New Hampshire Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in New Hampshire, your car insurance is going to get pricier — it's just a question of by how much. Unfortunately, New Hampshire auto insurance prices are affected substantially by your rap sheet of serious driving violations, compared against other American states.


How does a DUI influence auto insurance in New Hampshire?

In New Hampshire, a DUI offense will raise your annual car insurance rate by a mean of $789. That is 29% less than the national average premium jump after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
New Hampshire$1,082.81$1,871.9372%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Getting car insurance in New Hampshire with a DUI

Finding affordable auto insurance after a DUI conviction is far from easy. In fact, a DUI generally triggers a larger rate hike than does any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Affordable car insurance after a DUI in New Hampshire

If you are found guilty of a DWI or DUI offense in New Hampshire, it’s important to weigh all of your insurance options thoroughly. Car insurance rates after a DUI can vary widely by company. For example, the best cheap auto insurance company after a DUI in New Hampshire, Concord, advertises yearly rates 31% more affordable than the state average insurance premium with a DUI. The second-cheapest insurer for car insurance after a DUI in New Hampshire is State Farm, and the most expensive company is Amica, at 93% more than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN NEW HAMPSHIRE — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
Concord$1,291
State Farm$1,412
Allstate$2,101
Progressive$2,319
Hanover$3,257
Amica$3,604

There’s no car insurance company specifically offering affordable DUI car insurance. The recommended course of action to limit your losses in the wake of a DUI citation is to shop around.

Find quotes online or contact an insurance agent to gauge the choices and discover a cost-effective policy.

Read more on car insurance after a DUI violation.


Need insurance after a DUI? Compare rates now!


New Hampshire DUI laws

Driving under the influence is commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated, or DWI, in New Hampshire. Drivers are DWI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI in New Hampshire if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DWI if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DWI penalties in New Hampshire

The DWI lookback period in New Hampshire is 10 years. Multiple DWI offenses within a decade enhance any penalties.

First-time DWI offenses in New Hampshire lead to:

  • At least $500 in fines
  • License revocation for 90 days to two years
  • May be required to install and use an ignition interlock device
  • Must attend an impaired driver intervention program

A second DWI offense in New Hampshire results in:

  • At least five to thirty days in jail
  • At least $750 in fines
  • License revocation for 90 days to two years
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked
  • Required to install and use an IID
  • Must attend an impaired driver intervention program

Third-time DWI offenders in New Hampshire are subject to:

  • At least 180 days in jail
  • At least $750 in fines
  • Indefinite license revocation
  • Vehicle registration may be revoked
  • Required to install and use an IID
  • 28 days in a treatment program

Aggravated DWI penalties in New Hampshire

An aggravated DWI in New Hampshire is any DWI offense where the driver is found to have a BAC over 0.08% (or 0.02% if underage) and:

  • Has been driving at least 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
  • Attempted to evade police
  • Transported a passenger under 16 years old
  • Caused an accident
  • Has a BAC of 0.16% or higher

Penalties for an aggravated DWI that has not led to an accident are:

  • Up to one year in prison
  • At least $750 in fines
  • License revocation for 18 months to two years
  • Seven days in an intervention center or program
  • Possibility of continued testing or treatment

The penalties for an aggravated DWI in New Hampshire that cause an accident are:

  • Up to seven years in prison
  • At least $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for 18 months to two years
  • Seven days in an intervention center or program

DWI penalties for underage drinkers in New Hampshire

There are no specific laws for an underage DWI in New Hampshire. Instead, those under 21 years old are subject to the same penalties as an adult DWI offender. However, in all cases, an underage DWI violator will have a mandatory license revocation of at least one year and may need to install and use an IID for one year or until the age of 21, whichever is longer.

Sources and references:

https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/financial-responsibility/suspension/index.htm

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/xxi/265-a/265-a-mrg.htm

https://www.dmv.org/nh-new-hampshire/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/new-hampshire.html

Don't forget to share!