Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers in New Hampshire

The Zebra
Sept. 11, 2019

If you caused a crash, filed a claim, or received a citation for a serious violation, you could be a candidate for high-risk auto insurance. Car insurance for high-risk drivers is usually expensive, but the cost varies depending on your auto insurance company, your driving history, and the state in which you live.

 

Car insurance for high-risk drivers in New Hampshire:
  1. At-fault accidents
  2. Speeding
  3. Distracted driving
  4. Racing
  5. Reckless driving
  6. New Hampshire driving laws

 

What impact does an at-fault collision have on car insurance in New Hampshire?

If you’re found responsible for an auto accident, you can expect your car insurance rates to increase. In New Hampshire, the average insurance rate after an at-fault crash is $1,933, versus the U.S. average of $2,012. A major accident like an at-fault crash will stay on your insurance record for up to three years!

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE AUTO INSURANCE PREMIUMS AFTER AN AT-FAULT ACCIDENT
LocationWith At-Fault Accident — Annual RateNo At-Fault Accident — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
New Hampshire$1,933$1,083$850
National Average$2,012$1,397$615

 

The best auto insurance company after an at-fault accident in New Hampshire is Concord Group. The company's typical rate increase after a crash is $964, leading to a total price 50 percent less expensive than the average among all insurers. If you’ve caused an accident in New Hampshire, steer clear of Allstate and Progressive, which typically charge more.

 

CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER AN AT-FAULT ACCIDENT IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — CHEAP COMPANIES
CompanyAnnual Rate After an At-Fault Crash
Concord Group$969
State Farm$1,149
Amica$1,202
Allstate$1,965
Progressive$2,847

 

Does a speeding ticket increase car insurance rates in New Hampshire?

One of the reasons drivers earn the "high-risk" designation is speeding. In New Hampshire, you can expect to see your rates rise by $285 per year post-speeding ticket, up to an average yearly rate of $1,368.

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE CAR INSURANCE PRICES FOLLOWING A SPEEDING TICKET
StateWith a Speeding Ticket — Annual RateNo Speeding Ticket — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
New Hampshire$1,368$1,083$285
National Average$1,727$1,397$330

 

The best way to find cheap insurance after a speeding citation is to shop thoroughly and weigh your options. The most affordable auto insurance after a speeding ticket in New Hampshire is available via Concord Group. The insurer's average premium after a violation is $525 less than the state average under similar circumstances. If you've been caught speeding in New Hampshire, Progressive could be worth avoiding.

 

AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER A SPEEDING TICKET IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — CHEAPEST PROVIDERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With a Speeding Citation
Concord Group$843
State Farm$1,006
Amica$1,202
Allstate$1,626
Progressive$1,795

 

What impact does a distracted driving ticket have on car insurance rates in New Hampshire?

If you receive a citation for distracted driving, your next car insurance policy probably won't be cheap. In New Hampshire, auto insurance rates typically increase by $322 per year after a distracted driving ticket. That's a 30% increase from the average yearly rate in New Hampshire, and 87% more than the national average cost of car insurance after a distracted driving citation.

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER A DISTRACTED DRIVING TICKET
LocationWith Distracted Driving — Annual RateNo Distracted Driving — Annual RateAnnual Rate Increase
New Hampshire$1,405$1,083$322
National Average$1,570$1,397$173

 

The easiest way to find inexpensive car insurance after a distracted driving infraction is to compare options from a variety of companies. The least expensive company after a distracted driving ticket in New Hampshire is Concord Group, with an average rate of only $819 per year, 42% more affordable than the average distracted driving insurance premium across all insurers.

 

AUTO INSURANCE COSTS AFTER DISTRACTED DRIVING IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — CHEAPEST CARRIERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate With Distracted Driving
Concord Group$819
State Farm$1,006
Amica$1,070
Progressive$1,369
Allstate$1,626

 

How does a citation for racing impact New Hampshire car insurance rates?

Racing is an extremely serious offense. Car insurance carriers often penalize racing convictions severely — in fact, New Hampshire auto insurance premiums increase by $1,314 per year after a citation for racing. That represents a 121% increase on the usual annual car insurance premium in New Hampshire!

 

LocationWith a Racing Citation — Annual RateNo Racing Citation — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
New Hampshire$2,397$1,083$1,314
National Average$2,397$1,397$1,000

 

If you've been pulled over for racing, do your due diligence and shop around for the best rates. In New Hampshire, grab a quote from GEICO, which offers rates 56 percent cheaper than the state average after a citation for racing.

 

CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER RACING IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — AFFORDABLE PROVIDERS
Insurance CompanyAnnual Rate After Racing
GEICO$1,054
Concord Group$1,291
State Farm$1,336
Allstate$1,775
Progressive$2,159

 

How does a citation for reckless driving impact New Hampshire car insurance rates?

As one of the most serious moving violations, reckless driving is a surefire way to get a car insurance rate hike. Insurers raise prices by an average of $783 annually following a reckless driving ticket. That's 72% greater than the average car insurance rate in New Hampshire, and 1% less than the U.S. average price increase for reckless driving.

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE AUTO INSURANCE PRICES AFTER RECKLESS DRIVING
LocationWith Reckless Driving — Annual RateNo Reckless Driving — Annual RateYearly Rate Increase
New Hampshire$1,866$1,083$783
National Average$2,395$1,397$998

 

If you're found to be guilty of reckless driving, you should shop around to find the cheapest rate. In New Hampshire, the cheapest underwriter after a reckless driving offense is GEICO.

 

AUTO INSURANCE RATES AFTER A TICKET FOR RECKLESS DRIVING IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — CHEAPEST PROVIDERS
CompanyAnnual Rate After Reckless Driving
GEICO$1,054
Concord Group$1,291
State Farm$1,336
Allstate$1,775
Progressive$2,159

 

If you're looking for auto insurance as a high-risk driver, the best course of action is to shop around and find the policy that fits.

 

Compare rates from more than 100 insurance companies!

Location pin icon
Your information is secure.

New Hampshire driving laws

New Hampshire's driving regulations are intended to keep drivers, cyclists, and pedestrians safe. Driving laws can sometimes get complicated. Below, we’ve laid out some general — though not exhaustive — examples of New Hampshire traffic laws to keep you on the right side of the law. Keep these in mind the next time you set out on New Hampshire roads. 

 

Speeding in New Hampshire

What counts as speeding in New Hampshire?

The state of New Hampshire asks that drivers navigate at a speed that is “reasonable and prudent.” Find below general speed guidelines in the state. 

  • 70 mph on a portion of I-93 to the Vermont border
  • 65 mph on most interstate highways
  • 55 mph on other highways
  • 35 mph in rural residential zones
  • 30 mph in any business or urban residential zone

The state also expects drivers to drive 10 miles per hour below the speed limit in school zones during school hours. 

Penalties for speeding in New Hampshire

Speeding fines in New Hampshire depend on the speed limit in the area. If you are found to be speeding on an interstate — where limits are higher — you can expect a higher fine. The fine schedule below can give you a good idea of standard fines.

Basic New Hampshire speeding fines:
  • 1-10 mph over: $50
  • 11-15 mph over: $75
  • 16-20 mph over: $100
  • 21-25 mph over: $200
  • 26 mph over or more: $350
Interstate speeding fines (65 mph limit)
  • 1-5 mph over: $65
  • 6-10 mph over: $100
  • 11-15 mph over: $150
  • 16-20 mph over: $250 (300 for 70 mph limit)
  • 21 or more: $350 (400 for 70 mph limit)

 

Reckless driving in New Hampshire

What constitutes reckless driving in New Hampshire?

Reckless driving in New Hampshire is defined as driving in such a manner that the “lives or safety of the public” is endangered. The exact definition is rather loose, allowing many different types of poor driving behaviors to be included. However, you can expect that exceeding 100 miles per hour will automatically make you guilty of reckless driving. 

Penalties for reckless driving in New Hampshire

The fines for reckless driving in New Hampshire can be quite steep, growing more punitive with each subsequent offense. Below you can find New Hampshire’s penalties for driving recklessly. 

First reckless driving offense in NH
  • $500 penalty
  • License revoked up to 60 days
Second reckless driving offense in NH
  • $750 fine
  • License revoked from 60 days to one year

 

Distracted driving in New Hampshire

What is distracted driving in New Hampshire?

Distracted driving can come in many forms. Getting caught up in a song on the radio, talking to a passenger, or even daydreaming can be considered distracted driving, and can lead to dangerous situations. However, it’s almost impossible to legislate against these activities. 

The state has, on the other hand, banned the use of cell phones while driving. New Hampshire's texting and driving laws are understandably strict, disallowing drivers from holding their phones while driving. This is considered a primary offense, which means that police officers can pull over drivers who they witness using a phone while driving, even if no other offenses have been committed.

There are a few exceptions. Drivers can use a phone in the following situations:

  • They are pulled over on the side of the road
  • The driver is using Bluetooth
  • The call is an emergency

Penalties for distracted driving in New Hampshire

If you are found guilty of breaking New Hampshire distracted driving laws, you can expect the following penalties to be applied.  

  • $100 fine for first offense
  • $250 fine for second offense
  • $500 fine for subsequent offenses within a 24-month period

 

Racing in New Hampshire

What is racing in New Hampshire?

The state of New Hampshire defines racing as “the driving of two or more vehicles from a point side-by-side at accelerating speeds in a competitive attempt to outdistance each other.” The state has strict laws against such behavior. The lines between racing and reckless driving are rather thin, meaning that drivers could face the more serious reckless driving penalties. 

Penalties for racing in New Hampshire

If you are found guilty of road racing in New Hampshire, you will see fines in the following amounts: 

  • $62 fine for a first offense
  • $124 fine for a second offense

Bear in mind, the speed at which you are found to be traveling could lead to an increased fine. 

 

At-fault accident laws in New Hampshire

What is an at-fault accident in New Hampshire?

Accidents are inevitable. Making sure you are properly insured should be a priority for all drivers. However, the state of New Hampshire is unique in that it doesn’t require proof of insurance while driving. The state does, however, require that drivers be able to cover the costs of any accidents they cause. Furthermore, if you are found guilty of certain offenses, like drunk driving or receiving a second speeding ticket, you must buy insurance in order to drive legally.

It is suggested that all drivers at least carry liability coverage. However, it’s important to remember that liability coverage doesn’t pay you; it only pays for damages that you cause in an auto accident. You would need comprehensive and collision insurance to cover damage to your vehicle.

The minimum limits of liability coverage that you can purchase in New Hampshire are 25/50/25. This covers $25,000 per person for bodily injury, up to a maximum limit of $50,000. This coverage also includes $25,000 in property damage as well. 

Consequences of an at-fault accident in New Hampshire

If you are found guilty of an at-fault accident, your insurance company will pay for damages caused to others up to your limits. New Hampshire’s minimum liability coverage, while not the lowest in the nation, certainly may leave you underinsured should you cause serious bodily injury or property damage in an at-fault accident. It is highly encouraged that all drivers carry higher limits, which can be increased for a relatively low added premium. 

If you are appropriately insured with high liability limits, the only penalty you should incur would be a rate increase from your insurance company. In some cases, your insurer may choose to terminate your coverage or decline to renew it at the end of your term. This typically occurs in situations where a driver has filed repeated insurance claims. 

If you cause an accident and don’t have insurance, you are personally liable for all damages, which can cost far more than your insurance premiums. 

 

DWI laws in New Hampshire

What is a DWI in New Hampshire?

Drinking and driving in New Hampshire is strictly outlawed. A driver found with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more is guilty of driving while intoxicated and could face stiff penalties. Any driver found with a BAC of .16% is guilty of an “aggravated DWI” which brings even more severe penalties. A driver with a BAC below .16% can also be charged with an aggravated DWI if they drive 30 mph over the speed limit, cause bodily injury, attempt to evade law enforcement, or carry a passenger under the age of 16 while intoxicated. 

While the limits above pertain to all drivers, limits for drivers under the legal drinking age are even lower. Any driver under the age of 21 found with a BAC of .02% is considered guilty of driving while intoxicated and faces the same penalties as a standard DWI. 

Penalties for a DWI in New Hampshire

The state of New Hampshire takes drinking and driving seriously. There are different tiers of penalties depending on the age and BAC of the driver. A standard DUI is considered a class B misdemeanor, while an “aggravated DWI” is a class A misdemeanor or — if an accident is involved — a class B felony. 

Standard DWI (BAC of .08%)
  • License revoked for 90 days to two years (first and second offense)
  • $500 fine
  • Alcohol and drug abuse screening
  • Mandatory impaired driver intervention program

Multiple offenses within a 10-year period are may lead to more severe penalties, including steep fines, jail time, and indefinite license revocation, among other penalties. 

Aggravated DWI
  • License revoked from 18 months to two years
  • $750 fine
  • Up to one year in prison
  • Possibility of continued substance abuse treatment

If the DWI leads to an accident, the charge becomes a class B felony. Penalties increase dramatically and can include up to seven years in prison and at least $1,000 in fines, among others. 

 

Sources and references: