If you are convicted of DUI in South Carolina, your car insurance is going to get more expensive — it's just a question of how large the penalty will be. Fortunately, South Carolina auto insurance rates aren't influenced greatly by your DUI history, when measured against all other American states.
Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare rates now!
In what way does a DUI alter auto insurance in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, a DUI will raise your annual car insurance rate by a mean of $758. That’s 35% less than the national mean rate jump following a DUI.
CAR INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN SOUTH CAROLINA — AVERAGE YEARLY PREMIUM
|Area||Avg. rate - no DUI||Avg. rate - with DUI||Avg. increase after DUI|
How to find car insurance in South Carolina with a DUI conviction
Finding cheap car coverage in the wake of a DUI offense is far from straightforward. In fact, a DUI typically results in a greater premium increase than any other driving infraction — more than an at-fault accident, reckless driving, or racing.
Cheapest auto insurance after a DUI in South Carolina
If you're convicted of a DWI or DUI offense in South Carolina, it’s important to consider all possible insurance options with care. Car insurance prices after a DUI can vary substantially by company. For example, the least expensive auto insurance company with a DUI in South Carolina, USAA, offers annual rates 19% less than the state average insurance premium after a DUI violation. The second-cheapest option for car insurance after a DUI in South Carolina is Allstate, while the most expensive insurer is State Farm, at 46% pricer than average.
CAR INSURANCE COSTS AFTER DUI IN SOUTH CAROLINA — BY COMPANY
|Insurance company||Avg. rate after DUI|
There’s no auto insurer in particular that offers cheap DUI car insurance. The recommended way to limit your losses post-DUI conviction is to assess multiple insurers.
Get pricing information online or contact an insurance expert to shop the market and discover the best policy.
Learn more on car insurance options after a DUI violation.
Looking for new car insurance? Compare rates today!
South Carolina DUI laws
Drivers are DUI in South Carolina when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.
Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in South Carolina if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.
DUI penalties in South Carolina
The DUI lookback period in South Carolina is 10 years. Multiple DUI offenses within a decade result in harsher penalties.
Penalties are also enhanced for any DUI that leads to injury or death. DUI penalties in South Carolina are also increased for DUI with a passenger under 16 years old.
First-time DUI offenses in South Carolina lead to:
- 48 hours to 30 days in jail or 48 hours of community service
- $400 in fines
- License suspension for six months
A second DUI offense in South Carolina results in:
- Five days to one year in jail or 30 days of community service
- $2,100 to $5,100 in fines
- License suspension for one year
- Requirement to install and use an ignition interlock device
Third-time DUI offenders in South Carolina are subject to:
- 60 days to three years in jail
- $3,800 to $6,300 in fines
- License suspension for two to four years
- Requirement to install and use an IID
Four or more DUI offenses in South Carolina result in:
- One to five years in jail
- A fine determined by the court
- Lifetime driver's revocation
DUI penalties for underage drinkers in South Carolina
Drivers under the legal drinking age of 21 and found to have a BAC of 0.02% or higher are considered DUI in South Carolina.
The first underage DUI in South Carolina results in a suspended license for three months. Subsequent offenses within five years will result in a six-month license suspension.
Sources and references: