If you commit DUI in the state of Nebraska, your car insurance policy is going to get pricier — it's only a question of by how much. In fact, Nebraska auto insurance premiums are influenced markedly by your history of serious driving violations, versus other American states.
How does a DUI influence auto insurance premiums in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, a DUI can raise your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $712. That’s 43% less than the United States mean rate jump after a DUI.
CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN NEBRASKA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
|Area||Avg. rate - no DUI||Avg. rate - with DUI||Avg. increase after DUI|
Finding car insurance in Nebraska with a DUI conviction
Finding cheap auto coverage with a DUI conviction isn’t an easy task. In fact, a DUI generally results in a greater premium increase than any other driving transgression — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.
Cheap auto insurance after a DUI in Nebraska
If you are convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in Nebraska, it is crucial to mull over available insurance options with care. Car insurance premiums after a DUI can vary substantially by company. For instance, the best cheap car insurance company with a DUI in Nebraska, American Family, offers annual rates 38% less than the state average insurance price after a DUI conviction. The next-cheapest insurer for auto insurance with a DUI in Nebraska is Progressive, while the priciest firm is Nationwide, with rates 45% above average.
CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN NEBRASKA — BY PROVIDER
|Insurance company||Avg. rate after DUI|
|Iowa Farm Bureau||$2,342|
There’s no car insurance company in particular that offers cheap DUI car insurance. The recommended way to limit your losses post-DUI citation is to assess multiple insurers.
Get pricing info online or contact an insurance agent to weigh the choices and discover the cheapest policy.
Got a DUI? Find cheap insurance today!
Nebraska DUI laws
Nebraska considers drivers to be DUI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Nebraska when their BAC is 0.04% or higher.
Drivers under 21 years old are DUI when their BAC reads 0.02% or higher.
In Nebraska, even if your BAC is below the legal limit, you may be considered DUI if you are exhibiting behaviors that lead officers to suspect you are impaired or intoxicated.
DUI penalties in Nebraska
Nebraska has a lookback period of 15 years. After the first DUI, any subsequent offenses within 15 years will result in harsher penalties. In addition, penalties are enhanced for any DUI in which the driver has a BAC of 0.15% or higher.
Penalties are also increased for any DUI that causes injury or death.
The first three DUI offenses in Nebraska are misdemeanors. A third DUI is a felony if the driver has a BAC of 0.15%. Four or more offenses are felonies and carry a maximum penalty of 20 years in jail for a fourth offense or 50 years for a fifth.
First-time DUI offenses in Nebraska lead to:
- Seven to 60 days in jail
- $500 in fines
- A 60-day license revocation
- 180-day license suspension for failing a BAC test
- Possible installation and use of an ignition interlock device for six months
A second DUI offense in Nebraska results in:
- 30 to 180 days in jail
- $500 in fines
- 18-month license revocation
- Possible installation and use of an IID 45 days after revocation period
Third-time DUI offenders in Nebraska are subject to:
- 90 days to one year in jail
- $1,000 in fines
- License revoked for 15 years
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Nebraska
There are no specific laws for underage DUI in Nebraska. Instead, underage drinkers are subject to the same DUI penalties as those over 21 years old.
There may, however, be a reduction in fines for underage DUI:
- Up to $100 in fines for a first offense
- Up to $200 in fines for the second offense within one year
- Up to $300 in fines for third and subsequent offenses within one year
Sources and references: