South Dakota Car Insurance with a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you get a DUI in South Dakota, your car insurance will get more expensive — it's just a matter of by how much. Fortunately, South Dakota car insurance premiums are comparatively untouched by your rap sheet of serious driving violations, versus all other US states.


Need car insurance after a DUI? Compare rates today!


How will a DUI impact car insurance in South Dakota?

In South Dakota, a DUI will increase your annual auto insurance rate by an average of $624. That’s 63% less than the United States average rate increase following a DUI.


AUTO INSURANCE AFTER DUI IN SOUTH DAKOTA — AVERAGE ANNUAL COST
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
South Dakota$1,268.69$1,892.7649%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

How to find car insurance in South Dakota with a DUI violation

Purchasing cheap car coverage soon after a DUI offense is far from easy. In fact, a DUI typically results in a more substantial premium increase than any other driving violation — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident.


Cheapest auto insurance with a DUI in South Dakota

If you've been convicted of a DWI or DUI violation in South Dakota, it’s crucial to assess all your insurance options thoughtfully. Auto insurance rates following a DUI can deviate widely depending on the company. For instance, the most affordable auto insurer after a DUI in South Dakota, State Farm, offers yearly rates 40% more affordable than the state average insurance price with a DUI violation. The second-most affordable insurer for auto insurance with a DUI in South Dakota is Progressive, while the most expensive firm is North Star Mutual, with premiums 90% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE COSTS AFTER DUI IN SOUTH DAKOTA — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
State Farm$1,140
Progressive$1,475
Farmers$1,478
Farmers Mutual$1,835
American Family$2,561
Iowa Farm Bureau$2,579
Nationwide$3,085
North Star Mutual$3,597

There’s no car insurance company in particular offering cheap DUI car insurance. The most effective way to save in the wake of a DUI violation is to assess your options.

Find pricing information on the Internet or contact an insurance professional to survey the landscape and find a suitable option.

Read more about auto insurance with a DUI violation.


South Dakota DUI rules

Drivers are DUI in South Dakota when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Based on observation of potential impairment, drivers in South Dakota may also be considered DUI if their BAC is below 0.08% but above 0.05%.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in South Dakota if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in South Dakota

The DUI lookback period in South Dakota is 10 years. Multiple DUI offenses within this timeframe can lead to enhanced penalties.

In all cases, DUI offenders may be required to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program or install and use an ignition interlock device for a time period determined by the court. There may also be a requirement to undergo mandatory testing with law enforcement.

DUI offenders with a BAC of 0.17% or higher must also undergo an evaluation by a state-approved chemical dependency counselor at their own expense.

First-time DUI offenses in South Dakota lead to:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • License revocation for 30 days to one year
  • Restricted license for up to one year

A second DUI offense in South Dakota results in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Restricted license for a period determined by the court

A third DUI offense in South Dakota is a class six felony and subjects offenders to:

  • Up to two years in jail
  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Restricted license for a period determined by the court
  • Mandatory chemical dependency counseling
  • Mandatory participation in a 24/7 sobriety program

A fourth DUI offense in South Dakota is a class five felony. Penalties are:

  • Up to 10 years in jail
  • Up to $20,000 in fines
  • License revocation for two years
  • Mandatory participation in a 24/7 sobriety program

Five or more DUI offenses in South Dakota lead to harsher sentences and fines.


DUI penalties for underage drinkers in South Dakota

An underage DUI offense in South Dakota may lead to up to 30 days in jail and fines of up to $500. In addition, an offender's license will be suspended for 30 days for a first offense, 180 days for a second offense, or one year for three or more DUI offenses.

Sources and references:

https://dps.sd.gov/safety-enforcement/highway-safety/safety-priorities/impaired-driving

https://www.dmv.org/sd-south-dakota/automotive-law/dui.php

https://www.edgarsnyder.com/drunk-driving/driving-alcohol-laws/south-dakota.html

https://statelaws.findlaw.com/south-dakota-law/what-are-the-south-dakota-dui-laws.html

Compare car insurance policies today!

Don't forget to share!