Mississippi Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are convicted of DUI in the state of Mississippi, your auto insurance will get more expensive — it's only a question of by how much. Fortunately, Mississippi car insurance costs are relatively untouched by your history of serious driving violations, compared to all other US states.


How will a DUI impact car insurance costs in Mississippi?

In Mississippi, a DUI will raise your annual auto insurance rate by an average of $806. That’s 27% less than the nationwide average premium increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN MISSISSIPPI — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Mississippi$1,800.05$2,606.3644%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

How to find auto insurance in Mississippi after a DUI violation

Finding affordable car insurance soon after a DUI conviction is not easy. In fact, a DUI typically results in a larger cost increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Cheap car insurance after a DUI in Mississippi

If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Mississippi, it’s important to weigh your insurance possibilities with care. Car insurance premiums following a DUI can vary widely depending on the company. For example, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Mississippi, State Farm, provides yearly prices 47% less than the statewide average insurance premium after a DUI. The second-cheapest company for car insurance with a DUI in Mississippi is ALFA, and the most expensive insurer is Liberty Mutual, with prices 120% more than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN MISSISSIPPI — BY PROVIDER
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
State Farm$1,374
ALFA$1,609
Progressive$1,753
Southern Farm Bureau$2,096
Nationwide$2,241
Allstate$3,286
Shelter$3,374
Liberty Mutual$5,724

There’s no auto insurance company specifically that provides cheap DUI car insurance. The most effective strategy to save after a DUI conviction is to assess your options.

Get prices through The Zebra or contact your insurance agent to gauge your choices and discover a suitable plan.

Read more about how to get car insurance after a DUI offense.


Looking for cheap insurance with a DUI? Compare rates today!


Mississippi DUI laws and limits

Mississippi considers a driver to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Mississippi when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

As a zero-tolerance state, an those under the age of 21 are considered DUI when their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


Penalties for DUI in Mississippi

Mississippi's DUI lookback period is five years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe lead to enhanced fines and penalties. Penalties are also increased for DUIs that cause damage, injury, or death.

First-time DUI offenses in Mississippi lead to:

  • Up to two days in jail
  • $250 to $1,000 in fines
  • Suspended license for a 90-day minimum
  • Required completion of the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program
  • Requirement to install and use an interlock ignition device for 90 days after license reinstatement

A second DUI offense in Mississippi results in:

  • One to five years in jail
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines
  • 10 days to one year of community service
  • Suspended license for two years
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • IID required

A third or subsequent DUI in Mississippi subjects violators to:

  • One to five years in jail
  • $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • Suspended license for five years
  • Vehicle forfeiture
  • IID required

DUI penalties for young drivers in Mississippi

Drivers under 21 whose BAC reads between 0.02% and under 0.08% are considered DUI in Mississippi and subject to the following penalties. Those whose BAC is 0.08% or higher are subject to the same fines as someone over 21 years old.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Pay fines up to $250
  • Receive a suspended license for 90 days

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • Pay fines up to $500
  • Receive a suspended license for one year

A third underage DUI offense in Mississippi results in:

  • Pay fines up to $1,000
  • Receive a suspended license until age 21 or for two years, whichever is longer

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/ms-mississippi/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/Mississippi.html

http://www.highwaysafety.ms.gov/Shared%20Documents/MS%20DUI%20LAW%2063-11-30.pdf

Don't forget to share!