Missouri Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Missouri, your car insurance will become more expensive — it's just a matter of by how much. Fortunately, Missouri car insurance premiums are comparatively untouched by your driving violation history, compared to all other US states.


Find DUI car insurance today!


How will being convicted of DUI impact car insurance in Missouri?

In Missouri, a DUI can boost your yearly car insurance cost by an average of $501. That’s 103% less than the national average premium increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN MISSOURI — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Missouri$1,334.70$1,835.9937%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Shopping for car insurance in Missouri with a DUI conviction

Finding reasonable auto insurance after a DUI offense isn’t straightforward. In fact, a DUI typically brings about a more substantial premium increase than any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving. Missouri is a somewhat benign area in which to be convicted of a DUI: its car insurance penalties are among the US' most lenient.


Cheap auto insurance with a DUI in Missouri

If you've been found guilty of a DWI or DUI violation in Missouri, it’s key to weigh each of your insurance choices with care. Auto insurance rates with a DUI can deviate substantially depending on the company. For instance, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Missouri, Missouri Farm Bureau, offers annual rates 34% better than the statewide average insurance premium after a DUI conviction. The next-cheapest option for car insurance after a DUI in Missouri is Progressive, while the most expensive company is Nationwide, at 53% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN MISSOURI — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
Missouri Farm Bureau$1,220
Progressive$1,434
GEICO$1,620
Farmers$1,746
American Family$1,776
AAA$1,905
Allstate$2,092
Liberty Mutual$2,361
Liberty Mutual$2,816

There’s no car insurance company in particular that offers inexpensive DUI auto insurance. The easiest strategy to limit your losses after a DUI violation is to shop around.

Get quotes online or contact an insurance agent to shop the market and find a relatively cheap plan.

Read more about auto insurance after a DUI.


Compare rates from top insurance companies!


Missouri DUI laws

Driving under the influence is commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated, or DWI, in Missouri.

You are DWI in Missouri if your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher. Missouri is a zero-tolerance state and considers those under 21 years old to be DWI if their BAC measures 0.02% or higher.

You may also be charged with DWI in Missouri if your BAC is less than the legal limit, but you are demonstrating other signs of impaired and unsafe driving.


DWI penalties in Missouri

Some DWI offenses result in harsher penalties if they occur within five years of a previous DWI offense in Missouri. For others, prior lifetime convictions are taken into account. Repeated offenses subject offenders to harsher penalties and fines.

First-time DWI offenses in Missouri lead to:

  • Up to six months in prison
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • A 90-day license suspension
  • Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device for at least one month
  • Possible requirement to complete an alcohol evaluation or treatment program

A second DWI offense in Missouri results in:

  • Up to one year in prison
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • License cancellation for five years if DWI is within five years of a prior offense
  • Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device for at least one month
  • Possible requirement to complete an alcohol evaluation or treatment program

Third-time DWI offenders in Missouri are declared “persistent offenders” and are subject to:

  • Up to four years in prison
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License cancellation for 10 years
  • Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device for at least one month
  • Possible requirement to complete an alcohol evaluation or treatment program

Those who commit a fourth DWI offense in Missouri are declared “aggravated offenders” whose penalties are:

  • Up to seven years in prison
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License cancellation for 10 years
  • Possible requirement to use an interlock ignition device for at least one month
  • Possible requirement to complete an alcohol evaluation or treatment program

A fifth offense will result in the violator being labeled a “chronic offender” and leads to:

  • Five to 15 years in prison
  • License cancellation
  • May not be eligible for license reinstatement after release

DWI penalties for underage drinkers in Missouri

Those under 21 years old in Missouri and found with a BAC between 0.02% and under 0.08% are DWI. The penalty for an underage DWI is mandatory completion of a substance abuse traffic program and a license suspension of 30 days for the first offense, a 90-day suspension for the second, and one-year license revocation for subsequent offenses.

Sources and references:

https://dor.mo.gov/drivers/dwiinfo.php

https://www.dmv.org/mo-missouri/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/Missouri.html

Don't forget to share!