Compare the best rates from 12 car insurance companies in New Hampshire.
Across the Granite State, there are 33,002 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.
Drivers with good driving records typically enjoy lower car insurance costs than drivers with histories of speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or DUI citations. New Hampshire drivers without a recent at-fault accident typically save 39% on their car insurance premiums — much more than the 32% US average. In addition to earning a cheaper premium for driving incident-free, you may qualify for a safe-driving bonus through your car insurance company. The amount of these discounts may vary, but they typically run between 5 and 10%.
|Rating Factor||$ Savings||% Savings|
|No Traffic Tickets||$250||18.90%|
Young drivers (those between the ages of 16 and 25) pay extraordinarily high auto insurance rates, with those aged 16-19 paying the most expensive premiums of all. Because of the risk presented by inexperienced drivers, teens pay more than three times the national average for car insurance. In New Hampshire, the typical teen driver pays $4,586 per year — about $400 less than the national average and approximately four times as much as does the typical New Hampshire driver.
|Age||Annual Rate with Parents||Annual Rate Alone|
If you have a clean driving record — no at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, or other recent citations — you'll probably enjoy relatively cheap car insurance rates. Conversely, a bad driving record will cause your costs to skyrocket: car insurance premiums typically increase by 41% after a DUI, 39% after an at-fault accident, and 18% after a speeding ticket in New Hampshire. The post-citation penalties assessed by car insurance companies in New Hampshire roughly align with national averages. If you have a clean driving history, be sure to inquire about your insurance company's safe driver discount.
|Rating Factor||Annual Rate||% Increase|
If you choose to carry auto insurance in New Hampshire, liability coverage is required and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In New Hampshire, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:
$25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.
$50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.
$25,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.
Uninsured Motorist coverage will also be required in New Hampshire and pays for injury and lost wages that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are hit by an uninsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories. In New Hampshire, the minimum is listed as 25/50/25 and explained below:
$25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person injured in your vehicle by an uninsured driver.
$50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries in your vehicle by an uninsured driver if more than one person is hurt.
$25,000 property damage coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage caused to your vehicle by an uninsured driver.
Medical Payments provides coverage for injuries that you and your passengers incur in an accident regardless of fault. In New Hampshire, a minimum Medical Payments coverage amount of $1,000 per person is required.
These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in New Hampshire but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.
If you happen to find yourself pulled over by a police officer in New Hampshire you won't have to rifle through your glovebox wondering if you remembered to replace that expired insurance card last month. Instead, you can provide proof of coverage with your smartphone.
Car insurance companies calculate your rate based on many factors, location of the vehicle being an important one. The cheapest car insurance is found in Concord, New Hampshire, and the most expensive in Manchester, New Hampshire.
|Rank||City||Avg. Annual Premium|
Can I add sister to my policy?
Can I add my sister (beginner driver, no driver license yet) to my policy? Will my rates go up? I ...
Is it mandatory to list my adult child on my policy if they live in my home but will not drive my vehicle?
I was looking for a new insurance policy and was told that I have to add my son since he ...
Will my auto insurance cover me to drive for Uber?
I have a 2016 Subaru and no tickets or accidents. I’m wanting to drive for Uber on the weekends to ...
Driving with a blood alcohol content higher than the number above will put you at risk of being arrested for driving under the influence. If arrested you’ll face harsh consequences and may face varying degrees of jail time, fines, driver’s license suspensions, and reinstatement requirements.If convicted of a DUI, you can expect the financial obligations to extend beyond the DUI ticket to court costs, attorney fees, higher insurance rates, and potentially the installation of a Ignition Interlock Device to serve as a breathalyzer test each time you start your vehicle.
At The Zebra, we know better than most just what a pain buying car insurance can be. We also know that students suffer from higher-than-average policy rates. Talk about a double-whammy. That’s why, this year, we’ve decided to continue The Zebra’s annual scholarship with the goal of helping to alleviate the financial pressures of college-bound students in the New Hampshire area, while also getting an insider view of the Granite State.
So, New Hampshire students, we want to see your favorite road trip destination(s) in your state— from your unique perspective. If it makes sense to hit the open road and be our virtual tour guide, that’s great! But there are no limits to what we’re looking for: a narrated animation, a slideshow of memorabilia, an illustrated map of the best roadside attractions on the way. This is a chance for you to showcase any place you love in as an original way as possible.
Applicants must be currently enrolled at or planning to attend a four-year university, graduate program, community college, or trade school located in the continental United States. Upon notification, winner(s) must supply a current proof of enrollment or letter of acceptance.