Nevada Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are convicted of DUI in Nevada, your car insurance will get more expensive — it's just a matter of how much you'll end up paying. Unfortunately, Nevada car insurance premiums rise substantially with a history of serious driving violations, compared to all other American states.


In what way does a DUI alter auto insurance costs in Nevada?

In Nevada, a DUI conviction will boost your annual auto insurance premium by an average of $955. That’s 7% less than the United States average premium hike after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN NEVADA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Nevada $1,801.91 $2,756.44 53%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

Shopping for car insurance in Nevada after a DUI conviction

Finding reasonable car coverage after a DUI conviction isn’t an easy task. In fact, a DUI typically results in a greater premium increase than any single driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Best auto insurance after a DUI in Nevada

If you've been found guilty of a DWI or DUI offense in Nevada, it’s important to assess your insurance options thoughtfully. Car insurance costs in the wake of a DUI often fluctuate substantially depending on the company. For instance, the most affordable car insurance company with a DUI in Nevada, Progressive, provides annual prices 25% less than the state mean insurance premium with a DUI. The next-most affordable insurer for auto insurance with a DUI in Nevada is USAA, while the most expensive company is State Farm, at 37% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN NEVADA — BY PROVIDER
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Progressive $2,068
USAA $2,149
American Family $2,993
Allstate $3,123
Farmers $3,233
State Farm $3,772

There’s no car insurance company in particular offering affordable DUI auto insurance. The easiest way to save money in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop around.

Find quotes online or contact your insurance agent to gauge the choices and find an affordable DUI insurance policy.

Find out more about auto insurance after a DUI conviction.


Compare car insurance and find great rates today!


DUI laws in Nevada

Nevada considers drivers DUI when their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DUI in Nevada when their BAC measures 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 are DUI when their BAC is 0.02% or higher.

Even if your BAC is under the legal limit, you may still be considered DUI in Nevada if there is alcohol detected in your system.


DUI penalties in Nevada

The DUI lookback period in Nevada is seven years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe subject you to harsher penalties.

“Aggravating circumstances,” such as DUI while transporting a minor, a BAC of 0.18% or higher, or DUI that causes injury or death, may also lead to enhanced penalties.

First-time DUI offenses in Nevada lead to:

  • Two days to six months in jail
  • 96 hours of community service in lieu of jail
  • $400 to $1,000 in fines
  • 90-day license revocation
  • Mandatory attendance in driving school
  • Possible requirement to complete a substance abuse treatment program
  • May be required to use an ignition interlock device for three to six months

A second DUI offense in Nevada results in:

  • 10 days to six months in jail or house arrest
  • $750 to $1,000 in fines
  • 100 to 200 hours of community service, possibly in lieu of fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Possible suspension of vehicle registration
  • Possible requirement to attend substance abuse treatment program or undergo clinical supervision for up to one year
  • May be required to use an IID for three to six months

Third-time DUI offenders in Nevada are subject to:

  • One to six years in jail
  • $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for three years
  • Possible suspension of vehicle registration
  • Mandatory installation and use of an IID for one to three years

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Nevada

Underage DUI offenders in Nevada are subject to the same penalties as drivers over 21 years old. In addition, underage DUI violators must undergo an alcohol addiction evaluation at their own expense.

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/nv-nevada/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/nevada.html

Don't forget to share!