If you happen to commit DUI in Oregon, your car insurance will grow pricier — it's a matter of how much you'll end up paying. Luckily, Oregon car insurance prices are not influenced considerably by your history of serious driving violations, compared to other US states.
Looking for car insurance after a DUI? Shop now!
How does a DUI alter car insurance rates in Oregon?
In Oregon, a DUI offense can boost your annual car insurance cost by a mean of $1,010. That’s 1% less than the United States average rate jump after a DUI.
AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN OREGON — MEAN ANNUAL COST
|Area||Avg. rate - no DUI||Avg. rate - with DUI||Avg. increase after DUI|
How to find car insurance coverage in Oregon after a DUI
Finding cheap auto insurance after a DUI offense is not easy. In fact, a DUI often triggers a larger rate hike than any single driving transgression — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.
Cheapest auto insurance with a DUI in Oregon
If you've been convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Oregon, it’s crucial to review available insurance options judiciously. Car insurance prices in the wake of a DUI may deviate greatly depending on the insurer. For instance, the cheapest auto insurance company with a DUI in Oregon, Progressive, offers yearly rates 26% less than the state mean insurance rate after a DUI violation. The second-cheapest option for car insurance with a DUI in Oregon is GEICO, while the most expensive company is Country, at 104% pricer than average.
AUTO INSURANCE COSTS AFTER DUI IN OREGON — BY INSURER
|Insurance company||Avg. rate after DUI|
|American Farmers & Ranchers||$2,278|
There’s no car insurance company in particular offering low-cost DUI auto insurance. The best way to limit your losses post-DUI citation is to shop around.
Get rates online or contact an insurance expert to gauge the choices and find a sensible plan.
Find out more about car insurance options after a DUI.
Oregon DUI/DUII regulations
In Oregon, driving under the influence is formally referred to as driving under the influence of intoxicants, or DUII.
Drivers are DUII in Oregon when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUII when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.
Drivers under 21 years old are DUII in Oregon if there is any detectable alcohol or drugs in their system.
DUII penalties in Oregon
The DUII lookback period in Oregon is five years. Multiple DUII offenses within five years lead to stricter penalties and fines.
Penalties are also enhanced for any DUI in which a child under 18 years old is a passenger.
The first and second DUII offense in Oregon is a class A misdemeanor. Three or more DUII offenses within 10 years are considered class C felonies.
First-time DUII offenses in Oregon lead to:
- Up to one year in jail
- $1,000 to $6,250 in fines
- License suspension for 90 days
- Must install and use an ignition interlock device for one year after suspension ends
A second DUII offense in Oregon results in:
- Up to one year in jail
- $1,500 to $6,250 in fines
- License suspension for one year
- Must install and use an ignition interlock device for two years after suspension ends
The penalties for three or more DUII offenses in Oregon are:
- Up to five years in jail
- $2,000 (if not sentenced to prison) to $125,000 in fines
- License suspension for three years if offense is within five years of previous convictions
- Permanent license revocation for a fourth offense within 10 years of previous convictions
DUII penalties for underage drinkers in Oregon
Drivers between the ages of 13 to 20 and found to be DUII in Oregon are given a license suspension for:
- One year or until 17 years old, whichever is longer, for a first offense
- One year or until 18 years old, whichever is longer, for two or more offenses
Sources and references: