Montana Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in Montana, your auto insurance is going to become more expensive — it's only a matter of by how much. Fortunately, Montana auto insurance rates are relatively unaffected by a DUI history, compared to other US states.


In what way will a DUI impact auto insurance in Montana?

In Montana, a DUI violation will raise your annual car insurance rate by a mean value of $500. That’s 104% less than the national average rate jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN MONTANA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Montana $1,614.75 $2,115.21 31%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Shopping for auto insurance in Montana with a DUI

Purchasing reasonable car coverage soon after a DUI offense isn’t simple. In fact, a DUI usually results in a larger rate increase than does any other road violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving. Montana is a somewhat benign area in which to rack up a DUI: its car insurance price hikes are among the nation's least costly.


Best auto insurance after a DUI in Montana

If you're convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in Montana, it is crucial to weigh each of your insurance options with care. Car insurance rates following a DUI can deviate widely depending on the insurer. For example, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Montana, Liberty Mutual, provides annual prices 59% less than the state average insurance rate after a DUI. The second-most affordable option for car insurance after a DUI in Montana is State Farm, and the most expensive company is Progressive, with premiums 123% above average.


CAR INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER A DUI IN MONTANA — BY PROVIDER
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Liberty Mutual $868
State Farm $1,172
USAA $1,327
QBE $2,048
Farmers $2,157
Allstate $2,627
Progressive $4,718

There’s no car insurance company in particular offering low-cost DUI auto insurance. The recommended strategy to save after a DUI conviction is to shop around.

Get pricing information online or reach out to an insurance expert to shop the market and find a sensible policy.

Read more about car insurance options after a DUI violation.


Save on car insurance after a DUI by comparing rates!


Montana DUI laws

You are DUI in Montana when your blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Montana when their BAC is 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under age 21 are DUI in Montana when their BAC is 0.02% or higher.

Montana may also consider you to be DUI if there is “sufficient evidence” that you are driving while impaired, even if your BAC is below 0.08%.


DUI penalties in Montana

There is a lookback period of ten years for a second DUI offense in Montana. There is no limited lookback period for subsequent offenses. Penalties are enhanced for repeated DUI offenses, driving with a suspended or revoked license, or for transporting passengers under 16 years old.

DUI with a BAC of 0.16% or higher is an “aggravated DUI” and results in harsher penalties.

First-time DUI offenses in Montana lead to:

  • 24 hours to six months in jail
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • Must fulfill the A-C-T requirements, including assessment, a chemical dependency course, and treatment
  • 10 points added to driving record

A second DUI offense in Montana results in:

  • Seven days to one year in jail
  • $1,200 to $2,000 in fines
  • One-year license suspension
  • Must use an IID
  • Must fulfill the A-C-T requirements
  • Must participate in a 24/7 sobriety program
  • 10 points added to driving record

Third-time DUI offenders in Montana are subject to:

  • 30 days to one year in jail
  • $2,500 to $5,000 in fines
  • One-year license suspension
  • Must use an IID
  • Must fulfill the A-C-T requirements
  • Must participate in a 24/7 sobriety program
  • 10 points added to driving record

After receiving 30 points on their driving record, a driver will be declared a habitual traffic offender and may have their license revoked in Montana.


Underage DUI penalties in Montana

In addition to the penalties below, DUI offenders under 18 years old will have their vehicles impounded for up to 60 days. They will also not be required to serve jail time.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be fined $100 to $500
  • Receive a 90-day license suspension
  • Must attend a chemical dependency education course

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • Up to 10 days in jail
  • $200 to $500 in fines
  • License suspension for six months
  • Must attend a chemical dependency education course

A third underage DUI offense in Montana results in:

  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • $300 to $500 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Must attend a chemical dependency education course

Sources and references:

https://www.mdt.mt.gov/visionzero/docs/dui_penalties.pdf

https://www.dmv.org/mt-montana/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/montana.html

Don't forget to share!