Pennsylvania Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in the state of Pennsylvania, your car insurance will grow more expensive — it is just a question of how large your penalty will be. Fortunately, Pennsylvania car insurance premiums tend to be relatively untouched by one's history of serious driving violations, relative to other US states.


Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare policies now!


How does a DUI affect auto insurance in Pennsylvania?

In Pennsylvania, a DUI will increase your annual auto insurance premium by a mean of $632. That’s 61% less than the U.S. average rate hike after a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN PENNSYLVANIA — AVERAGE ANNUAL PENALTY
Area Avg. rate - no DUI Avg. rate - with DUI Avg. increase after DUI
Pennsylvania $1,432.58 $2,064.22 44%
United States $1,397.11 $2,416.87 72%

How to find car insurance in Pennsylvania with a DUI violation

Finding affordable auto insurance after a DUI conviction is anything but straightforward. In fact, a DUI usually brings about a greater rate increase than any other driving violation — more than an at-fault accident, racing, or reckless driving.


Best auto insurance after a DUI in Pennsylvania

If you have been convicted of a driving under the influence violation in Pennsylvania, it’s essential to consider your insurance choices judiciously. Car insurance costs after a DUI can vary greatly by company. For example, the most affordable car insurance company with a DUI in Pennsylvania, GEICO, advertises yearly prices 46% below the state mean insurance premium after a DUI violation. The second-cheapest company for auto insurance with a DUI in Pennsylvania is Erie, while the priciest company is Nationwide, with rates 48% above average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES WITH DUI IN PENNSYLVANIA — BY INSURER
Insurance company Avg. rate after DUI
GEICO $1,117
Erie $1,283
Allstate $1,751
Progressive $2,162
State Farm $2,488
Nationwide $3,052

There’s no auto insurance company in particular offering cheap DUI car insurance. The easiest way to save post-DUI violation is to assess your options.

Get quotes online or reach out to an insurance agent to assess your choices and find a cost-effective plan.

Find out more about auto insurance after a DUI conviction.


Ready to start saving?


Pennsylvania DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Pennsylvania when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Pennsylvania if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.

There are multiple levels of DUI offenses in Pennsylvania:

General impairment: BAC between 0.08% to 0.099%)

High BAC: 0.10% to 0.159% BAC

Highest BAC: 0.16% and higher


General impairment DUI penalties in Pennsylvania

The lookback for DUI offenses in Pennsylvania is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe will result in enhanced penalties.

First-time DUI offenses are ungraded misdemeanors in Pennsylvania and lead to:

  • $300 in fines
  • Up to six months probation
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

A second DUI offense in Pennsylvania is an ungraded misdemeanor and results in:

  • Five days to six months in jail
  • $300 to $2,500 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device for one year
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

Third-time DUI offenders in Pennsylvania are guilty of a second degree misdemeanor and subject to:

  • 10 days to two years in jail
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

High-BAC DUI penalties in Pennsylvania

The lookback for DUI offenses in Pennsylvania is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe will result in enhanced penalties.

Those found to be DUI may be charged with a High-BAC penalty even if their BAC is below 0.10% if the DUI has led to damage or injury.

First-time High-BAC DUI offenses are ungraded misdemeanors in Pennsylvania and lead to:

  • 48 hours to six months in prison
  • $500 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

A second High-BAC DUI offense is an ungraded misdemeanor in Pennsylvania and results in:

  • 30 days to six months in prison
  • $750 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

A third High-BAC DUI in Pennsylvania is a first degree misdemeanor. Penalties are:

  • 90 days to five years in prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

A fourth High-BAC DUI in Pennsylvania is a first degree misdemeanor and results in:

  • One to five years in prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

Highest-BAC DUI penalties in Pennsylvania

The lookback for DUI offenses in Pennsylvania is 10 years. Multiple offenses within this timeframe will result in enhanced penalties.

In addition to those drivers guilty of a DUI with a BAC of 0.16% or higher, the following penalties also apply to those who refuse a breath or chemical test.

First-time Highest-BAC DUI offenses are ungraded misdemeanors in Pennsylvania and lead to:

  • 72 hours to six months in prison
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

A second Highest-BAC DUI offense is a first degree misdemeanor in Pennsylvania and results in:

  • 90 days to five years in prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

A third Highest-BAC DUI offense in Pennsylvania is a first degree misdemeanor and leads to:

  • One to five years in prison
  • $2,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • Requirement to install and use an IID for one year
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Pennsylvania

Drivers under the age of 18 and charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania are punished under the Juvenile Act.

Drivers between 18 and under 21 years old are subject to the following penalties.

For a first-time underage DUI, offenders will:

  • Be jailed for at least 48 hours
  • Pay a fine between $500 and $5,000
  • Receive a suspended license for 90 days
  • May be required to serve up to 150 hours of community service
  • Be required to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Be required to undergo treatment when ordered

A second underage DUI offense leads to:

  • At least 30 days in jail
  • Fines between $750 and $5,000
  • License suspension for one year
  • Possible requirement to serve up to 150 hours of community service
  • Requirement to attend alcohol highway safety school
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

A third underage DUI offense in Pennsylvania results in:

  • At least 90 days in jail
  • Fines between $1,500 and $10,000
  • License suspension for two years
  • Possible requirement to serve up to 150 hours of community service
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

Four or more underage DUI offenses in Pennsylvania result in:

  • At least one year in jail
  • Fines between $1,500 and $10,000
  • License suspension for two years
  • Possible requirement to serve up to 150 hours of community service
  • Requirement to undergo treatment when ordered

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Information-Centers/Laws-Regulations/Pages/DUI-Legislation.aspx

https://www.dmv.org/pa-pennsylvania/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/Pennsylvania.html

Don't forget to share!