail
  • Up to $14,000 in fines
  • License cancellation
  • IID required for limited driving privileges for four to six years
  • License plates impounded
  • Vehicle forfeiture
  • Must meet rehabilitation requirements

DWI penalties for young drivers in Minnesota

Minnesota is a zero-tolerance state for underage DWI. Drivers are considered DWI if they have any measurable BAC. DWI convictions stay on an underage driver's record for at least 15 years.

In addition, underage drinkers whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same penalties as that of a DWI offender over 21 years old.

The first underage DWI offense in Minnesota is a misdemeanor and leads to:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension of up to 30 days

Second and subsequent underage DWI offenses under 0.08% BAC result in an increased license suspension period of 180 days.

Sources and references:

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/educational-materials/Documents/impaired-dwi-consequences.pdf

https://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/DWIover.pdf

https://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/ss/ssdwirk.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/mn-minnesota/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/Minnesota.html

Don't forget to share!