Oklahoma Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in Oklahoma, your auto insurance will get more expensive — it's only a question of how large your penalty will be. Fortunately, Oklahoma auto insurance rates are comparatively unaffected by your DUI history, compared to other US states.


Find cheap car insurance after a DUI today!


How does a DUI affect auto insurance in Oklahoma?

In Oklahoma, a DUI will boost your annual car insurance premium by an average of $527. That’s 93% less than the national average premium hike following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN OKLAHOMA — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Oklahoma$1,542.14$2,069.4534%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Finding car insurance in Oklahoma with a DUI

Finding affordable car insurance after a DUI conviction is far from simple. In fact, a DUI typically results in a more substantial rate hike than any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving. Oklahoma is a relatively benign area in which to commit a DUI: its car insurance rate raises are some of the US' least severe.


Best car insurance with a DUI in Oklahoma

If you have been convicted of a DUI or DWI offense in Oklahoma, it’s essential to review all of your insurance possibilities thoroughly. Car insurance prices after a DUI can vary widely by company. For example, the least expensive car insurance company with a DUI in Oklahoma, GEICO, offers annual premiums 12% better than the state mean insurance rate with a DUI conviction. The next-cheapest company for car insurance after a DUI in Oklahoma is Progressive, while the priciest insurer is State Farm, at 46% pricer than average.


AUTO INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN OKLAHOMA — BY INSURANCE COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
GEICO$1,816
Progressive$1,861
Farmers$2,001
American Farmers & Ranchers$2,119
Allstate$2,235
Shelter$2,289
Oklahoma Farm Bureau$2,542
State Farm$3,014

There’s no auto insurance company in particular that sells affordable DUI auto insurance. The easiest way to save money post-DUI conviction is to compare policies.

Get quotes online or contact an insurance expert to assess your choices and find the best plan.

Read more on car insurance options after a DUI conviction.


Oklahoma DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Oklahoma when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Oklahoma if there is any detectable alcohol or drugs in their system.

Drivers may also be considered driving while impaired, or DWI, if their BAC is 0.05% to below 0.08%.


DUI penalties in Oklahoma

There is a 10-year DUI lookback period in Oklahoma. Repeatedly violating DUI laws leads to stricter penalties and sentences.

In addition to the below penalties, DUI offenders in Oklahoma may be responsible for paying a:

  • $200 trauma care fee
  • $15 mental health fee
  • $25 license reinstatement fee
  • $75 processing fee
  • $175 limited driving privilege fee
  • $50 ignition interlock fee

and may also be subject to undergoing an alcohol and drug assessment.

Penalties are significantly increased for DUIs in which the offender has a BAC of 0.15% or higher or for DUIs that lead to injury.

First-time DUI offenses are misdemeanors in Oklahoma and lead to:

  • 10 days to one year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • A 180-day license suspension

A second DUI offense in Oklahoma is a felony and results in:

  • One to seven years in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year

Three or more DUI offenses are also felonies in Oklahoma and subject offenders to:

  • One to 10 years in jail
  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for three years

DWI penalties in Oklahoma

Those whose BAC is 0.05% to under 0.08% are considered DWI in Oklahoma. Penalties for a DWI are:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • $100 to $500 in fines
  • License suspended for 30 days (first offense), six months (second offense), or one year (third offense)

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Oklahoma

Drivers under the age of 21 found to have any intoxicants in their system are considered underage DUI in Oklahoma.

In addition to the below penalties, underage DUI offenders will also have the same license suspension periods as offenders over 21.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Owe fines between $100 and $500
  • Be required to perform 20 hours of community service
  • Attend a treatment program

Penalties for a second underage DUI in Oklahoma are:

  • Possible requirement to pay fines between $100 and $1,000
  • Must perform at least 240 hours of community service
  • License cancelled for two years or until age 18, whichever is longer
  • Must use an ignition interlock device for at least 30 days
  • Possible requirement to attend a treatment program

A third underage DUI offense in Oklahoma results in:

  • Fines up to $2,000
  • At least 480 hours of community service
  • License cancelled for two years or until age 18, whichever is longer
  • Must use an IID for at least 30 days
  • Possible requirement to attend a treatment program

Sources and references:

https://www.ok.gov/dps/FAQs/DUI_FAQ.html

https://www.dmv.org/ok-oklahoma/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/oklahoma.html

Compare rates now!

Don't forget to share!