Rhode Island Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in Rhode Island, your car insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of how large the penalty will be. In fact, Rhode Island auto insurance rates are influenced considerably by a history of serious driving violations, compared to all other American states.


How does a DUI affect car insurance in Rhode Island?

In Rhode Island, a DUI will lift your yearly auto insurance cost by an average of $1,790. That’s 43% more than the United States average rate jump after a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN RHODE ISLAND — AVERAGE ANNUAL PREMIUM
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Rhode Island$2,004.29$3,794.7389%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

How to find car insurance in Rhode Island with a DUI

Getting affordable auto insurance in the wake of a DUI conviction is anything but an easy task. In fact, a DUI typically results in a bigger premium increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Rhode Island is an especially bad state in which to rack up a DUI: its car insurance rate hikes are some of America's most severe.


Affordable auto insurance after a DUI in Rhode Island

If you are convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in Rhode Island, it’s key to consider your insurance possibilities with care. Car insurance prices following a DUI can fluctuate widely by company. For example, the best cheap auto insurance company with a DUI in Rhode Island, USAA, offers annual prices 37% less than the state mean insurance premium with a DUI conviction. The second-cheapest company for auto insurance with a DUI in Rhode Island is Nationwide, and the most expensive company is Amica, with rates 60% above average.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN RHODE ISLAND — BY PROVIDER
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
USAA$2,397
Nationwide$2,965
Progressive$3,642
Allstate$3,736
Metropolitan$3,955
GEICO$5,504
Amica$6,069

There is no auto insurance company in particular offering inexpensive DUI car insurance. The easiest way to save money post-DUI citation is to shop policies.

Get prices online or contact an insurance agent to weigh the choices and find a cost-effective option.

Learn more about car insurance after a DUI conviction.


Rhode Island DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Rhode Island when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Rhode Island if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Rhode Island

The lookback period for DUI in Rhode Island is five years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe may lead to harsher penalties and fines.

Additionally, penalties are enhanced for a DUI leading to injury or death or in which a child under 13 years old was being transported.

First-time DUI offenses in Rhode Island in which the violator's BAC was at least 0.08% but less than 0.10% lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $100 to $300 in fines
  • License suspension for 30 to 180 days
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service

A first-time DUI offense in Rhode Island with a BAC of 0.10% to less than 0.15% results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $100 to $400 in fines
  • License suspension for three to 12 months
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service
  • Must attend a DUI course
  • Must undergo alcohol treatment

A first-time DUI offense with a BAC of 0.15% or higher leads to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $500 in fines
  • License suspension for three to 18 months
  • 20 to 60 hours of community service
  • Must attend a DUI course
  • Must undergo alcohol treatment

A second DUI offense in Rhode Island with a BAC of at least 0.08% but less than 0.15% results in:

  • 10 days to one year in jail
  • At least $400 in fines
  • License suspension for one to two years
  • Must undergo alcohol treatment
  • Possible requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device for one to two years

A second DUI offense with a BAC of 0.15% or higher subjects an offender to:

  • Six months to one year in jail
  • At least $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for two years
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID for up to two years

Three or more DUI offenses with a BAC of at least 0.08% and less than 0.15% in Rhode Island lead to:

  • One to three years in jail
  • At least $400 in fines
  • License suspension for one to three years
  • Must undergo alcohol treatment
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID for up to two years
  • Vehicle may be forfeited to the state

Three or more DUI offenses with a BAC of 0.15% or higher result in:

  • Three to five years in jail
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • License suspension for three years
  • Possible requirement to install and use an IID for up to two years
  • Vehicle may be forfeited to the state

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Rhode Island

Underage DUI in Rhode Island may result in the following penalties:

  • Sentencing to the Rhode Island Training School
  • Fines and fees
  • Mandatory community service
  • Suspended license
  • Alcohol abuse counseling and treatment

Sources and references:

https://www.dmv.org/ri-rhode-island/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/rhode-island.html

Find affordable car insurance with a DUI today!

Don't forget to share!