New Mexico Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in New Mexico, your auto insurance is going to grow more expensive — it is just a question of how large your penalty will be. Unfortunately, New Mexico car insurance prices are impacted significantly by one's history of serious driving violations, relative to other US states.


How does a DUI affect car insurance premiums in New Mexico?

In New Mexico, a DUI will raise your annual car insurance cost by an average of $857. That’s 19% less than the national mean premium increase after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN NEW MEXICO — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
New Mexico$1,330.66$2,187.6464%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Getting car insurance coverage in New Mexico with a DUI

Finding affordable auto insurance after a DUI conviction is anything but straightforward. In fact, a DUI usually triggers a more substantial rate increase than any single driving transgression — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.


Best car insurance after a DUI in New Mexico

If you have been convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in New Mexico, it’s critical to assess available insurance choices thoroughly. Car insurance prices in the wake of a DUI often fluctuate substantially depending on the company. For instance, the most affordable car insurance company after a DUI in New Mexico, Progressive, offers annual rates 31% below the state mean insurance rate after a DUI. The second-cheapest choice for auto insurance after a DUI in New Mexico is Progressive, and the most expensive company is GEICO, with premiums 89% pricer than average.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS WITH DUI IN NEW MEXICO — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
State Farm$1,161
Progressive$1,507
USAA$1,873
Farmers$1,992
Iowa Farm Bureau$2,597
Allstate$2,680
GEICO$4,142

There’s no car insurance company in particular offering cheap DUI auto insurance. The best way to save money after a DUI conviction is to shop around.

Get quotes online or contact an insurance agent to gauge your choices and discover an affordable policy.

Find out more about car insurance after a DUI.


Need a new policy? Compare rates today!


New Mexico DWI laws

Driving under the influence is commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated, or DWI, in New Mexico. Drivers are DWI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI in New Mexico if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DWI if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DWI penalties in New Mexico

There is a 10-year lookback period in New Mexico. Multiple DWI offenses in this timeframe result in longer and harsher penalties.

The first three DWI offenses in New Mexico are misdemeanors. Any DWI offenses after the third are considered felonies.

In addition, it is possible to commit an “aggravated DWI” in New Mexico. If a driver's BAC is 0.16% or higher, additional mandatory jail time will be added to their sentence.

First-time DWI offenses in New Mexico lead to:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • License revocation for six months to one year
  • Must install and use an ignition interlock device for one year
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Mandatory 24 hours of community service
  • Possibility of a discretionary $300 fine
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

A second DWI offense in New Mexico results in:

  • 96 hours to 364 days in jail
  • $500 to $1,000 in fines
  • License revocation for two years
  • Must install and use an IID for two years
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Mandatory 48 hours of community service
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

Third-time DWI offenders in New Mexico are subject to:

  • Up to 364 days in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License revocation for three years
  • Must install and use an IID for three years
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Possibility of a discretionary $300 fine
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

A fourth DWI offense in New Mexico is a felony and results in:

  • Six to 18 months in prison
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • Lifetime license revocation
  • Must install and use an IID on a lifetime basis
  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Mandatory attendance in DWI school
  • Possibility of a discretionary $300 fine
  • Possible requirement to submit to treatment

Subsequent DWI offenses are felony convictions and include longer prison terms.


DWI penalties for young drivers in New Mexico

The above penalties are applicable to underage drivers in New Mexico, though license revocation periods may be extended for those under the age of 21.

Sources and references:

http://www.endwi.com/laws-penalties/

http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/dwi-information.aspx

Don't forget to share!