North Dakota Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you are convicted of DUI in North Dakota, your car insurance will get more expensive — it's just a question of how large your penalty will be. Fortunately, North Dakota car insurance rates aren't affected substantially by one's DUI history, compared to other US states.


Find cheap car insurance after a DUI!


How does getting a DUI affect car insurance rates in North Dakota?

In North Dakota, a DUI will raise your yearly car insurance cost by an average of $710. That’s 44% less than the national average premium jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN NORTH DAKOTA — AVERAGE YEARLY PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
North Dakota $1,230.34 $1,940.79 57%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

How to find car insurance in North Dakota with a DUI violation

Purchasing reasonable car insurance soon after a DUI conviction is anything but easy. In fact, a DUI typically results in a more substantial premium increase than does any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Best car insurance with a DUI in North Dakota

If you've been found guilty of a DUI or DWI violation in North Dakota, it’s critical to mull over each of your insurance options carefully. Auto insurance prices after a DUI can deviate widely by insurer. For example, the most affordable auto insurance company with a DUI in North Dakota, Nodak Mutual, offers yearly rates 48% below the state average insurance premium after a DUI violation. The second-cheapest choice for auto insurance after a DUI in North Dakota is Progressive, while the priciest company is Allstate, with rates 51% more than average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER A DUI IN NORTH DAKOTA — BY COMPANY
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
Nodak Mutual $1,010
Progressive $1,401
State Farm $2,072
Nationwide $2,221
QBE $2,348
American Family $2,434
North Star Mutual $2,627
Allstate $2,930

There’s no auto insurer in particular offering cheap DUI car insurance. The easiest way to save money in the wake of a DUI violation is to assess your options.

Get rate info online or contact an insurance expert to assess your choices and find a relatively cheap policy.

Learn more about auto insurance after a DUI offense.


North Dakota DUI rules

Drivers are DUI in North Dakota when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in North Dakota if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


Penalties for DUI in North Dakota

The DUI lookback for most DUI offenses in North Dakota is seven years. The lookback period is extended to 15 years for four or more offenses. Imposed penalties are harsher for repeated DUI convictions within this timeframe.

First-time DUI offenses in North Dakota are class B misdemeanors and lead to:

  • Two days in jail if BAC is 0.16% or higher
  • $500 in fines (or $750 if BAC is 0.16% or higher)
  • 91-day license suspension (or 180-day suspension if BAC is 0.18% or higher)
  • Mandatory addiction evaluation

A second DUI offense in North Dakota is a class B misdemeanor and results in:

  • Ten days in jail
  • $1,500 in fines
  • License suspension for 365 days (or two years if BAC is 0.18% or higher)
  • Mandatory addiction evaluation
  • Participation in the 24/7 sobriety program for 360 days

A third DUI offense in North Dakota is a class A misdemeanor. Penalties are:

  • 120 days in jail
  • $2,000 in fines
  • License suspension for two years (or three years if BAC is 0.18% or higher)
  • Mandatory addiction evaluation
  • Participation in the 24/7 sobriety program for 360 days
  • Supervised probation for 360 days

Four or more DUI offenses in North Dakota within 15 years are class C felonies and result in:

  • One year and one day in jail
  • $2,000 in fines
  • Mandatory addiction evaluation
  • Participation in the 24/7 sobriety program for two years
  • Supervised probation for two years

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in North Dakota

Underage drivers guilty of DUI in North Dakota are subject to the same penalties and fines as an adult if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.

Sources and references:

https://www.dot.nd.gov/divisions/safety/penaltiesdrinkingdriving.htm

Don't forget to share!