Tennessee Car Insurance After a DUI

The Zebra
Aug. 24, 2018

If you commit DUI in the state of Tennessee, your car insurance will get pricier — it's a question of how large the penalty will be. Fortunately, Tennessee auto insurance rates are comparatively unchanged by a motorist's history of serious driving violations, compared against other American states.


Need a new car insurance policy? Get quotes today!


How does getting a DUI affect car insurance in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, a DUI will increase your annual car insurance rate by an average of $553. That’s 84% less than the U.S. mean premium increase following a DUI.


CAR INSURANCE WITH A DUI IN TENNESSEE — MEAN YEARLY PENALTY
AreaAvg. rate - no DUIAvg. rate - with DUIAvg. increase after DUI
Tennessee$1,314.83$1,867.9142%
United States$1,397.11$2,416.8772%

Purchasing auto insurance in Tennessee with a DUI violation

Finding cheap auto coverage in the wake of a DUI conviction is not an easy task. In fact, a DUI often leads to a larger rate increase than any other driving transgression — more than racing, reckless driving, or an at-fault accident. Tennessee is a somewhat benign place in which to rack up a DUI: its insurance price hikes are among the nation's least costly.


Best auto insurance after a DUI in Tennessee

If you're convicted of a driving under the influence offense in Tennessee, it’s key to review your insurance possibilities carefully. Car insurance rates after a DUI can deviate widely depending on the company. For example, the cheapest car insurance company with a DUI in Tennessee, Progressive, offers annual premiums 24% less than the state average insurance price with a DUI conviction. The second-cheapest insurer for auto insurance with a DUI in Tennessee is Tennessee Farmers, and the priciest company is Liberty Mutual, with prices 88% above the mean.


CAR INSURANCE RATES AFTER DUI IN TENNESSEE — BY COMPANY
Insurance companyAvg. rate after DUI
Progressive$1,380
Tennessee Farmers$1,418
Erie$1,423
Direct General$1,656
State Farm$2,159
Allstate$2,428
GEICO$3,435
Liberty Mutual$3,520

There is no auto insurer specifically offering cheap DUI auto insurance. The easiest way to limit your losses post-DUI conviction is to shop policies.

Get quotes online or contact an insurance agent to assess the choices and find the cheapest option.

Read more on auto insurance after a DUI.


Compare car insurance rates now!


Tennessee DUI laws

Drivers are DUI in Tennessee when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are held to a stricter standard and are considered DUI when their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Based on observation of potential impairment, drivers in Tennessee may also be considered DUI if their BAC is below 0.08% but above 0.05%.

Drivers under 21 years old are DUI in Tennessee if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.


DUI penalties in Tennessee

Tennessee has a 10-year DUI lookback period. Multiple DUI offenses within 10 years subjects violators to increased penalties and fines.

In addition, penalties are enhanced for any DUI leading to an injury or death or for a DUI in which a passenger is under 18 years old. Penalties are also enhanced for any DUI offense in which the driver has a BAC of 0.20% or higher.

First-time DUI offenses in Tennessee lead to:

  • 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • $350 to $1,500 in fines
  • License revocation for one year
  • Must install and use an ignition interlock device
  • Must participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Must pay restitution, if applicable

A second DUI offense in Tennessee results in:

  • 45 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • $600 to $3,500 in fines
  • License revocation for two years
  • Must install and use an IID
  • Must participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Must pay restitution, if applicable
  • Vehicle may be seized and forfeited

Third-time DUI offenders in Tennessee are subject to:

  • 120 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail
  • $1,100 to $10,000 in fines
  • License revocation for six years
  • Must install and use an IID
  • Must participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Vehicle may be seized and forfeited

Four or more DUI offenses in Tennessee are class E felonies and lead to:

  • 150 consecutive days to one year in jail
  • $3,000 to $15,000 in fines
  • License revocation for eight years
  • Must install and use an IID
  • Must participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Vehicle may be seized and forfeited

DUI penalties for underage drinkers in Tennessee

Those ages 16 to 20 who drive while impaired in Tennessee will face:

  • Court-ordered community service
  • $250 in fines
  • One-year license revocation

Sources and references:

https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/safety/publicsafety/duioutline.html


Texas DUI laws

Driving under the influence is commonly referred to as driving while intoxicated, or DWI, in Texas. Drivers are DWI when their blood alcohol concentration measures 0.08% or higher. Commercial drivers are DWI in Texas if their BAC reads 0.04% or higher.

Underage drivers are DWI with any detectable or suspected intoxicant in their system.

Don't forget to share!